Set exact values in mono sequencer

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
frontmanbeats
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:48 pm

Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by frontmanbeats » Fri May 14, 2021 8:05 pm

Hello

I can't seem to drag the columns in the sequence data lane to a precise number. For example 100 in the duration. Is there anyway to set it with the keyboard?

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by [jur] » Sat May 15, 2021 9:13 am

What if you hold Shift while dragging?
Ableton Forum Moderator

frontmanbeats
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by frontmanbeats » Sat May 15, 2021 10:01 am

That does not make any difference. I also tried holding other keys.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by [jur] » Sat May 15, 2021 11:38 am

tbh, I don't have any problem getting to the desired value.
Are you using the latest version (from the M4L Essentials pack)?
Ableton Forum Moderator

frontmanbeats
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:48 pm

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by frontmanbeats » Sat May 15, 2021 5:46 pm

Actually I found out it's only the duration that is hard to get exact. The other values, velocity and pitch are easier

pottering
Posts: 1345
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by pottering » Sat May 15, 2021 9:40 pm

Probably not OP's problem, but Shift+drag doesn't work in Pen Tablet Mode.

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by [jur] » Sun May 16, 2021 4:21 pm

pottering wrote:
Sat May 15, 2021 9:40 pm
Probably not OP's problem, but Shift+drag doesn't work in Pen Tablet Mode.
I've never used this mode, but I need to ask if it's supposed to be this way or not.
Ableton Forum Moderator

pottering
Posts: 1345
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by pottering » Sun May 16, 2021 11:23 pm

I always used a graphic tablet with Live, and it always worked like that for years, as far as I can remember.

Maybe, just maybe, it worked better way back in Live 9? Either it shift+drag worked, or if you switched to mouse, the shift+drag worked with it (not the pen). I have a faint memory it worked better in the past, but could be just wishful thinking...

But for many years shift+drag doesn't work in Pen Tablet Mode (in Windows 10, forgot to mention I'm on Win 10, no idea how it works in MacOS).

[jur]
Site Admin
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: Ableton

Re: Set exact values in mono sequencer

Post by [jur] » Mon May 17, 2021 2:38 am

pottering wrote:
Sun May 16, 2021 11:23 pm
I always used a graphic tablet with Live, and it always worked like that for years, as far as I can remember.

Maybe, just maybe, it worked better way back in Live 9? Either it shift+drag worked, or if you switched to mouse, the shift+drag worked with it (not the pen). I have a faint memory it worked better in the past, but could be just wishful thinking...

But for many years shift+drag doesn't work in Pen Tablet Mode (in Windows 10, forgot to mention I'm on Win 10, no idea how it works in MacOS).
Thx for these info ;-)
Ableton Forum Moderator

Post Reply