Disable Warp, please

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
mauve
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:28 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Disable Warp, please

Post by mauve » Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:31 pm

I know some of yo will say go to preferences and turn it off.
Guess what, it does not work.
The stupid thing is warping everything by default no matter what.
It is very annoying to disable it every time after I record anything.
Just give us an option to click one button in preferences and render warping
function dead until needed.
We get it, warping is the thing... it makes Ableton SO different from others.
Alright, I noticed it and want it off, please.

Landser
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 8:21 pm

Post by Landser » Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:08 pm

The preferences regarding warp do not work?

mauve
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:28 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by mauve » Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:21 pm

I follow the instructions in preferences
to turn off warp.
Loop/Warp Short Samples - Unwarped One shot
Auto-Warp Long Samples - Off

It does not do anything.

mauve
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:28 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by mauve » Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:21 pm

Could you try it yourself?

mortenm
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 6:02 am
Location: Norway

Post by mortenm » Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:05 pm

I agree to this one... Very irritating.

kineticUk
Posts: 1531
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:37 am

Post by kineticUk » Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:45 pm

MacBook MacOS Live 9.7.1 Max for Live Push Logic

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:30 pm

No

YILA
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 2:24 pm
Contact:

Post by YILA » Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:39 pm

i use warp all the time dont get rid of it!!!!!

you only have to click once to turn it off....easy
Scan i5 in the studio. Dual core Pc laptop, 13inch macbookpro,RME fireface 800,live 8.1,operator. drum machines Myspace Soundcloud Youtube Twitter

mdb
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: N. Korea

Post by mdb » Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:33 pm

Why the hell it needs to warp a recorded track is beyond me. If its being recorded, its already in the right bpm so warping it does nothing but make it sound worse then when you recorded it.

I understand the need for warp when importing something to your song, but not right after i recorded something. Thats just silly..

Cryptic UK
Posts: 1505
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:51 pm

Post by Cryptic UK » Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:13 pm

mdb wrote:Why the hell it needs to warp a recorded track is beyond me. If its being recorded, its already in the right bpm so warping it does nothing but make it sound worse then when you recorded it.

I understand the need for warp when importing something to your song, but not right after i recorded something. Thats just silly..
Yes i agree.

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... &start=120
Drums

Benshik
Posts: 763
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Moscow/Montreal

Post by Benshik » Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:07 pm

YILA wrote:i use warp all the time dont get rid of it!!!!!

you only have to click once to turn it off....easy

your about smtg esle... the point isnt about getting rid of warping, which would be silly

what would be nice is the to have the CHOICE to have warp/loop as a default or not for clips recorded into live. at the moment, they warp and loop all the time, which is totally stupid and limiting.
Macbook 2.2ghz, OS 10.5.2, Focusrite Saffire, Microkontrol, Lemur

davidbayles
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 2:38 pm
Location: Washington, D.C.
Contact:

Post by davidbayles » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:34 pm

i would like to be able to totally disable warping as well, but if I'm not mistaken changing the default warp mode to re-pitch is pretty much the same thing, as long as the tempo of the clip matches the master. maybe you already knew that, but it took me a long time to figure out how to record a straight audio track without live messing it up. either way, it would be great to disable warping for newly recorded tracks, not just imported tracks.

+1
Ableton Suite 8 | Max for Live | Logic Studio | MacBook Pro | Saffire PRO 40 | Liquid Mix | TouchOSC | iPhone 4 | ReMOTE SL COMPACT

mercyplease
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 2:22 am
Location: Sent back to hell

Post by mercyplease » Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:08 am

mdb wrote:Why the hell it needs to warp a recorded track is beyond me. If its being recorded, its already in the right bpm so warping it does nothing but make it sound worse then when you recorded it.

I understand the need for warp when importing something to your song, but not right after i recorded something. Thats just silly..
audio recorded at the project tempo and then playing back warped doesnt have any nasty effects. its only when you change tempo the warpyness comes in. but it would be better not to do this constant warping every time something is recorded because it is silly very very silly.
:)
HA HA HA :twisted:

Fritz
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 12:25 am
Location: NYC

Post by Fritz » Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:06 am

yes, I just posted the same idea before I read this

LiLStressor
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 6:56 pm

Post by LiLStressor » Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:14 pm

+1

Post Reply