Hotkey for Open VSTi GUI

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Post Reply
baseinstinct
Posts: 741
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:45 am

Hotkey for Open VSTi GUI

Post by baseinstinct » Tue May 06, 2008 10:05 pm

Clicking on the wrench is user unfriendly.

RShift+Enter is still not occupied. It is an ideal HK for such purpose.

djgroovy
Posts: 2025
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:15 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by djgroovy » Tue May 06, 2008 10:28 pm

ctrl+alt+p

jlgrimes
Posts: 1513
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:55 am
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Re: Hotkey for Open VSTi GUI

Post by jlgrimes » Wed May 07, 2008 12:23 pm

baseinstinct wrote:Clicking on the wrench is user unfriendly.

RShift+Enter is still not occupied. It is an ideal HK for such purpose.

I agree with you 110%.


Ctl+Alt+P isn't enough in my opinion for a couple of reasons:

1. From what I can see you must manually open up the property window in the first place.

2. Many times I want to reference a synth property page from a midi track that is playing it where the proper step would be to click on the synth track then hit the wrench. That is too many keyclicks for one and then you lose focus on the midi track you are playing so many times you add the extra step of clicking back on the midi track. Sonar solves this problem by letting you open the synth property page by double clicking on the input or output of the respective soft synth's track (no matter whether it is a synth track or a midi track that feeds a synth track). This makes working with VSTs a lot quicker.

3. The combination of Ctrl Alt P is awkward. Single key combinations are better and anyways Live should give us the full freedom to make our own key commands.

4. Another thing too I think it would help greatly if plugin windows could be minimized. Sonar has lots of neat little things for getting to and hiding plug-in windows. One of their new features X-Ray windows is cool which lets you make the plug-in transparent so you can temporarily see the sequencer window and as much as humanly possible Sonar makes all of their new features key-bindable (even sometimes they leave it up to you to create the binding).

This is one of the reasons I consider Live a "heavy mouse clicking" program.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by djsynchro » Wed May 07, 2008 3:08 pm

Hi,

I'm currently debugging an AutoHotkeys script I wrote.
One command will open all VST plug-in windows in the selected track
The second command open all VST windows on all tracks.

This is so when you have 2 monitors you can use "auto hide" and then each time you select a track the VSTs will open on your 2nd screen. But Live closes all VST windows when you load a set, so first you need to open everything, track by track. this script will do that.

taximouse
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:05 am
Location: the woods, north
Contact:

Post by taximouse » Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:05 am

ok, where is there a list of these shortcut key combos for mac?
MacBook Pro 2.93 Ghz, early 2009, 4GB RAM
OS 10.5.8
Live 8.1.4
Motu Ultralite + FCB1010 + SooperLooper + cello


twitter: zoecello
http://www.zoekeating.com

baseinstinct
Posts: 741
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:45 am

Post by baseinstinct » Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:41 pm

djsynchro wrote:Hi,

I'm currently debugging an AutoHotkeys script I wrote.
One command will open all VST plug-in windows in the selected track
The second command open all VST windows on all tracks.

This is so when you have 2 monitors you can use "auto hide" and then each time you select a track the VSTs will open on your 2nd screen. But Live closes all VST windows when you load a set, so first you need to open everything, track by track. this script will do that.
how's your progress?

Post Reply