[dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
oeyvind
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:49 am

[dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by oeyvind » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:29 am

Hello,

When starting Live 8.1b4, I get a "Max for Live Error" (in the help window to the right on the screen), saying Max is not correctly installed. Also, There is no entry for Max in the Live preferences (the screen shot shown in the docs just is not part of my preferences window, nothing about Max there). I did try to reinstall Max, following the "latest version" link in the "Max for Live Error" window, but it seems I had the latest Max installer and the same error appears after reinstalling Max.

Oeyvind
Last edited by oeyvind on Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

oeyvind
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:49 am

Re: M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by oeyvind » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:35 am

... come to think of it.
Maybe it has to do with the fact that I don't have an authorized version of Max, only running the time limited demo for the purpose of betatesting M4L.
Would be good to get a confirmation if this could be the problem.

best
Oeyvind

oeyvind
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:49 am

Re: M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by oeyvind » Mon Sep 28, 2009 11:53 am

...Tried deleting the file "unlock.svg" in Cycling74/interfaces too, but no change

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:38 am

Hi,

In order to use Max for Live, it's necessary to authorize your Live installation again - even if you have already authorized prior to installing Max.

Have you done this? If not, open the User Account/Licenses tab in Live's Preferences and choose either the online or offline authorization option. This should enable the Max for Live beta.

Please let me know if you have further issues.

best,

oeyvind
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:49 am

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by oeyvind » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:14 pm

I had the same problem with Live 8.1b3, and then I authorized (no change).
Now I tried to authorize again (Live 8.1b4), and still no change.
Hmm..

Oeyvind

oeyvind
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:49 am

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by oeyvind » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:26 pm

... should I add a new serial number manually ?
My Live8 serial number is the same as the one listed on my ableton account web page, so I'm unsure of what number to add. Is there a separate serial for MFL, and where can I find it?

best
Oeyvind

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:01 pm

No, there is no need to enter a new serial number.

It should work when you press the "Authorize this computer" button, which is below the "Add a serial number button."

Best,

miguel_2
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:38 pm

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by miguel_2 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:25 pm

sorry to say it, but it doesn't work at all — trying to authorize the whole thing since yesterday but i don't seem to be able to get it to work :/ (mac os 10.6)

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:29 pm

Hi miguel_2,

Indeed, your user account had an error. I believe I've fixed this now, and your Max for Live license should now be correctly attached to your Live license.

Please try to authorize again.

Best,

miguel_2
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:38 pm

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by miguel_2 » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:33 pm

cheers dennis, problem solved! :)

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:35 pm

Hi oeyvind,

Your Max for Live license was attached to another mail account. I've now moved it to the one that contains your main Live authorization. Authorization should now work for you.

Best,

oeyvind
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 7:49 am

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by oeyvind » Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:29 am

Yes, now it works. Thank you so much.
Oeyvind

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by peeddrroo » Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:26 pm

it seems i also have an account problem. i have sent a mail about it yesterday to both customercare@ and mfl-beta@ableton.com, but didn't get any feedback yet.
so i thought i might as well state it here.

S4racen
Posts: 5217
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by S4racen » Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:02 pm

Me too, i followed the instruction to send it to customercare@ableton.com so i won't send another as it'll just clog up the system....

I feel so close to it now i can taste it!

Cheers
D

k reverend
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:39 am
Location: LA
Contact:

Re: [dds] M4L does not show up in prefs

Post by k reverend » Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:08 am

I'm having a slightly similar problem. M4L is showing up in preferences, and everything indicates that i've got it authorized correctly, but I'm still getting the Max for Live Error in the help view.

Post Reply