All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:57 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 1875
Location: stoke newington in london
hi - this has been confusing me for months, maybe even a year and i still have yet to figure it out

can anyone please help? i am controlling Live with my softstep 2 and can move left and right from track to track no problem. i have a small sub patch (below) which controls the volume of whatever track i am centred on using cc numbers sent using the Y increment on a softstep pad

the volume is controlled ok but the problem is that when i try to adjust the volume of a new track, the slider first jumps to the level of the volume of the track that i was previously on before i can control it. which is really annoying, when i just want to be able to move the slider from where it is positioned when i centre on the track

below is the sub patch i am using, can anyone give me a hand to get it working properly? many thanks :(

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
852.3ocwXlraaCCDF9rBPdGHH5QWARs6dq8RQAZO0dqnvfVhIgoRTFhTtNMn
u6kKVV1I1ILxV1GrVFRQ8OeCGNT9wquxCNudEU.Ae.7Sfm2iJKdFaZKdcF7f
UjU4kDgoiPN8O0yuGNYcaR5JowtHmTRA3fT.Bf8AH+Mc4lZtTv9KU2MLxG0Y
WHenzXDtoq71JFujJMupjsrV2J6Li6LufHyuiwucVCMWZchz.0vCxB0GmlpO
Fndgfe08H1gQ9vBps+PXeaZYxIUVE8wFFoD7o5xhMZiUXZQ47uOLBZL9uquR
eVcZhy76lxZk+rYTU9KqRcuposPyPQFd+HKnebapHxcf6AoHNHveZbTVXzDP
LxEVNA.mS32NLlhihf8ZpQ8PRZyLJmL25waXfhlcDC6iFbb3Pyikf4faficf
3vTO1bJLvO9UAtA1SLSozA0gQ8D3IGgkrkTeUKZW6XA4FhkWWV2Xcbj+zrnP
rZdIxOCOMAkouBEilpt.uMxbekirXMvCCiMAAbrC3enDOciYAYIsXlkTyHRY
CadqztfrWOz8fyVPaDLgjxys4B1FVGyNowtuE8UexBl+moxuSKU5hV7iFR9u
+Buft5zkVrSzLNxF5TQytKhmFfiSewn4KkKEXV6GmEYNkD5vpWLt7XW.Ka3o
RUTgfbKcOkUoRvRRYKE7N7oKY5MmWfL.MIazJohilNBzS4P2AzKGMyvQlfop
lLSpmPKT.ETwVoJxTPWxxofk0ksUzKAjsSWCvV7FOhTNFAGkJlkfxwplY3K.
tHalcZlszoKfqqno42.gHdjpYpmtNRqwNrJlgu9j1HSEyXriaP7XvdvvwtAO
PWQHZne4Q35L3titk.ukS1uG375pJJ2N43o9s8QUyY3O6q2LRS2vSngntsIu
6c2MKVIxdUTPERFmHY07s6ld6J.be2tiUTP46PoBlPuK8h9slr2PzaPZA69N
OfzLd.5rJsncei6WXgQmccE5jvLei0YVY5RNtHMSL+LKM0dNbhZoW.ok4F0P
W.ok3T14Sg6YSZNDPyt.RywLzjiRZqqLPVrXo9SFsisUUpBh2a2OP5D68Lt8
d6HCan5MHaeD6eODjznpyIUE4Zar0KWkk.W+z0EzFdKyTXTYwnA0g+yBVp2H
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

_________________
http://www.slatepipe.co.uk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:57 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 989
Location: Ableton
On an iPad right now, so I can’t check your patch, but this is most certainly due to wrong message ordering.

_________________
Ableton Forum Moderator


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:27 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:42 pm
Posts: 231
Would this work with the first softstep? Sounds like a great device!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:52 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 4670
[jur] wrote:
On an iPad right now, so I can’t check your patch, but this is most certainly due to wrong message ordering.

Same thing, I can check tomorrow !

_________________
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:31 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 1875
Location: stoke newington in london
hi - thanks for your replies. yeah the patch works great except for this issue. i can control four sends on every track as well but i have the same problem with them. whichever track i move to and adjust a send for that track, the send level jumps to the level of the send on the previous track first, so i figure that when i sort out the problem for the volume, then it'll just be a question of doing the same for the sends


McAnix - yes it probably would work on the first softstep but i can't say for certain as i just use this SS2

thanks in advance to anyone who can help :)

_________________
http://www.slatepipe.co.uk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:37 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 4794
Location: Dunstable
Can you send me the full patch, this used to happen for me and i think it's all about timing and liberal use of the prepend set object...

Cheers
D

_________________
www.isotonikstudios.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:48 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 1875
Location: stoke newington in london
S4racen wrote:
Can you send me the full patch, this used to happen for me and i think it's all about timing and liberal use of the prepend set object...

Cheers
D



hi feller - yeah sure - can you pm me an email address or something and i'll send the amxd?

i been fiddling with around with it literally all day and i'm still no closer :evil: :x

_________________
http://www.slatepipe.co.uk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: volume fader problem that's been bugging me for months
PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:54 pm 

Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Posts: 1875
Location: stoke newington in london
DONE IT !!! :D :D :D

many thanks to S4racen for his help

_________________
http://www.slatepipe.co.uk

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group