Overdub Audio Recording

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
theinfinate
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 10:21 am

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by theinfinate » Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:52 am

+1

I wonder if Bitwig studio will have this function?

Dom Murphy
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:54 pm

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by Dom Murphy » Sat Aug 24, 2013 8:59 pm

I think this is a great feature and something which I love about my OP-1. Considering this topic started 8 years ago and we still can't overdub audio onto audio clips... one can only conclude Ableton have other features to focus on. Like horrible sub standard curved automation.

n13
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:16 pm
Location: Erfurt, Germany
Contact:

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by n13 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 6:47 pm

+1
Live 9 Suite
Retina MBP i7, 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OSX 10.9.2
Push, Ipad, Nord Stage 2, some guitars
Also love Logic Studio, Kemper, AVID MC7
--
http://www.n13-media.de

akamed
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:16 pm

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by akamed » Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:34 am

+1000
And each clip could be like a container with the different layers so you can pre-mix the or mute each of them like if if was an audiorack.
And in the same way, it could be done for the arrangement view also, for having different takes of the clip, like almost all DAWs.
I've always felt it is the GREAT missing feature of Ableton Live.

JoshG567
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:42 pm

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by JoshG567 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:03 pm

Nice necro bump.

Use the fucking looper if you wanna overdub audio.

igneous
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:40 am

Re:

Post by igneous » Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:45 am

leisuremuffin wrote:i think its odd that we haven't got this one yet. It just makes perfect sense with what people are doing with the program. I'll bet the abes could do a really good job of implementing this.
.lm.
I couldn't agree more with this, and am amazed this isn't a feature still in 2015.

Audio clips have so many advantages over the looper, from organization, access to different layers, integration into scenes, and the ability to do pitch shifting and time warping. The clips for me represent the core of Ableton live, whereas the looper device feels like shibboleth from a past era.

Having this feature would allow me to do so many things I want to do, but currently can't. Please don't have someone quote this post in 8 years... add the feature already!

ronh73
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 10:13 am

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by ronh73 » Sat May 13, 2017 8:57 am

It's 2017 now and it's still not there...this feature would definitely be a game changer. The workflow would be so much easier than using the looper device. If Ableton implemented this feauture, more people would prefer buying the Push 2 instead of buying the Boss RC-3, RC-30, RC-300, RC505 or the TC Helicon Voicelive 3. All those devices do have audio overdubbing but they all miss the fixed length button the Push 2 has...

Rincewave
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by Rincewave » Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:01 pm

Hey, 2018 calling. It's been 12 years since this feature was originally requested and it's still not supported. The workaround are very painful to implement and manage. It's a basic daw feature that is missing? Please please with 12 years worth of sugar PLEASE give us audio overdub!

tjspurge
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:50 pm

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by tjspurge » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:11 am

+one million

PLEASE

Djlonboy
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:02 pm

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by Djlonboy » Tue Nov 13, 2018 7:54 am

+1 from me too.

Yes, you can "use the f*cking looper" as some irritable person said earlier, but that is clunky and has limitations.

This feature would make it SO much easier when playing live, and if it worked in a similar way to how comping works in Logic, then it would also be an invaluable studio tool too.

This behaviour works for MIDI clips so intuitively it should be the same for audio too.

Yan Abud
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 7:53 am

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by Yan Abud » Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:37 pm

+1 logic style comping
It's the cleanest way to handle multiple takes.

thomashalp
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:35 am

Re: Overdub Audio Recording

Post by thomashalp » Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:43 am

+1 also, saw how this worked in logic and was ashamed to admit to a friend how it worked in ableton

Post Reply