All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:52 am 

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:21 am
Posts: 194
+1

I wonder if Bitwig studio will have this function?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Sat Aug 24, 2013 8:59 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:54 pm
Posts: 78
I think this is a great feature and something which I love about my OP-1. Considering this topic started 8 years ago and we still can't overdub audio onto audio clips... one can only conclude Ableton have other features to focus on. Like horrible sub standard curved automation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:47 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:16 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Erfurt, Germany
+1

_________________
Live 9 Suite
Retina MBP i7, 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.2
Push, Ipad, Nord Stage 2, some guitars
Also love Logic Studio, Kemper, AVID MC7
--
http://www.n13-media.de


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:34 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:16 pm
Posts: 30
+1000
And each clip could be like a container with the different layers so you can pre-mix the or mute each of them like if if was an audiorack.
And in the same way, it could be done for the arrangement view also, for having different takes of the clip, like almost all DAWs.
I've always felt it is the GREAT missing feature of Ableton Live.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:03 pm 

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:42 pm
Posts: 353
Nice necro bump.

Use the fucking looper if you wanna overdub audio.

_________________
http://mesopic.bandcamp.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:45 am 

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:40 am
Posts: 42
leisuremuffin wrote:
i think its odd that we haven't got this one yet. It just makes perfect sense with what people are doing with the program. I'll bet the abes could do a really good job of implementing this.
.lm.


I couldn't agree more with this, and am amazed this isn't a feature still in 2015.

Audio clips have so many advantages over the looper, from organization, access to different layers, integration into scenes, and the ability to do pitch shifting and time warping. The clips for me represent the core of Ableton live, whereas the looper device feels like shibboleth from a past era.

Having this feature would allow me to do so many things I want to do, but currently can't. Please don't have someone quote this post in 8 years... add the feature already!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2017 8:57 am 

Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:13 am
Posts: 4
It's 2017 now and it's still not there...this feature would definitely be a game changer. The workflow would be so much easier than using the looper device. If Ableton implemented this feauture, more people would prefer buying the Push 2 instead of buying the Boss RC-3, RC-30, RC-300, RC505 or the TC Helicon Voicelive 3. All those devices do have audio overdubbing but they all miss the fixed length button the Push 2 has...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:01 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:59 pm
Posts: 1
Hey, 2018 calling. It's been 12 years since this feature was originally requested and it's still not supported. The workaround are very painful to implement and manage. It's a basic daw feature that is missing? Please please with 12 years worth of sugar PLEASE give us audio overdub!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:11 am 

Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:50 pm
Posts: 12
+one million

PLEASE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:54 am 

Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:02 pm
Posts: 1
+1 from me too.

Yes, you can "use the f*cking looper" as some irritable person said earlier, but that is clunky and has limitations.

This feature would make it SO much easier when playing live, and if it worked in a similar way to how comping works in Logic, then it would also be an invaluable studio tool too.

This behaviour works for MIDI clips so intuitively it should be the same for audio too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:37 pm 

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:53 am
Posts: 1
+1 logic style comping
It's the cleanest way to handle multiple takes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Overdub Audio Recording
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:43 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 38
+1 also, saw how this worked in logic and was ashamed to admit to a friend how it worked in ableton


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group