Small workflow improvements.. Post them here..

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Fri May 11, 2007 3:46 pm

3rdordertrauma wrote: Open Send B to 100%, Then the automation should work as you're asking.
I know. But there should be a workaround. That way is just too awkward. I'd have to adjust the automation down on all the tracks except the automated one ;/

Thanks for your help though =)
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 12:00 pm

Impulse Sample Reverse

This should be fixed asap. Also AHDSR.

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 12:47 pm

Swing

Take a look at Akais MPC or Reason and get into the groove.

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Automation Curves

Need the typical tools every other DAW has to make curves etc. ..
Also The possibility to see more than one automation at the same time would be a nice improvement.

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 12:52 pm

Convolution Reverb

Even Fruity Loop (!) got one.

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 12:54 pm

EIC

The possibility to install the EIC where ever u want is a must. Shame that this isn't possible.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Sat May 12, 2007 12:56 pm

BigBuddha wrote:Convolution Reverb
Even Fruity Loop (!) got one.
you see this as a small workflow improvement?

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 12:57 pm

Better Performance

No other DAW need that much power. AL should be re(?)programmed well to work on Mac. (and maybe PC) ;)

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 12:59 pm

Poster wrote:
BigBuddha wrote:Convolution Reverb
Even Fruity Loop (!) got one.
you see this as a small workflow improvement?
Maybe u are right. I see Ableton stuck in the past.

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 1:02 pm

Side Chain

Take a glimpse at Logic and u know what is possible.

BigBuddha
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Germany

Post by BigBuddha » Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Crossfades

Self explainin.

Poster
Posts: 8804
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 2:21 am
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Poster » Sat May 12, 2007 1:06 pm

WACOM support

Josh Von
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 2:38 pm

Post by Josh Von » Sat May 12, 2007 4:39 pm

Poster wrote:WACOM support
+ concerted effort to fully support major touchscreen technologies = touchscreen friendly

yes

.

3rdordertrauma
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:37 am
Location: SoCal
Contact:

Post by 3rdordertrauma » Sat May 12, 2007 11:13 pm

Idonotlikebroccoli wrote: I know. But there should be a workaround. That way is just too awkward.


Yeah that kinda is the workaround I guess. Not that great I know, I can easily see what you mean. The "clip" automation should work just as the track based automation in the arrange view. Should actually move whatever the knob to whatever value the automation is currently at. I don't care for how it works now... at all!

For example I just copied a envelope in the arrange view to a clip. Ummmm... only now with that exact same envelope copy and pasted in a clip (in the arrangement) and the original one from the track view deleted, I get NO automation on the send! HUH? OH yeah until I open up the send to 100%... But what if I had other "track" based automation for that send? Then my "clip" based automation only works (properly) if I set the "track" based automation to 100% where ever those clips with automation are. NOT making a lot of sense to me either. I'm with you on this Broccoli.

3rdordertrauma
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:37 am
Location: SoCal
Contact:

Post by 3rdordertrauma » Sun May 13, 2007 3:30 am

BigBuddha wrote:Side Chain

Take a glimpse at Logic and u know what is possible.
Yeah take a look a Logic in regards to a lot of the posts in this thread.

Automation Enhancements
Automation Curves
Sidechaining
Crossfades
Better Performance on mac
Convolution Reverb (ok maybe not a work flow enhancement, but could be if Ableton implements it in there clever easy ways)
Swing

There are many things from Logic I feel would add a lot to the work flow of Live. Of course I'm saying this as an old Logic user, so I'm not just saying only Logic.

Post Reply