[c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

[c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Homebelly » Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:58 am

I get this message in the device box when i try an load a max device from the browser.
I have down loaded all of the latest software from both Ableton and C74.

I have run the Max5 demo until it expired, but have removed the application from my hard drive.

I also keep getting told by OS X that the live application was down loaded from the internet, do i want to open it
when i am trying to open it. i say yes, and it hags for a long time befor opening....

I have tried a restart, repair permissions, restart. no go, same issues.
I have deleted and re-installed both applications..
still no good.

I have a bad feeling this is down to my having run the max5 demo untill it expired... :|
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

pukunui
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by pukunui » Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:14 pm

What was the older version of MaxMSP you had installed?

If you like, let's do this in support, sounds like something is installed wrong. MaxMSP's authorization state should not affect how MFL works. Try a clean install of the beta, delete the Max5 folder first manually, and if it still gives you trouble reach out to

support@cycling74.com

Cheers

-A

zoomak
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:44 pm
Location: Martigues, France (South), Europe

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by zoomak » Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:55 pm

Hello, I've got the same problem but my Max5 is not a demo version, it is a full registered .
Do I really have to delete the Max5 folder ?
I'd prefer to save it with another name so I can recover my files collected/produced during many years (extras, my own and third party patches, ... etc)
...
I also sent the bugreport to mfl-beta@ableton.com

thanks in advance for help .. I can't wait to try this amazing M4L ;-)

zoomak

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Homebelly » Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:56 pm

Cheers..
I'll get back at you tonight my time...
I have already uninstalled and re-installed.
The versions i have are down loaded from the links on the beta site.

I'll try again after work tonight.

Cheers..
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

pukunui
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by pukunui » Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:24 pm

Mr Zoomak,

Sure, rename the folder. Then install the beta fresh. Delete or move your Max 5 prefs somewhere else and tell us how you get on.

-A

zoomak
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:44 pm
Location: Martigues, France (South), Europe

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by zoomak » Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:10 pm

Thanks Andrew for a quick answer,
but I'm sorry that does not work
- I moved the Max5 folder, the old Live folder ("Live 8.0.5 OS X") from Application folder to Desktop
- I moved Max preferences and Live preferences from my /Library/Preferences
I reinstalled Max from the max5_5.1.0b8.dmg

I've also tried to uninstall the Live Pack "Max for Live" in the "Library" pane of Live Preferences
=> does not work !

I removed to trash the Folder "Live 8.1b7 OS X" from Application location
I reinstalled a new one from the ableton_live_81b7_en.dmg
removed again the Live preferences from my /Library/Preferences
restarted Live , got a message "playback most recent script" ...
a new library "BetaLibrary" was build in the /Application Support/Ableton/ folder (previously "Live8Library")
.... but still not working !


z_

Proxenos
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:10 am

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Proxenos » Fri Nov 06, 2009 6:39 am

I have the same problem.

I create a fresh new account too, but doesen´t work

I´m on a MacBook Pro Unibody 10.6.1

Latest Live & Max, NO VST & AU Plugs

I delete Novation Automap

And in the Live Prefs are no OSCulator things !

...but still not working !

?????????????????

Thanx !

rratleph
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 4:41 pm

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by rratleph » Sun Nov 08, 2009 3:38 am

Count me in on having the same issue. I've reinstalled both the Live beta and Max to no avail. Any ideas on this? Live says Max for Live is authorized and Max itself will open and run patches. Kind of confusing. I'm on a Macbook Pro running 10.6.1.

geek
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Warrington, England.

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by geek » Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:33 pm

I have the same problem on mac pro running 10.5.8
Get Your Trainers On!

rawore
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by rawore » Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:38 am

not working for me on xp sp3, no joy.

counting down 15 days

kabuki
Posts: 1893
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: ATX, fyi

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by kabuki » Mon Nov 09, 2009 4:52 am

DLed. Loaded. "registered" via the Ab web-connected registration. No Max on my list. Retried a few more times.
15" PB 2.5 Ghz, 4 Gig RAM, 750 GB HD, Live 9 still no cue points or program change messages?!?. Doesn't do shit.

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Homebelly » Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:14 am

I got sent a fix to my PM box by some one called benbracken.
If Ben says its okay i'll post the fix that worked for me here.
I would go right a head and do it, but i think it involves deleting some folders
related to licensing.. :|
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

geek
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Warrington, England.

Re: The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by geek » Mon Nov 09, 2009 3:03 pm

Somebody must have sorted this by now? Just to re cap the point of this thread, the problem is we get a message saying the max installation appears to be broken when we start the lessons.

Im running the latest live beta, the latest Max downloaded yesterday, and use a MAC with OSX 10.5.8.

Thanks,

L
Get Your Trainers On!

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Homebelly » Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:59 pm

did you actually join the beta program, or did you just down load the applications?
I think part of the issue might be that you have to register both live and max as a beta tester
and to do that i think you need to let abelton/cycling know you are beta testing.
There is a page on the abelton site where you submit your emailadress and user name.
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

geek
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Warrington, England.

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by geek » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:07 pm

I followed the instructions on the Beta Page like i imagine everybody else did! I didn't realize i had to let them know after authorization? Did you have to do this, and if so where?

Cheers

L
Get Your Trainers On!

Post Reply