How to write into the info panel?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
stefan-tiedje
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: Berlin

How to write into the info panel?

Post by stefan-tiedje » Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:06 pm

Does anybody know how to do it? I found nothing in the API overview...
I also hope there will be more in the M4L.api.xxx collection. Mainly all about the track, a device is in, is missing. (I need to know where I am to go where I need to go...) I made already a Trackname abstraction, but for example I couldn't find out how to tell in which track (index) I am. There is a M4L.api.GetSelectedTrackIndex (which I probably rarely if ever need), but no M4L.api.GetThisTrackIndex (Which I need in all my devices...)
Also the overview is opening the abstractions them self, I'd prefer real help files which seemingly don't exist (yet)...

am I dreamin' again?

Stefan
Les Ondes Mémorielles-----x---
--____-----------|----------|----
--(_|_ ----|\-----|-----()--------
-- _|_)----|-----()---------------
----------()----------TJ Shredder
http://tjshredder.wordpress.com/

LOFA
Posts: 3364
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:10 pm

Re: How to write into the info panel?

Post by LOFA » Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:17 pm

If you are dreaming, it is a shared dream.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14691
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: How to write into the info panel?

Post by hoffman2k » Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:39 pm

You gotta use the this_device call to get the track id of which you can call the path.

Code: Select all

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
550.3oc0XFsaaBCEF9Z3ovhqyP1.Nj161dMlphb.uD2A1QXm1zV028hOP5Rx
BD2kFJ6FGww1576O+eNfxK9dAKTa45.zsneh77dw2yCBYC309rWPIaaVASCK
KPxeTs39fIMSY3aMP3BEKeAStb2DxMkpMlBtA1EoMZSHySq4MoL.1B5t1oWy
LYqDxkyq3YllUjFhmfhrCTpcjLKD+95E4Ptq0y2hh1k4eojFIqDxPv2qDrBz
OTE46ILg7XcY2iV7LrGBNDai9puucXxkwECZAp3zPIpWnLAEzKXn.THwXfMy
BocyFR5WLaJ4ZMaI+ufS8wZEpP7.etlaPlJV1u0H7GzB0KkhiAJcSi2gzvro
cfoo+KXJ5+cKTRhCNnjwY0UU8AmixXRkTjwJlulUwklOHqbsTCOC9IhzWenz
wInrEYg0SXOSehkWsjIsoIzM8AF5WbwUW8fVV24wMCzkfnosMfH80.JYb1+4
p5clkddqCgLhAC7NLyJgddN+AQF+zHJt2lOmqATyGAEueWntP0H8M80UYVPc
E58PgRJJt22rGekLPPxp8Axi+FZPu13GxJsZSU1tSWaWQzejbNWaDRlQnj6s
F62kfHuunUh7bNLOtMRoHesRHMsZ.c2Iu3bURjCxVGRJ4.ceskThKThLnR5n
zcZMkNrRJ1AIQGVIk3hYhLr9aWbSCq+N0E+8.alRc3liNrWbNgo3AES1+1gy
qoKPR0O7p+a.UC0ENB
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

stefan-tiedje
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: How to write into the info panel?

Post by stefan-tiedje » Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:25 pm

Thanks a lot, works like a charm...

Stefan
Les Ondes Mémorielles-----x---
--____-----------|----------|----
--(_|_ ----|\-----|-----()--------
-- _|_)----|-----()---------------
----------()----------TJ Shredder
http://tjshredder.wordpress.com/

benbracken
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:07 pm

Re: How to write into the info panel?

Post by benbracken » Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:15 am

To my knowledge, you cannot change the main device info view text, but you can create the text for what shows up when you mouse over most objects by setting the @annotation attribute.

-Ben

stefan-tiedje
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:50 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: How to write into the info panel?

Post by stefan-tiedje » Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:42 am

Then I certainly have to extend my dreamin'...
This is a feature request and strange for me that it doesn't seem to be part of the API.
Every other device (except vsts) is using it intensively. We need a live.info obviously to make our devices consistent with the look and feel of Live...
Les Ondes Mémorielles-----x---
--____-----------|----------|----
--(_|_ ----|\-----|-----()--------
-- _|_)----|-----()---------------
----------()----------TJ Shredder
http://tjshredder.wordpress.com/

steff3
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:16 am

Re: How to write into the info panel?

Post by steff3 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:27 am

Well,

I was working on a little device which I could not do due to bugs, but I think I just used the patch inspector to have the info for the device ...

All this beta expiring stuff is plain odd and stupid IMHO. It is in my own interest to download the newest beta, so why do that ....

So I am waiting for the release without stupid expiration and hope they fixed the bug for the release ...

best

Post Reply