Shortcut key for "select loop brace"

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
old school user
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:24 pm

Shortcut key for "select loop brace"

Post by old school user » Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:13 pm

One of my favorite Live features is the keyboard shortcuts for moving and changing the loop bracket, both in Clips and Arrangement.

Quick mouseless editing and jamming, except for the fact that one has to click the loop brace with the mouse 1st.

Please, in the next intermim update, include a shortcut for selecting the loop bracket!


thanks

Neil

old school user
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 5:24 pm

Post by old school user » Tue Oct 10, 2006 4:33 pm

bump.

dr.wackler
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 4:40 pm

Re: Shortcut key for "select loop brace"

Post by dr.wackler » Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:15 am



Command-Shift-L

(You'd have to have highlighted the Loop brace once by mouse before, to make sure Command-Shift-L doesn't select the Loop Start or End marker instead of the Loop brace. Works in Arrange and in Clip Envelope View - not in Clip Sample View though.)


hec
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Shortcut key for "select loop brace"

Post by hec » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:47 pm

Awesome, anyone know how to do this in session view?

arretx
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:29 am

Re: Shortcut key for "select loop brace"

Post by arretx » Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:18 pm

dr.wackler wrote:Works in Arrange and in Clip Envelope View - not in Clip Sample View though
Not the case currently. It only worked when clip SAMPLE was selected.

9.7.3
MacBook Air | Ableton Live 9.7.5 2017-10-02 | Advance 61 Keybaord w/VIP 3.0 | Launchpad Mini | Scarlett Focusrite 18i8 | iPad Pro / OnSong | Allen & Heath QU-32

pottering
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Shortcut key for "select loop brace"

Post by pottering » Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:08 am

arretx wrote:
dr.wackler wrote:Works in Arrange and in Clip Envelope View - not in Clip Sample View though
Not the case currently. It only worked when clip SAMPLE was selected.

9.7.3
Just tested and it works just like dr.wackler described in 2006. Works in Arrangement View, and in Clip View only when Envelopes are shown.

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Shortcut key for "select loop brace"

Post by Stromkraft » Thu Jul 20, 2017 12:28 am

arretx wrote:
dr.wackler wrote:Works in Arrange and in Clip Envelope View - not in Clip Sample View though
Not the case currently. It only worked when clip SAMPLE was selected.

9.7.3
"The loop brace and start/end markers must first be selected before any of the following commands will apply to them."
33.7 Loop Brace and Start/End Markers (Live 9 manual)

One thing to note here is that Global Quantization affects the resolution and thus what you can select. I think it's is sooooo backwards to not have 2 different quantization types in Live. Switch, switch, switch. Why?

I also noticed Cmd/Ctrl - Shift and the right and left arrows moves the selection per current quantization resolution or if it is to the next transient point. Nice touch anyway.

Cmd-L loops the current selection also in Session clips.

Alt plus arrows moves to the next transient point.
Make some music!

Post Reply