recording automation to clips

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by djgroovy » Tue Feb 26, 2008 5:54 pm

Angstrom wrote:
Alien Leg wrote:How do you guys, those who use automation in composition state heavily, actually work in session? Do you all bounce to Audio?

I'm copying automation data from arrangement a thousand times and this slows the workflow that much sometimes, that it would be better to forget using session view... Horrible!
I don't go back to Session once I start automating.

it's a bit of a problem !
Me neither...

sparklepuff
Posts: 3300
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:54 am
Location: Brooklyn

Post by sparklepuff » Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:15 pm

How did this get off the first page?

+1

BUMP
Guitar | Synths | Samplers | Ableton @ Phantogram & Big Grams

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Tue Mar 11, 2008 1:06 pm

sparklepuff wrote:How did this get off the first page?

+1

BUMP
:wink:

Mr-Bit
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 3:02 pm
Location: The Studio
Contact:

Post by Mr-Bit » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:13 pm

This aint gonna flush

tigerbass
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 5:44 am

Post by tigerbass » Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:58 am

+1 desperately needed, come on ableton!

timbreland
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:47 am

Post by timbreland » Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:02 am

wow i just read all 10 pages of this thread.

we need recording automation in session!!!

i will pay one million dollars for this feature update

canis
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 4:06 pm

Post by canis » Mon Mar 17, 2008 2:36 pm

+1

Sly One
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 3:16 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Sly One » Tue Mar 18, 2008 1:47 pm

Pleased to hear that there are workarounds - I must try them as not being able to record to clips has severely crippled my creativity on numerous occasions. Guess I just needed to engage brain.

In context - I think this just stands out because most other things about the Live creative flow are just so streets ahead of every other tool. I'll never again battle with Logic, Cubase etc, and so much about live 7 fills me with joy.

However, that said, when things just don't seem to "fit" with this, they rankle all the more. I'm just not used to fighting my PC anymore, and I think right now that this is my #1 annoyance.

So +1.

elt.net
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:02 pm
Contact:

recording automation in session

Post by elt.net » Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:47 pm

here it is... CtrlMidiOut !
I made a plugin to record automation live in session window.

here's: http://www.pan-etc.net/nav/dev/dev-plugin.htm -> fp.CtrlMiOut

you can record 16 midi controllers (or more with several plugins) at the same time.
you can control up to 16*999 parameters with 8 midi controllers (ex: faderfox LV1).

cheers.
f./

djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: recording automation in session

Post by djgroovy » Mon Apr 07, 2008 10:51 pm

elt.net wrote:here it is... CtrlMidiOut !
I made a plugin to record automation live in session window.

here's: http://www.pan-etc.net/nav/dev/dev-plugin.htm -> fp.CtrlMiOut

you can record 16 midi controllers (or more with several plugins) at the same time.
you can control up to 16*999 parameters with 8 midi controllers (ex: faderfox LV1).

cheers.
f./
Holy fuck!

Mac only?! Somebody port this to Windows, please!

elt.net
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:02 pm
Contact:

Post by elt.net » Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:10 am

it's very easy to port for windows. download the source, open with max/msp and build plugin. unfortunately i have nor PC neither bootcamp (or other)... sorry. but i know you can try max/msp for 30 days for free.

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:48 am

elt.net wrote:it's very easy to port for windows. download the source, open with max/msp and build plugin. unfortunately i have nor PC neither bootcamp (or other)... sorry. but i know you can try max/msp for 30 days for free.
8O 8O 8O

downloading the Max/MSP demo as we speak! is there anything I need to know?

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:05 am

http://www.alexisforge.co.uk/fp.CtrlMiOut.dll

http://www.alexisforge.co.uk/fp.CtrlMiOut.mxf

the DLL just loads in my vsts folder - but I think you need the pluggo runtime installed

the mxf will need the Max/MSP runtime

both runtimes are free

http://www.cycling74.com/downloads/maxmsp

now I have to figure out how to use it
8O

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Re: recording automation in session

Post by forge » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:03 am

elt.net wrote:here it is... CtrlMidiOut !
I made a plugin to record automation live in session window.

here's: http://www.pan-etc.net/nav/dev/dev-plugin.htm -> fp.CtrlMiOut

you can record 16 midi controllers (or more with several plugins) at the same time.
you can control up to 16*999 parameters with 8 midi controllers (ex: faderfox LV1).

cheers.
f./
Ok - I have no idea how this works - even with the ALS you posted

can you give us some instructions??

elt.net
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:02 pm
Contact:

Post by elt.net » Tue Apr 08, 2008 10:07 am

you need pluggo runtime.

you can open the automation (.als file) to figure out how it works.

the principe is quite simple.
assign the midi controllers (ex: faderfox LV1) to ctrl of the plugin by "midi edit map".

and then assign the controllers of the plugin to what you want in live (volume, pan, etc).
doing this is simple too: in midi edit mode just clic the parameter you want to control (as usual) and select a number in the "controls" area of the plugin. (you can also move a slider but becareful because it will erase assignation of the plugin himself.)
you can do that for each layer.
for example you can have one fader of your LV1 controlling on track 1 "volume" on layer 1, "pan" on layer 2, "send A" on layer 3, etc.

your midi device controls live parameters via the plugin.

i hope it's clearer for the controlling (remote) part.

for the recording/playing (automation) part, you need 2 IAC midi buses.
i don't know what is it for PC, i suppose yoke or something like that.
it can work with only one but in that case you can't interrupt automation manually.
it's why i made 2 tracks: one fro remote, one for automation playing two different midi buses.

Post Reply