err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
djsemuta_2
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by djsemuta_2 » Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:48 am

Umm, I went to the following URL by choosing to do an offline registration and clicking the link that shows up in the instructions box. It took me to:

https://www.ableton.com/account/licenses?version=8.1b3

and got the "Authorize this Computer" button, which seems to have done the trick.

Good Luck!

Thanks,

S

chrisedmo
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:55 pm
Location: Jersey, C.I.
Contact:

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by chrisedmo » Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:22 am

Tarekith, Im having the exact issue as you! I appear to have a serial for M4L, but it never actually unlocks/authorizes it?

Ive emailed the abes.
Macbook 1.83ghz. Ableton Live 8 :-). Guitars and keys and retro sh*t.
http://www.myspace.com/banquetmusic

kleine
Posts: 1851
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 11:46 am
Location: ableton
Contact:

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by kleine » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:11 am

Hello,

You might try to delete your unlock.cfg and re-authorize.
The Unlock.cfg file is located in the following paths:

Windows (Live 4 and higher): C:\Documents and Settings\your user name\Application Data\Ableton\Live x\Unlock

Note that on some Windows systems the application data folder is hidden by default. Here is how to make it visible:

Launch Explorer.
Select Tools/Folder Options/View.
Check "Show hidden files and folders."
Windows Vista: c:/users/username/appdata/roaming/ableton/Live x/Unlock

To make the appdata folder visible, a user has to do the following:

Launch the Windows Explorer.
Click on 'Organize' -> 'Folder and Search Options' -> 'View'.
Check 'Show hidden files and folders'.
Mac OS X: /User/Library/Application Support/Ableton/Unlock

Best,
Christian

Veqtor
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:07 am

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by Veqtor » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:32 am

I'm also having this problem, it says on my account on ableton.com that I have the M4L beta license but I've tried online, offline, deleted unlock.cfg and none of those things makes the authorization process authorize the M4L beta.

Friedemann
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by Friedemann » Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:50 am

Hi Tarekith,

at a first glance it looks like that the MfL beta serial was added to the wrong license (to the now obsolete license from Live 8 beta testing).
We will sort that out asap.

Sorry for the trouble,

Friedemann

PS: If others (in particular those who took part in the Live 8 beta testing) experience a similar problem,
please write to mfl-beta@ableton.com
Friedemann Schautz
schautz@ableton.com

GhostandtheMachine
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:52 pm

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by GhostandtheMachine » Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:47 pm

I can authorize everything but as soon as I try and open the max for live instrument in crashes. Is no one else having this issue?

jon

Liam
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 3:18 pm
Location: Northern CA, USA

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by Liam » Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:06 pm

Which version of the unlock.cfg file do we delete? The one in the Live8.1beta folder? Or an earlier version?

I tried the 8.1 beta version and Live crashed

nq
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by nq » Sat Sep 12, 2009 4:33 am

i experience the same problem. live is not adding maxforlive to my authorized instruments. m4l is listed under my early beta 8 serial not the regular one. contacted the m4l beta team.

chrisedmo
Posts: 389
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:55 pm
Location: Jersey, C.I.
Contact:

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by chrisedmo » Sat Sep 12, 2009 6:51 pm

Has anyone got a reply back from the M4L Beta team - i emailed them about this and i've had no reply, i really want to get stuck into this!

I tried deleting the .cfg file and the same thing happened: it unlocks everything bar M4L!!
Macbook 1.83ghz. Ableton Live 8 :-). Guitars and keys and retro sh*t.
http://www.myspace.com/banquetmusic

nq
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by nq » Sun Sep 13, 2009 7:47 am

also haven't heard back yet and it's still not authorizing m4l
i guess we'll have some news on monday.

meekspeaker
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 11:23 pm

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by meekspeaker » Mon Sep 14, 2009 12:48 am

GhostandtheMachine wrote:I can authorize everything but as soon as I try and open the max for live instrument in crashes. Is no one else having this issue?

jon


Yes I am having this exact problem!
AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core 4600+ 2.41Ghz, 2GB Ram, Ableton Live 8.0.9, Novation Remote 37SL, Novation X-Station 25 - http://www.myspace.com/meekspeaker

"...i didn't mean to call you a c**t i meant to call you a tosser. that was a bit harsh..."

nq
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by nq » Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:47 am

seems like they attached m4l beta to the correct version. trying to authorize again now, did the trick

GhostandtheMachine
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:52 pm

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by GhostandtheMachine » Mon Sep 14, 2009 2:38 pm

damn.,......I haven't herd back from m4l or any helpful posts...I guess this kind of issue is even more difficult to handle when so few of us are on PCs.I wish there was anything I could do but for now I am just waiting to hear any word from anyone on how to maybe deal with this...

jon

exaltron_2
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:19 am

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by exaltron_2 » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:01 pm

djsemuta_2 wrote:Umm, I went to the following URL by choosing to do an offline registration and clicking the link that shows up in the instructions box. It took me to:

https://www.ableton.com/account/licenses?version=8.1b3

and got the "Authorize this Computer" button, which seems to have done the trick.

Good Luck!

Thanks,

S
+1 I was finally able to authorize only by following that link above. Until they get the issue fixed I would consider this a functional work-around.
Image

nq
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Re: err.. how do i get m4l to show up/work?

Post by nq » Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:06 pm

[quote="GhostandtheMachine"]damn.,......I haven't herd back from m4l or any helpful posts...I guess this kind of issue is even more difficult to handle when so few of us are on PCs.I wish there was anything I could do but for now I am just waiting to hear any word from anyone on how to maybe deal with this...

jon[/quote]

i haven't heard back from them either. i just checked my account and saw, that the beta-version was not associated with my live8-beta serial, but with my regular one.
Authorizing work like a charm after this.
Maybe just check your account again

Post Reply