[c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
geek
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Warrington, England.

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by geek » Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:40 pm

I upgraded to suite earlier and it seems max is working now after authorizing the new version. Im still not sure what Homebelly meant by letting ableton no that i want to be a tester though?

Anyway, all good for now....

L
Get Your Trainers On!

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Homebelly » Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:36 pm

geek wrote:I upgraded to suite earlier and it seems max is working now after authorizing the new version. Im still not sure what Homebelly meant by letting ableton no that i want to be a tester though?

Anyway, all good for now....

L
ignore me, i'm talking out of my ass..
i got a bit confused about some thing else.
This max 4 live is turning my brains to mush...
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

t0gg1e4u
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:28 pm

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by t0gg1e4u » Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:08 pm

I have the same problem as stated in this thread:

I am running OS X 10.6.2
Max version 5.1.0b9(41021) is installed and appears to be functional. (I do have a valid registration for max 5)
Live 8.1b9 is installed and inside the preference tab the stated location for max is correct.

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:26 pm

Hi folks,

Those of you who are having authorization issues - are you absolutely sure that you have a serial number for Max for Live added to your account?

The authorization process will fail unless you explicitly have a serial added before you attempt to authorize.

If you haven't yet authorized, please visit http://www.ableton.com/maxforlive/beta to get a Max for Live serial added to your account. After this, try authorizing again.

Best,

rawore
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by rawore » Sun Nov 15, 2009 11:04 pm

dennis...

have been to that site multiple times. just tried again. tells where to get the binaries, but no
serial number. using the same login that I use for the forum.

firefox browser. running (at various times) on xp sp3, vista sp2 (both 3.55), (ubuntu linux 3.015).

tried internet explorer.

reported my situation in the forum. got no response. reported to the beta email. got no response.
my current belief is "no one home", too busy to answer. check my post history.

even brought my second license up to full installation of sound libraries, though I had been holding off.

bob

note that I am talking about registering using the browsers on multiple systems. only trying to run on xp sp3.
paranoid about futzing my main (vista) system.

even if I am a "stupid user category" beta tester, someone should have been answering much sooner, in my opinion. my judgement comes from many years in a software company, managing compiler engineering and testing.

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Mon Nov 16, 2009 12:11 am

Hi bob,

Indeed, someone should have taken care of you sooner. I apologize for this.

I've just added a Max for Live beta authorization to your other license, so I now see available authorizations for both. It should work if you authorize again now, regardless of which license you attempt to authorize.

Please let me know if this doesn't solve the problem.

Best,

rawore
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by rawore » Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:13 am

thanks for the response. I suppose the real question would be: where did the
automatic authorization break down?

bob

this time the program tried to do the max4live setup, but crashed.

the 8.1 license did not show on the authorization page in my firefox browser, running on the xp system.

perhaps this is a browser cache problem?

the program 8.1b9 reported that sharing was turned off when I quit, then restarted, in preparation for
checking the license. Live 8.1b9 crashed after showiing a window about Max for live (it disappeared too
quickly to know exactly what it said. The message was: it had encountered a serious problem. I will email the dump and the log.txt to the beta email address.

upon restarting the problem report window came up and a file was saved. when I look under instruments or effects I
see the max label folder with the only contents a temporary file for the current project.

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:24 am

Hi bob,

Well, it sounds like we're making progress, but there are still some strange things going on.

At this stage, I would suggest uninstalling both betas, cleaning out any old installation folders, deleting browser caches, etc. and starting from scratch with a fresh install.

Please let me know how this works.

rawore
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by rawore » Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:17 am

finally authorized ok.

needed to remove the directories of 8.1b9 and then choose not to
use the old libraries (made a new location for them)

would you care to see a copy of the library now running 8.09?

regards
bob

although I did turn off the virus checker. I'll run it one more time with
the security on, to see if it makes a difference.

rawore
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by rawore » Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:43 am

the software installed max for live with zonealarm running.

now off to play!

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Mon Nov 16, 2009 7:00 am

Excellent, I'm glad we finally got it straightened out, and I apologize again for the problems.

Hope you enjoy it!

Best,

t0gg1e4u
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:28 pm

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by t0gg1e4u » Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:39 am

After I read the most recent posts since my last I found a discrepancy in my authorizationaccount.

I have a licence for Live 8 (Upgrade) + 7 instr, and Max For Live (Beta) is in the list of the instruments, but in the licence for Live 8 (Beta) + 10 instr Max for Live doesnt appear, while it is shown inside Lives (8.1b9) Licence Tab. How do I add the Max for Live Licence to Live 8 (Beta)?

rawore
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:24 pm

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by rawore » Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:12 am

only thing is, dennis, now the regular instruments are missing (since I choose not to copy
the library). as indicated in a different thread. more interested in the max component so ok
for now. using some vst's to play with max effects, etc.

bob

Dennis DeSantis
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Ableton NYC

Re: [c74] The max installation appears to be broken.

Post by Dennis DeSantis » Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:26 am

Hi rawore,

The instruments themselves shouldn't be missing, but rather their presets.

If you really want to have everything together, it is possible to change the Library path to point to your proper Library and force the Max for Live Pack to install there. But we definitely don't recommend using your regular Library with beta versions of Live.

Best,


Post Reply