Directly grabbing midiin from port

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
Majnun
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:12 am

Directly grabbing midiin from port

Post by Majnun » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:04 am

With normal Max/MSP I was grabbing data from a midiin object that was looking at a specific virtual port, then I was doing some stuff and sending it to a midiout object on the same port... Live was using that port for in.

I was basically using Max to translate the midi signal before Live "saw it."

Ultimately I'm want to be grabbing data from APC40 (via a BOMES virtual port in/out from live) so I can remap what the APC is getting/sending to Live.

I don't see a way to do this with MfL... seems like I need to have a port record enabled to get midi data from it, and it's too late to process midi to send to APC at this point. Is this correct? Do I need the regular version of Max to do this? Or is there a way to have a MfL object grab from a specific midi port directly?

Or am I totally going about this the wrong way? Is there live. object way to directly change how the APC behaves?

Thanks! :)

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Directly grabbing midiin from port

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:12 am

In M4L, you need an audio/MIDI track for every input/output you wish to use.
It can't deal with audio/midi data that is outside of Live.

Majnun
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:12 am

Re: Directly grabbing midiin from port

Post by Majnun » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:12 pm

Hmmm...

Is there native MFL support of APC? I recall a video turning it into a step sequencer or something... anyone know the basic gist of how that would be done?

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Directly grabbing midiin from port

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:29 pm

Majnun wrote:Hmmm...

Is there native MFL support of APC? I recall a video turning it into a step sequencer or something... anyone know the basic gist of how that would be done?
Using a MIDI Track to send notes to the APC.
There are some control script features for the APC and controllers in general, but they aren't documented yet.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: Directly grabbing midiin from port

Post by 3dot... » Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:15 am

I've been able to send /receive midi from max5 using midi yoke...
only thing I had to do is open a new 'patcher' from the m4l patcher...
routing to midiyokes ports from the m4l patcher doesn't work.
Image

Post Reply