Disable Warp, please

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
deBoo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:24 pm

I Agree

Post by deBoo » Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:26 pm

I do find that you can't just be "unwarped" very annoying and would love to see that as an option in the prefs.

GUY SMILEY
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:35 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re:

Post by GUY SMILEY » Sat Mar 11, 2017 10:25 am

mdb wrote:Why the hell it needs to warp a recorded track is beyond me. If its being recorded, its already in the right bpm so warping it does nothing but make it sound worse then when you recorded it.

I understand the need for warp when importing something to your song, but not right after i recorded something. Thats just silly..
Yes is is. Ridiculous

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Re:

Post by Stromkraft » Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:16 am

GUY SMILEY wrote:
mdb wrote:Why the hell it needs to warp a recorded track is beyond me. If its being recorded, its already in the right bpm so warping it does nothing but make it sound worse then when you recorded it.

I understand the need for warp when importing something to your song, but not right after i recorded something. Thats just silly..
Yes is is. Ridiculous
But it doesn't sound worse at all. All that is just in the head. Unless you change the tempo.

BTW, the post you commented was made in 2007. That's 10 years ago!
Make some music!

Tarekith
Posts: 17634
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Ableton Forum Administrator
Contact:

Re: Disable Warp, please

Post by Tarekith » Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:30 am

Complex and Complex Pro can still alter the audio, even at the original tempo.

bicho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia, SA

Re: Disable Warp, please

Post by bicho » Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:17 am

I am trying to use Live to mix two audio tracks from an audiovisual recording and I am unable to do it because of this

It is impossible to do this kind of job if the warp function can't be completely disabled. Even if both tracks were warped exactly the same, the length would change and the result would not match when I sync the audio back with the video

Tell me I don't have to download Reaper only to do this!

bicho
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:25 pm
Location: Bogotá, Colombia, SA

Re: Disable Warp, please

Post by bicho » Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:26 am

bicho wrote:I am trying to use Live to mix two audio tracks from an audiovisual recording and I am unable to do it because of this

It is impossible to do this kind of job if the warp function can't be completely disabled. Even if both tracks were warped exactly the same, the length would change and the result would not match when I sync the audio back with the video

Tell me I don't have to download Reaper only to do this!
Well, it seems that by turning it off in the Preferences I can do this after all... :oops:

San The Artist
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:49 am

Re: Disable Warp, please

Post by San The Artist » Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:52 am

Agreed, please add an option.

Actually it does have an effect even if you don't change anything. Not 100% of the times but it happens. Specially with vocals, you can hear small glitches sometimes.

The worse for me is when I already processed my vocals by Melodyne, detect the glitch and it comes from the automatic Warp which I forgot to turn off when I recorded so I got to do all the Melodyne work again.

So yeah

jonljacobi
Posts: 538
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Disable Warp, please

Post by jonljacobi » Sun Dec 22, 2019 12:29 pm

The option exists in preferences. And it should be obvious why it is the default if you think in terms of live performance.

jlgrimes
Posts: 1487
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: Disable Warp, please

Post by jlgrimes » Mon Dec 23, 2019 5:39 pm

San The Artist wrote:
Sun Dec 22, 2019 4:52 am
Agreed, please add an option.

Actually it does have an effect even if you don't change anything. Not 100% of the times but it happens. Specially with vocals, you can hear small glitches sometimes.

The worse for me is when I already processed my vocals by Melodyne, detect the glitch and it comes from the automatic Warp which I forgot to turn off when I recorded so I got to do all the Melodyne work again.

So yeah
This might be a bug then.

This should be reproducible by doing a null test.

A warped track vs an unwarped track at the same project tempo should null out. I always wonder what would happen if Live guesses the wrong tempo, I've seen that happen before.


I don't think I have ever noticed anything with Live though (leaving warphing on).

jonljacobi
Posts: 538
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Disable Warp, please

Post by jonljacobi » Mon Dec 23, 2019 6:17 pm

You can also set short recordings to Unwarped one-shots.

Post Reply