Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:18 am

eyeknow wrote:I was wrong though :oops:

It won't work with vsts. Just the built in stuff :x
No, it works perfectly fine with VSTs too. You can either move the notes manually, or use the "Key" parameter in the sidebar. Took me ages to figure out the sidebar thing at first, because I was adjusting "Pitch" when I was supposed to adjust "Key".

The blue squares show how to activate layered MIDI editing, and the green one is where you transpose the entire clips:

Image
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by eyeknow » Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:40 am

DOH!!!!!!! I see now.

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1202
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sun Apr 14, 2019 6:38 am

We can transpose a selection of audio clips. Why can't we transpose a selection of MIDI clips?
With the multiple clip view, isn't there a way in Live's source code to just loop through the clips and send keystrokes?

I imagine the following pseudocode:

for each clip in selection:
send_keypress(ctrl+a)
send_keypress(up)

I know this topic is from 2008, and I've wanted this feature since 2005, but I still haven't lost hope.
The next generation shouldn't have to transpose tons of individual clips :)
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

Post Reply