Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Share your wishes for the future of Ableton Live
sporkles
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Post by sporkles » Mon May 26, 2008 11:05 am

bensuthers wrote:> inserting pitch plugin is very confusing

why?
As we've already said: because when you use the pitch plugin, the notes being
sent to the instrument aren't the same as the notes in the clip. I simply want
an automated way of moving notes up or down, and on multiple clips: select
the clips you want to transpose, type/dial in the amount of transposition in the
notes box in detail view, and execute.

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Mon May 26, 2008 3:09 pm

^Besides, if I have 10 MIDI tracks I want transposed, it's an unneccesarily awkward process of putting 10 instances of a pitch plugin on each track and adjusting all those 10 pitch plugins.

Global transpose/transposing of multiple MIDI clips: YES!

bensuthers
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 4:51 am

Post by bensuthers » Tue May 27, 2008 12:12 am

> As we've already said: because when you use the pitch plugin, the notes being
> sent to the instrument aren't the same as the notes in the clip.

yeah you said that.

what exactly is 'in the clip', and why does it matter? Truth is, it doesn't matter.

so, let the clip visuals show what is being sent to the instrument, rather than what you 'recorded' and suddenly you have a very powerful tool, rather than a 30 year old interface paradigm of note selection and dialog boxes.

gomi
Posts: 1133
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Tue May 27, 2008 4:42 am

pitch

add new miditrack

input from pitched track

GO

new track contains NEW MIDI NOTES

sporkles wrote:
bensuthers wrote:
modal dialogue boxes?

editing palettes?

next you'll want windowing systems to organise all these windows.

ACTUALLY what you really want is the MIDI notes in the editor to reflect what is being sent to the instrument. Some method of this display being 'post' the midi-fx on the channel would be excellent, ground breaking, and perfectly within Live's philosophy.
That seems like a really complicated way of doing something really simple.
If a dialogue box is that problematic, how about this: when you're in detail
view as it is now and select more than one clip, most of the detail view is
just a tiny message stating that (x) MIDI clips are selected. To the left, you
have the clip box (time sig. + groove) and the notes box. My suggestion
then, would be a transpose option in the notes box.


In fact, having this feature for selected clips rather than an entire track is
a lot more useful, so I'll go ahead and change the thread title :wink:

poshook
Posts: 470
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:31 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by poshook » Tue May 27, 2008 7:03 am

sporkles wrote:
bensuthers wrote:> inserting pitch plugin is very confusing

why?
As we've already said: because when you use the pitch plugin, the notes being
sent to the instrument aren't the same as the notes in the clip. I simply want
an automated way of moving notes up or down, and on multiple clips: select
the clips you want to transpose, type/dial in the amount of transposition in the
notes box in detail view, and execute.
yes, this option is good idea :) +1

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Tue May 27, 2008 12:37 pm

bensuthers wrote:> As we've already said: because when you use the pitch plugin, the notes being
> sent to the instrument aren't the same as the notes in the clip.

yeah you said that.

what exactly is 'in the clip', and why does it matter? Truth is, it doesn't matter.

so, let the clip visuals show what is being sent to the instrument, rather than what you 'recorded' and suddenly you have a very powerful tool, rather than a 30 year old interface paradigm of note selection and dialog boxes.
yeah yeah, but what about transposing several midi tracks at once? That's where the problem begins (if you don't have any knobs to map to several pitch plugins that is)

sporkles
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Post by sporkles » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:23 pm

BUMP!

See my sig. Come on, Abes; with all these supposed workflow improvements,
why is this tiny, little, huge feature continually overlooked?

AM Static
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:09 pm

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by AM Static » Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:43 am

The ability to use the midi of many clips on the same piano roll, perhaps each with the corresponding colour of their parent clip. That way you could even see and edit multiple parts together without having to navigate separately to parts you'd like edited according to each others' rhythms. This would be particularly helpful if used with drums being kept each in their own track.

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:34 pm

I'll just +1 myself from 6 years ago. :)
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by eyeknow » Fri Sep 05, 2014 2:39 am

This is a frustration. You can select multiple audio tracks and transpose, but not midi.....which seems a little strange.

Another thing about the "pitch shift" or using a max for live device is that it screws up drums. I just want to transpose the stuff I select, not an entire scene. Sometimes the things missing in live are just baffling.

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Sat Nov 01, 2014 10:23 am

eyeknow wrote:This is a frustration. You can select multiple audio tracks and transpose, but not midi.....which seems a little strange.

Another thing about the "pitch shift" or using a max for live device is that it screws up drums. I just want to transpose the stuff I select, not an entire scene. Sometimes the things missing in live are just baffling.
Yeah, for me it's definitely the number one issue that needs to be fixed. Sounds much easier (and way more important) to implement than features like Audio to MIDI or smart snap.

Right now, I'm working on a project with 20 instrument tracks, and I want one of the chords in my progression transposed. I work a lot in session view - imagine how great layered MIDI editing would be; just select the desired clips, see them all in layered view, select one bar, and transpose freely, just like you would with one single clip. If I decide to change the key of my entire song, it's done with one single action.

Instead, I have to enter each clip, move everything manually, keep track of what I've moved and not, and if I change my mind, I have to repeat it all over again.

(Also, while we're on the topic of MIDI clips - I'd like to have back Live 8's clip automation (modulation) as a selectable default option. It's needlessly awkward to access now.)
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by eyeknow » Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:57 pm

Hosts are frustrating, but a necessary evil

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by eyeknow » Tue Nov 04, 2014 12:12 am

bitwig can do this.

:x

Idonotlikebroccoli
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:29 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by Idonotlikebroccoli » Mon Nov 10, 2014 11:11 am

^ Indeed. I just tried it, and it's exactly what I've been wanting all these years. I don't like everything about Bitwig, but it seems like a very usable alternative.
Please vote! Live 10's "multi" clip editing should allow selection+editing of multiple clips in one action:

(L10-SUG-0228) Multiple MIDI transpose

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=228094

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Multiple MIDI clip transpose!

Post by eyeknow » Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:37 pm

I was wrong though :oops:

It won't work with vsts. Just the built in stuff :x

Post Reply