dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
ynfynytyng
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by ynfynytyng » Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:31 am

coming from apple logic I must say it is really frustrating when you are not able to tear windows (like midi editing) apart from the main screen. this is a big one for me. I feel too confined and it kills my flow

ynfynytyng
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by ynfynytyng » Mon Oct 11, 2010 4:31 am

coming from apple logic I must say it is really frustrating when you are not able to tear windows (like midi editing) apart from the main screen. this is a big one for me. I feel too confined and it kills my flow

dsirijus
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:36 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by dsirijus » Mon Oct 11, 2010 11:30 am

+1

mattadms
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:43 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by mattadms » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:36 am

Sorry to bump this, but I have to agree.
Especially with all the users out there using Laptops attached to a 2nd screen it would just be wonderful to
pull the Session/Mixer-View on a 2nd screen while working in Arrangement mode (e.g. by CMD-Clicking on the Session-Button).

fl0w
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:28 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by fl0w » Sun Nov 14, 2010 6:32 pm

a bit off-topic, but we DJs want to display more than one clip waveform at once!

jkung
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 9:09 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by jkung » Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:31 pm

yes please. this would be really great.

dentaku
Posts: 612
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:42 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by dentaku » Sat Nov 20, 2010 4:52 pm

This feature must be something that the Abes hear about so much that they just ignore it now. It's annoying because it would be SO much better if you could un-snap different parts of the interface and put them on the second monitor.
Custom built quiet Intel E6700 based PC, Echo Mia MIDI, Win7 64bit, Akai MPK49, Akai LPD8, Korg nanoKONTROL (which I don't realy use anymore), Ableton Live, Reason

sanosdole
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 10:37 am

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by sanosdole » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:31 am

This feature must be something that the Abes hear about so much that they just ignore it now. It's annoying because it would be SO much better if you could un-snap different parts of the interface and put them on the second monitor.
I don´t know if any of the PM´s or Dev´s really reads this forum...

I think the problem is not solved easily (having 10 years professional experience in software development),
the UI has to be cross platform and is strongly focused on non-windowed ergonomic concept (Revolutionary at it´s time!).

Considering the lifecycle of ableton live (2000-now) i strongly believe version 9 or 10 will include a major rework of the UI code.
They may even change to a cross-platform toolkit like Qt. They´re sure up for supporting:
- Touch/Gestures
- DPI Awareness
- Configurable GUI
- Multi-monitor
- Hardware accelerated rendering

If they are not they will loose their innovator pole position and finally market shares.

Reworking a UI of an application this size with such a userbase for new paradigms is really a difficult job.
a bit off-topic, but we DJs want to display more than one clip waveform at once!
I´m also in on this one and offtopic :)

webdevotion
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 12:35 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by webdevotion » Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:06 pm

2 years after this topic has been created I'm still adding my 2 cents.
Dual monitor support? Yes!
Also: being able to resize VST windows ( e.g. Battery edit window ) would be very nice.

smaucher
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 10:12 pm
Location: s/w Germany
Contact:

Re:

Post by smaucher » Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:02 pm

OriginalSpaceMan wrote:agreed... not only dual monitor, but the ability to see a session and an arrangement at the same time!
exactly!
you start bleeding - I start sceaming
propaganda 1985

alvarog
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:30 am
Location: Spain

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by alvarog » Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:04 pm

i got drunk last night with gerard and he confidently told me that dual monitor support will never happen... the main reason is because their developers only have 1 LCD to develop and test live. Yes they made some money in the past but spent all in that cool table football haha
AMD Phenom II X4 | 8GB DDR3 | Raptor 10.000rpm RAID 0 | Win7 Ultimate 64bit | Suite 8 + VSTis | RME Fireface400 | KORG MicroKONTROL | 7 string custom electric guitar

alvarog
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:30 am
Location: Spain

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by alvarog » Sun Dec 05, 2010 7:10 pm

:)

Image
AMD Phenom II X4 | 8GB DDR3 | Raptor 10.000rpm RAID 0 | Win7 Ultimate 64bit | Suite 8 + VSTis | RME Fireface400 | KORG MicroKONTROL | 7 string custom electric guitar

luakasbravo
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by luakasbravo » Sat Dec 11, 2010 9:22 pm

+1000000000000000 WTF how long we got to wait for this? is it such hard ? to change this damn code?

two or three monitor (LCD) support will make easy our work and we will be able to save a lot of time, when we will ba able to put the mixer and arrange as independent pieces , this feature can be modified turned on/off in preferences!

guys did You ever imagine that if we wont click the "tab" i milion time a day we will be more happier and less tired using ableton ? :)

2019
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 8:53 pm

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by 2019 » Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:04 pm

or maybe just few Floating windows with the mixer,spectrum....
I think they wait live 10 for make something to the GUI
wankers

Tweaking Knobs
Posts: 1162
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 5:36 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!

Post by Tweaking Knobs » Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:20 pm

alvarog wrote::)

Image

hahahaah


thtas why all the features we want are not implemented :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Post Reply