All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:21 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:48 pm
Posts: 3
One weak point of recording audio clips in Live is that I can not overdub after I've recorded a clip. This means that I can not create ambient clips because of a rough connection of the beginning and the end. It would be nice to have an option of how to finish a clip recording: 1. with Play or 2. with Overdub. For now I have to use Mobius 1.29 looper plug-in (http://zonemobius.com/download.html) for ambient stuff and Live's clips as well for rhythmic stuff. Maybe Ableton team can look into it for some features to include in the next Live upgrade? Some of them are quite useful. Check it out!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:47 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:16 pm
Posts: 1347
It would be outstanding if you could overdub audio to clips in a similar manner to the way that you can overdub MIDI onto MIDI clips. It would really extend the possibilites capabilities of working session view particularly in regards to loop generation and 'seems' like a very logical feature considering Live's focus.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:33 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:54 am
Posts: 20
Location: Philly
I definitely and especially if there was a way to start recording a clip and it would set the tempo as well. All in all full sound on sound looping capabilities pleeeaaaasssseeeee!!!!!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:33 am 

Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 5:54 am
Posts: 20
Location: Philly
*I definitely agree.............sorry it's early and i'm correcting my own typos


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:30 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:16 pm
Posts: 1347
DJ Spiral wrote:
I definitely and especially if there was a way to start recording a clip and it would set the tempo as well. All in all full sound on sound looping capabilities pleeeaaaasssseeeee!!!!!!!!


Yeah, that's another feature request I've heard quite a bit as well. Would be very nice.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:33 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 17141
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
+1

_________________
Erik M.
InnerPortalStudio.com - Professional Audio Mastering


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2007 3:45 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:16 pm
Posts: 1347
+2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 10:34 pm 

Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 10:31 pm
Posts: 80
why not, anything to improve Live's live looping capabilities.

BUMP!

-m

_________________
15" 2.8Ghz i7 MBP OS 10.6.8, MOTU Traveler, Live 8.2.5, M4L, NI Komplete 5, Behringer FCB1010, Edirol PCR 500, Kenton Killamix, Evolution UC-33.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:29 pm 

Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 2:21 am
Posts: 198
Location: New York
Another vote for this feature request.
Avi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 12:37 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:10 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Paris, France
+1000 for audio overdub.

I suppose that's a difficult feature to include (Live was not invented for this), but it would open tons of possibilities !

_________________
Fred
www.lanquarem.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:58 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Posts: 58
I'm in full agreement :lol: :lol: :lol:

but it could be fantastic tohave the possibilirty to:
undo redo recordings,
set a decay rate, as a feedback (to prevent overdub saturation)

i think the easiest way to do this is to have an ableton internal looper plug in, as the angestom looper (fantastic, but with some limitations). The support service promised me they will try to do this on the version 7 of the program. :lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
Macbook Pro i7, NI Komplete


Last edited by anto on Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:00 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 14495
would be a marvelous thing

+1

_________________
Angstromnoises site | FB artist page | Instagram


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:05 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 4:49 pm
Posts: 58
wow, mr Angstrom you're on line!!!!
i still wish ableton team call you to do this (as I've told many times to Ableton team!!!)
:lol: :lol: :lol:

_________________
Macbook Pro i7, NI Komplete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:34 pm 

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:45 am
Posts: 4722
Location: New Jersey
i think its odd that we haven't got this one yet. It just makes perfect sense with what people are doing with the program. I'll bet the abes could do a really good job of implementing this.



.lm.

_________________
 TimeableFloat ???S?e?n?d?I?n?f?o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:37 pm 

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 pm
Posts: 2164
leisuremuffin wrote:
i think its odd that we haven't got this one yet. It just makes perfect sense with what people are doing with the program. I'll bet the abes could do a really good job of implementing this.


+1


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group