undo /redo button

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
mr.ergonomics
Posts: 915
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:12 am

undo /redo button

Post by mr.ergonomics » Sat Mar 01, 2008 4:07 am

I really use undo/redo often. I think an undo and redo button would be a nice addition, since the shortcuts are not sooo easy to press (strg+z/strg+y) and over the menu (edit/undo) there is needless mouse movement and clicks.

The buttons should be assignable for keys and midi too.

An simple sketch:

Image

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sat Mar 01, 2008 5:55 am

sure

in the meantime it is possible to get an undo button via mackie control. not sure about redo

bland_handl
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 6:08 am
Location: sydney

Post by bland_handl » Sat Mar 01, 2008 6:47 am

Yeah, I like this idea too...

my main use for it would be when using controllers:

ie - to jump to a new value, but then just to "undo" to go back to the exact previous value

example:
- use controller to sweep to new value
- hit "undo" button to return to previous value
- "redo/undo" to toggle back & forth between new and previous values


for that I'd like to have a MIDI ignore button so I could do the following:

- hold "MIDI ignore" button while returning fader to closer to the orginal position and starting again

this would be a nice balance between hands on control, but with precise max/min values created on the fly

Grappadura
Posts: 2105
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:57 pm

Post by Grappadura » Sat Mar 01, 2008 12:56 pm

I would like to be able to choose which step I want to undo... have a dropdown menu of the steps and then choose one without having to undo later steps.

posssu
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 12:58 am

Post by posssu » Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:10 pm

Doesn't ctrl-shift-z do redo for you? You can do both of them with the same key combination, just add shift. At least on a mac.

I think these shortcuts are way faster than any buttons... I never understood buttons for undo/redo anyway, they just take space.
Juhana Lehtiniemi - Film composer with Ableton Live

mr.ergonomics
Posts: 915
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:12 am

Post by mr.ergonomics » Sat Mar 01, 2008 3:14 pm

Grappadura wrote: I would like to be able to choose which step I want to undo... have a dropdown menu of the steps and then choose one without having to undo later steps.
yep, +1. a undo history like in cubase would be nice too.

possu: of course it works, but I'm interested in work flow and this short cut is a bit clumsy, at least in my opinion.


edit: I have elaborated a nice work around, I have a 5 button mouse an assigned the button 4/5 to undo(strg+z) and redo(strg+y). works great. :-)

Bombastic
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 3:07 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: undo /redo button

Post by Bombastic » Sun May 13, 2018 7:49 pm

it doesnt seem to work anymore
https://soundcloud.com/slumberlords

Post Reply