allow effect on a per clip basis

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
Fritz
Posts: 210
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 12:25 am
Location: NYC

allow effect on a per clip basis

Post by Fritz » Sun Apr 11, 2004 8:16 pm

in addition to the track based insert, without a Render

dirtystudios
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 1:28 am
Location: santa barbara
Contact:

Post by dirtystudios » Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:54 pm

i thought you could use the clip automation to activate clip specific fx, but it seems you can only change the paramters in an effect, not turn it on and off. that's kinda lame. i agree, this would be a good feature.

k

gaspode
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 6:56 am
Location: Nashua, NH
Contact:

uhm...

Post by gaspode » Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:09 pm

you can turn an effect on or off... but only in the arrangement view... which kind of surprised me... as I've done it in arrangement all the time, but would be cool to have this available in the clip envelope as well.

Maybe they don't want us doing crazy stutters of switching an fx on and off quickly heh.

dirtystudios
Posts: 1195
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 1:28 am
Location: santa barbara
Contact:

Re: uhm...

Post by dirtystudios » Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:36 pm

gaspode wrote:Maybe they don't want us doing crazy stutters of switching an fx on and off quickly heh.
i knew it! bastards!

k

gaspode
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 6:56 am
Location: Nashua, NH
Contact:

Heheh....

Post by gaspode » Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:08 pm

They killed off clip on/off automation... you bastards!

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Sun Apr 18, 2004 1:44 pm

No they have taken it hostage until you agree to remove all your beat keeping loops.

montrealbreaks
Posts: 995
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 11:38 pm
Location: Montreal Canada

Re: Heheh....

Post by montrealbreaks » Sun Apr 18, 2004 3:43 pm

gaspode wrote:They killed off clip on/off automation... you bastards!
Well, what about dry/wet automation? Won't work for all of 'em though.

Hey, a thought: Assign an arpegiated midi source to the on/off button. neato. Might be good for filters, phasers and distortion...

L8er
Montrealbreaks

I have changed my username; Now posting as:


M. Bréqs

gaspode
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 6:56 am
Location: Nashua, NH
Contact:

Yo

Post by gaspode » Tue Apr 20, 2004 3:11 pm

Yeah... send automation works... so I can't complain about it *too* much...

I still haven't played with an arp and using it to control live... honestly, it frightens and confuses me :).

djmofe

automation is fine

Post by djmofe » Tue Apr 20, 2004 4:36 pm

just ride the pans for dry/wet live
or draw it.... piece of piss man

Post Reply