dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
William
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by William » Wed May 12, 2010 5:18 am

+1
Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/rimby

i7-3770K 3.5GHz
16GB RAM
256GB SSD, 1TB 7200HD

Windows 8

Live 9

triss
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 1:10 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by triss » Wed May 12, 2010 9:24 am

+1

Maximilus
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:44 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Maximilus » Tue May 18, 2010 5:34 am

+1

Guff Tong
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:53 am
Location: Warminster

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Guff Tong » Tue May 18, 2010 8:26 am

Right, I've just tried to add up the amount of support for dual monitors on this thread alone and my calculator just fell over.

Sort it out.

A simple detachable, modular GUI would be most, most welcome.

Even Reason does it.

I wouldnt even mind if the sizes of the windows were locked for say devices and the like if thats what the problem is.

I mean, there must be some kind of fundemental problem or limitation with the basic program for this not to have been adressed yet.

Anyone "Max4Live"d this issue yet?

:?:

davepermen
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 3:38 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by davepermen » Tue May 18, 2010 11:08 am

Guff Tong wrote: I mean, there must be some kind of fundemental problem or limitation with the basic program for this not to have been adressed yet.
no, it's a fundamental problem of the founder of ableton live. he does not want individual windows.

other than that, imagine if they would implement it right now. it would be reason for all sort of bugs, people would bash it :) (oh, and yes, technically there's most likely quite some rewriting needed to get >1 window support as it was never planned. the whole UI part would maybe have to be redone. then again, thanks to max4live, that should already have been needed for big parts (to make UI components available in max4live windows).

so, one can still hope (more than ever).. and +1, because, why not? :)
http://davepermen.net my tiny webpage, including link to bandcamp.

Richard Ellis
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:27 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Richard Ellis » Tue May 25, 2010 5:45 am

+ 1,000,0000,000,000,000,000
Richard

Macbook Core 2 Duo 2Ghz
2Gb RAM
OSX 10.6.2
Ableton Live Suite 8
Reason 4
Logic 9

Genelec 8020s
Technics 1210's
Ecler Nuo 4
NI A8DJ
VCI-100

Der_Makrophag
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 11:06 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Der_Makrophag » Tue May 25, 2010 2:06 pm

Perhaps having session mode on one and arrangement on the other screen? (just an idea)

I do not think, that the "single window" rule has to be broken for this. Can't it just being made larger?
My English is not perfect, I know... Sorry about that.

Greetings from Germany!

P.S. to wishlist forum users: Please search for former requests. Otherwise they will be splitted into many small ones and we are loosing impact!!!

arctic ranger
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 6:49 am
Location: inuvik NT/vancouver BC

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by arctic ranger » Fri May 28, 2010 5:31 am

aint gonna happen...though i wish it would

cmon!! even just the browser would be nice

i have a feeling that it would be like the lfo thing...too much of a rewrite
mpb c2d, remote sl, mpc1000, korg legacy, zebra 2, phoscyon, devastator

http://soundcloud.com/enrock/first-edit

sanosdole
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:37 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by sanosdole » Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:51 pm

I want dual monitor support, but i don´t want detachable windows (Although i would love to change the postions of browser,clip view etc.).

But there are many good & ergonomic solutions for this problem:
Eclipse IDE
Blender
Microsoft Visual Studio (Really like the pinning & Mouse Over Icon opens dock window)

So:
Make GUI Configurable, add Screensets and make those MIDI- & Key-remotable.

agargara
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:06 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by agargara » Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:24 am

Uh, I don't know what your guys problem is, Ableton Live already works fine with dual monitors. Make tunes on one screen and watch porn on the other. :mrgreen:

But seriously, +1! This is a pretty standard feature for DAWs these days, especially in this price range.

Jome7
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: NY

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Jome7 » Sat Jun 19, 2010 10:34 pm

I only have one monitor, but if I had two, could I have Live on one monitor and slide plugins like Kore over to the other screen? I was thinking that would be nice, but otherwise it all seems nicely organized into one window. I could use my TV as a second monitor, but that would be kind of impractical just for something like that.

Soma
Posts: 592
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 3:59 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Soma » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:00 am

Me too.
I think everyone I know who makes music is using a laptop and an extra monitor.

asha.dan
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:53 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by asha.dan » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:34 am

+1

Guff Tong
Posts: 1114
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 9:53 am
Location: Warminster

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Guff Tong » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:44 am

Image

+2

Neon Breath
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:26 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Neon Breath » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:29 pm

I am not an Ableton user since a very long time, but I'm already badly missing this handy feature, wich simply essential imo. One screen the session/arrangment view, the other for the mixer and all the rounting stuff.

Post Reply