"Run in background" type objects

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
deerwolf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Oakland, California
Contact:

"Run in background" type objects

Post by deerwolf » Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:46 pm

I am encountering a problem with the wacom object (3rd party of course) but I think it might apply to many others. When I enable the object to run in the background (i.e. when I am not in max but in another program like Finder) it does not work in Live. It will work if I click on the max plug-in window, but as soon as I navigate away (even to another track in Live) I lose the data stream from the wacom tablet. Any thoughts? Other than that, having a blast, will post something soon.

Gregory Taylor
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: "Run in background" type objects

Post by Gregory Taylor » Mon Sep 28, 2009 2:28 pm

There are a couple of Max externals which only work (only report data)
when Max has "focus." While I don't have a Wacom tablet or use the
external, I would imagine that this has a similar problem, in which
case the creater of the external would need to rewrite it. In the case
of other Max objects for which this is true (key/keyup), some users
claim that using the hi object provides a workaround. While I have no
direct experience of this, perhaps using the hi object would work - IF
Wacom tablets can be used with the hi object (and I don't know that that's
the case).

deerwolf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Oakland, California
Contact:

Re: "Run in background" type objects

Post by deerwolf » Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:24 am

I've enable the object to "run in the background" seems like it was designed to keep focus even when in other apps, however this does not work in Ableton, it stops reporting then randomly kicks back in. I have a feeling there might be a work around... anyone have any thoughts?

G.
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:44 am
Location: Paris

Re: "Run in background" type objects

Post by G. » Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:57 pm

hi,

one solution is to make a separate max patch, and send data inside the device using udpsend/udpreceive.
in this case the background option works.

g

deerwolf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: Oakland, California
Contact:

Re: "Run in background" type objects

Post by deerwolf » Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:05 pm

Sorry that this topic has gone dormant. I'm really excited to get the wacom tablet working solidly in M4L.

G. can you elaborate on your udpsend/udpreceive solution?

Does anyone else have any other workarounds?

Thanks in advance, you're help is much appreciated.

-Kevin

Post Reply