One knob to rule them all!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
YuWonder
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:24 am

One knob to rule them all!

Post by YuWonder » Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:28 am

Desite live's fantastic MIDI Learn function/assignings, I often find that I can work quicker with just a mouse and QWERTY keyboard. The reason is because it takes time to find the parameter on screen, assign it to a physical control and then find the physical control whenever you want to use it.

What if Live had a single, MIDI Ch & CC that was assigned to be the master. This physical knob would control the last parameter that the user clicked on within Live. You could e.g just click a fader, or an EQ element, turn the knob that is next to the hand that you use to type on the keyboard etc etc.

This would speed things up so quickly for me

Eddie

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:33 am

Thats why i have a powermate. It's a knob that does just this.

Tarekith
Posts: 17641
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:17 pm


icedsushi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm

Post by icedsushi » Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:46 pm

hoffman2k wrote:Thats why i have a powermate. It's a knob that does just this.
Really? I have one but I didn't know you could get it to turn the knob last clicked on. How do you get it to do this? The powermate only transmits keyboard commands afaik.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:51 pm

icedsushi wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:Thats why i have a powermate. It's a knob that does just this.
Really? I have one but I didn't know you could get it to turn the knob last clicked on. How do you get it to do this? The powermate only transmits keyboard commands afaik.
Thats the point. Instead of the keyboard, i alter the selected parameter with the powermate ;)

Ball Sack
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: Scrotum

Post by Ball Sack » Fri Sep 29, 2006 1:55 pm

:wink: :wink:

krikor
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: paris france
Contact:

Post by krikor » Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:01 pm

hoffman2k wrote:
icedsushi wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:Thats why i have a powermate. It's a knob that does just this.
Really? I have one but I didn't know you could get it to turn the knob last clicked on. How do you get it to do this? The powermate only transmits keyboard commands afaik.
Thats the point. Instead of the keyboard, i alter the selected parameter with the powermate ;)
i don't understand how you do it, cause it won't on mine, it just acts as if i was moving the mouse even though i selected the up and down arrow parameter

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:04 pm

Maybe kodama could chime in.
This is easy to do on mac (system prefs).
But i have no clue how to set it up like that on win.

krikor
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: paris france
Contact:

Post by krikor » Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:17 pm

i'm on mac.
i set it up the right way but it does not work right in ableton?
which version of the drivers do u have?

Post Reply