All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 213 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 15  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 5:57 pm 

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:16 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Heavily guarded insane asylum
This needs to happen, like yesterday.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:33 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 458
its not going to happen
i guess its not really a big deal since most people rarely use a two monitor setup anymore.

as creator of this thread (who cant log in under his old/new user name for some reason)
i proclaim this feature request dead, and the hope of having dual monitor support can now be looked at as silly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:44 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am
Posts: 771
njh wrote:
its not going to happen
i guess its not really a big deal since most people rarely use a two monitor setup anymore.

as creator of this thread (who cant log in under his old/new user name for some reason)
i proclaim this feature request dead, and the hope of having dual monitor support can now be looked at as silly.


i think you get this wrong, even my mom upgraded to dual monitor

_________________
Image
Live Electronic Music For Machines, By Machines (iTunes)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:12 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:21 pm
Posts: 11
Yea this needs to happen right away. I know it can't be too hard and it's not too late to include the feature in Ableton Live 9. Lots of other DAWs are showing dual monitor support. Being able to have clip view in one monitor and session in the other would be absolutely amazing.

That guy who said nobody uses dual monitors any more couldn't be any more wrong. As technology gets better, more and more people are using dual monitors. I myself use 3 monitors, and most people I know are using 2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:59 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:58 am
Posts: 458
Muzik 4 Machines wrote:
njh wrote:
its not going to happen
i guess its not really a big deal since most people rarely use a two monitor setup anymore.

as creator of this thread (who cant log in under his old/new user name for some reason)
i proclaim this feature request dead, and the hope of having dual monitor support can now be looked at as silly.


i think you get this wrong, even my mom upgraded to dual monitor

but ableton dont think its needed so therefor its not needed.

carry on mutants


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:01 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Posts: 3764
Location: Northwest Nowhere
Quote:
carry on mutants


LOL....sig-worthy quote there


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:35 pm 

Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 3:57 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Berlin
+1

_________________
producer, dj

dont forget to play!
http://www.beatport.com/artist/charles-widmore/89238
http://www.soundcloud.com/charles-widmore
http://www.facebook.com/charles.widmore


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:47 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 2:17 am
Posts: 3396
Location: Europe
Ive never ever seen anyone do a LIVE performance with 2 screens.

I went from Cubase to Live when it got midi, something like 10 years ago. Since then its been one screen all the way. A nice big screen in the center of the work space. Dont get me wrong, I have 2 more screens conected that branch out to the DJ boot, and to a TV, for the clients. I only use one DAW though. Live is intended for small project studios and live shows, and for that its perfect. Its not, and its never going to be Pro Tools.

_________________
LIFE IS A PROGRESS BAR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:12 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:35 am
Posts: 771
ze2be wrote:
Ive never ever seen anyone do a LIVE performance with 2 screens.

I went from Cubase to Live when it got midi, something like 10 years ago. Since then its been one screen all the way. A nice big screen in the center of the work space. Dont get me wrong, I have 2 more screens conected that branch out to the DJ boot, and to a TV, for the clients. I only use one DAW though. Live is intended for small project studios and live shows, and for that its perfect. Its not, and its never going to be Pro Tools.

your point is valid....for live 4, since there is an arrangement view, live is BOTH live and studio itools, and in studio 2 monitors is not an option, it's the standard (more often 3),

_________________
Image
Live Electronic Music For Machines, By Machines (iTunes)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 2:25 am 

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 10:10 pm
Posts: 2264
njh wrote:
i guess its not really a big deal since most people rarely use a two monitor setup anymore.



uh.

what?
i think you have that a bit backwards; more and more people are converting to dual monitors each day.

_________________
soundcloud - electronic and shit.
me+you - EP01 - electronic/jazz/rock/postrock and shit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:08 am 

Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:51 am
Posts: 25
Is it really the case that because the program is called "Live," people will insist that nobody is using it for anything other than live performance? "Who uses dual monitors live?" is not an answer to the complaint about multiple windows.

The reason this is so frustrating is that it's an easy problem to solve. It's not something with unseen programming complications that would effect stability. It's a simple GUI fix. If so many people want this feature, why not include it? The fact that a handful of people are content with the current setup is irrelevant.

Even if you use a single display, think about what multiple windows can offer. Given the new display capabilities of the compressor and eq8, plus automation in session view, can you not understand why you might want to see your devices and edit automation simultaneously?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:28 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 6:47 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Berlin Germany
schlocktober wrote:
Even if you use a single display, think about what multiple windows can offer. Given the new display capabilities of the compressor and eq8, plus automation in session view, can you not understand why you might want to see your devices and edit automation simultaneously?



Exactly... Ableton we need an official answer on when this is going to be come a feature and if not why, yes it's not for every body but it would seriously improve the work flow for so many users and it has been a requested feature for the last how many years?

Fingers crossed.

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/mikewolf
Live setup: Macbook pro 3ghz 16gb ram, Live 8.x.x, max 4 live, Mpc 1000, Komplete 7, Circle, Akai apc40, Motu ultralite, Krk Vxt8's, and soon a Innerclock Systems sync gen.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:35 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Posts: 12588
I may have said this before - but:

re-arrangeable panes is the best solution, whether you like a single screen layout or multi screen. Snap the panes around into different combinations and then save them into a Layout. That way you can have saved layouts for Live performance (Single screen, clips and mixer), Studio (Multi screen with mixer on one screen and arrangment and session both visible on the other), etc. etc.

however, I guess it's a wish for Live 10

but my point is "dual-screen" doesn't solve enough problems, "flexible save-able layouts" is more widely applicable.

_________________
site


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:51 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:36 pm
Posts: 3764
Location: Northwest Nowhere
Angstrom wrote:
"flexible save-able layouts"


+

closeable, floating panes, tablets are the future, thinking Live 12 now


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: dual monitor support damnit!!!!!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 5:28 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1420
That is why Studio one didn't nest plugins into the GUI. You can edit simultaneously.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 213 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 15  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group