MORE MACROS, 8 IS NOT ENOUGH! - VOTE NOW

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live

Do you agree with this idea?

YES
69
82%
NO
15
18%
 
Total votes: 84

Debrecini
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:47 am

MORE MACROS, 8 IS NOT ENOUGH! - VOTE NOW

Post by Debrecini » Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:06 pm

8 Macros is not enough to control a rack...

PLEASE ADD MORE.

Maybe double it to 16, but what I'd really like to see is a custom amount.
Add as many as you want.

Please hurry with this one, I imagine it wont be hard to do.

logman
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:43 am

Post by logman » Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:14 am

I think Live shouldn't allow too much customisation of interface, so that people can share sets easily and perform other people's works LIVE. If additional macros get in the way of this idea, I'm against it.

Debrecini
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:47 am

Post by Debrecini » Tue Feb 05, 2008 12:27 pm

I really dont see how that would effect it, additional macros would always be a welcome addition.

Plus they could always cap the custom amount to standardise it a little

Most MIDI controlers have at least 16 controls, 8 rotaries & 8 sliders.
But some of us have more controls and would like to make more use out of them.

Sharing projects would still be just as easy, if not better!

Sorry but I really dont see your point.

Angstrom
Posts: 14665
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Post by Angstrom » Tue Feb 05, 2008 12:47 pm

logman wrote:I think Live shouldn't allow too much customisation of interface, so that people can share sets easily and perform other people's works LIVE. If additional macros get in the way of this idea, I'm against it.
the interface is separate from the actual operation of the program so this makes no sense.
The interface IS currently customizable to a very small degree, colouring, size of panels, panels open, session or arrangement.

If I have a customized interface, I could still load any song, the interface customisation merely shows the data differently.

The Producer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:10 pm

Post by The Producer » Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:15 pm

+1

I also dont see how it would effect sharing projects.

As in fact it would make it better giving you more controls to tweak.

There is not enough currently, if you have a few things in your rack then 8 macros gets used up in no time.

mr.ergonomics
Posts: 914
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:12 am

Post by mr.ergonomics » Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:03 pm

+1

OriginalSpaceMan
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 3:54 am
Contact:

Post by OriginalSpaceMan » Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:22 pm

I would like at least 64, but would prefer 1024.

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Thu Mar 20, 2008 2:06 am

+111111

please

darrelldiaz
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Post by darrelldiaz » Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:33 pm

+1
MacBook Air 1.6GHz 2GB RAM, New iMac Core 2 Duo 2GHz, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.5.4, Live 7.0.9, Nord Stage 88, Korg Karma, Synclavier II & 3200, Waves SSL, etc.

prebentious
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

Post by prebentious » Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:29 pm

+1

prebentious
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

Post by prebentious » Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:35 pm

+1

pstoaling
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:32 am

Post by pstoaling » Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:37 pm

.................gone
Last edited by pstoaling on Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Angstrom
Posts: 14665
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Post by Angstrom » Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:46 pm

pstoaling wrote:8 is more than enough I think. how about getting a MIDI controler with hardware macros if you really need that many..?
I think you don't really know what they are if you can say say something like that.

macros assign to parameters within racks, sub-chains, etc. Each macro has ranges and polarity which is specific to each sub parameter

hardware controllers have no way to store sub chain ranges and inversions for every single rack preset in every users library.

your suggestion is incorrect

pstoaling
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:32 am

Post by pstoaling » Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:49 pm

...............gone

The UBERape
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by The UBERape » Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:42 pm

Not just more, but the ability to use them to effect changes in rewire slaves is the main thing i find lacking in Live.

Post Reply