Is It Possible To Edit/Add Feature to Existing Device?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
yodz
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 6:20 am

Is It Possible To Edit/Add Feature to Existing Device?

Post by yodz » Fri Jun 11, 2021 8:48 pm

Hello All,

I have an external analogue drum computer (mfb tanzbar) and i found a device that someone already made that maps all the parameters to the knobs on the external drum computer.

However, there is a feature I would like to add. The feature is a "send all parameters" to the unit so that i can save my settings, and then when i want to recall then, i would click a button and it would send all those parameters to the unit for it to recall that exact state.

Is it possible to go in and edit existing devices as such? i am really hoping there is a way instead of having to rebuild it from scratch.

Here is the device and you can see from the comments that many others would like that feature.

https://maxforlive.com/library/device.php?id=2971#17348

If it is not possible to add on top of it, how complex would you say it is to rebuild a device that does this.. basically just mapping CC parameters...

any help or reply would be greatly appreciated (not sure if these questions are ok as none of my posts get any replies lol). i am just getting started with M4L.

thanks

chapelier fou
Posts: 5404
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Is It Possible To Edit/Add Feature to Existing Device?

Post by chapelier fou » Sat Jun 12, 2021 6:39 am

I didn’t check the device but it should send all the values when you load the set.
If not, something’s wrong but can be solved easily.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

schlam
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 11:51 am

Re: Is It Possible To Edit/Add Feature to Existing Device?

Post by schlam » Sat Jun 12, 2021 10:34 am

done =)

You will find the moded device here

https://maxforlive.com/library/device.php?id=7378

I added too a morphing capability between 2 presets.

Hope it helps.

cheers

yodz
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 6:20 am

Re: Is It Possible To Edit/Add Feature to Existing Device?

Post by yodz » Sat Jun 12, 2021 12:28 pm

WOWsers... i will be testing it out today and let you know.
:D
firstly, thank you.
secondly, if i wanted to begin to understand how to do that myself...

what would you suggest as the starting point?

seeing how much is possible continues to blow my mind.

:D

schlam
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 11:51 am

Re: Is It Possible To Edit/Add Feature to Existing Device?

Post by schlam » Sat Jun 12, 2021 2:37 pm

Glad to help. ;)
I hope it's working !

For a starting point it depends of what you mean by "starting point"..
..if it's making m4l devices, the max cycling'74 forum is really full of informations and people happy to help and threads that mainly allways already answer your questions..

...if it's how to add a simple preset system to any device, open the moded device and see what I added.

You can copy all I added in another device and it could work...pattrstorage is THE object for that, open its help and reference files to understand what it does..

yodz
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 17, 2021 6:20 am

Re: Is It Possible To Edit/Add Feature to Existing Device?

Post by yodz » Sun Jun 13, 2021 9:20 pm

only had a brief moment to play with it and i think it's working fine, will have to confirm it further.

and wow, ok, so i am interested in both and thank you for pointing to maxcycling'74 forum :)

in addition, i did not know you could add simple preset system to any device. that sounds also very cool and i will definitely give pattrstorage a dip and a dive.

thanks very much once again. :o

Post Reply