Create "Group" from track selection

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
Soma
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:59 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Create "Group" from track selection

Post by Soma » Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:13 pm

A nice mixing feature would be to select several tracks then right click and select group. Then the tracks would all send their output to a new audio track called "Group 1". The tracks would all get moved next to each other and and the "group" could be expanded or collapsed to show/hide the group's children tracks. Group tracks could have their own scenes that play all the clips in the group's row.

:D
This is bascially an encapsulation idea for all you OO heads out there. It's a bit like a folder track for all you conventional types. Actaully the ability to click-shrink/click-expand any track in the session view would help too.

Soma
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:59 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by Soma » Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:26 pm

Comm'on this is a great idea! Flames? Support?

Imagine nesting groups inside groups, sure the routing is already possible but the group scence would be cool and the quickness and visual organization would be priceless.

capta1nA
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:43 pm

Post by capta1nA » Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:12 pm

i like it

Soma
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:59 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by Soma » Sun Jun 11, 2006 5:02 pm

Yeah this is my favorite (along with seperate clips for automation).

I was mixing a song today creating groups, and groups of groups. This would have been soooo helpful.

Jett
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 4:33 pm

Post by Jett » Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:07 pm

i'm with you on that idea.

jamescecil
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:18 am

group tracks

Post by jamescecil » Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:54 am

as a protools user coming to live as a more flexible way to compose with audio, the inability to group tracks is a MAJOR lack.

i imagined when i bought live that i would be able to record multiple tracks of audio [for example, a drum kit, say 6 channels], then edit the six channels together to make clips without having to bounce them down to stereo. that way i could keep my individual drum tracks and mix them properly once i'm done arranging.

but - and if i missed something, PLEASE tell me - i can't do this.

surely this feature would find a lot of users!
-
bongos don't crash

supster
Posts: 2133
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:26 am
Location: Orlando FL

Post by supster » Mon Jun 19, 2006 8:54 pm

yes

/
--
NEW SPECS: Athlon 4200+ dual; A8N-SLI m/b; Win XP Home SP2; 1 GB RAM; 2x 7200 RPM HDD: 1 internal, 1 Firewire 800 (Firewire is project data drive); M-Audio Triggerfinger

josh 'vonster' von; tracks and sets
http://www.joshvon.com

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:08 am

sounds like a very cool idea!

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:56 am

definitely!

Soma
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:59 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by Soma » Sun Jun 25, 2006 9:25 pm

Select tracks... (messed up here; meant to select "drums", Glitch", and "Anarchyfx")
Image


Make a group...
Image


Can be colapsed...
Image

supster
Posts: 2133
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:26 am
Location: Orlando FL

Post by supster » Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:49 pm

Soma wrote:Select tracks... (messed up here; meant to select "drums", Glitch", and "Anarchyfx")
Image


Make a group...
Image


Can be colapsed...
Image

exactly imo, nice

.
--
NEW SPECS: Athlon 4200+ dual; A8N-SLI m/b; Win XP Home SP2; 1 GB RAM; 2x 7200 RPM HDD: 1 internal, 1 Firewire 800 (Firewire is project data drive); M-Audio Triggerfinger

josh 'vonster' von; tracks and sets
http://www.joshvon.com

Soma
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:59 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by Soma » Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:05 pm

Also, one should be able to drag and drop to and from a group.
Drag a track on top of a new (or old) group and the track becomes part of that group.
Drag a track out of a group and it sends its output to master and is once again independent.

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Post by kineticUk » Tue Jun 27, 2006 9:54 am

Exactly what I was thinking too.
Bump it up.
MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

thecourier
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:18 pm

Post by thecourier » Fri Jun 30, 2006 12:01 pm

Good Idea, Support them!!!!!!!!!!

whizerbyte
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:15 pm
Location: London

Post by whizerbyte » Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:21 pm

that would be great, good idea

Post Reply