Should I buy Max AND MaxFor Live for $350?

Learn about building and using Max for Live devices.
Zeddy

Should I buy Max AND MaxFor Live for $350?

Post by Zeddy » Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:11 am

I am currently a student and am able to purchase a full suite of Max/MSP and Jitter for $250. Then I can upgrade to MaxForLive for another $100, taking the total price to $350, which is just $50 more than buying MaxForLive on its own. I'm really only really wanting to use MaxForLive currently and try out patches other people have made..... I probably wont really get into making my own patches for quite awhile. Would it be a smart investment or is M4L all anyone really needs right now.

dtlj

Re: Should I buy Max AND MaxFor Live for $350?

Post by dtlj » Sat Jan 23, 2010 7:06 am

well

if you buy maxforlive, anything you make in it you can open up in maxruntime(free)
so even though a patch you are working on in live wont necessarily work in live, it will work in runtime, even msp/jitter patches, so i hear

it sucks because you cant get the instant test of your patch but it does cut the price down a little

ps
all credit to zalo, i dont actually have m4l

LOFA

Post by LOFA » Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:35 pm

Yes. You should. Do not even consider any other options.

prebentious

Post by prebentious » Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:29 pm

LOFA wrote:Yes. You should.
+1

pid

Post by pid » Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:19 am

as opposed to the other posters, lofa and prebentious know what they are talking about, and so do i. you will kick yourself in the future if you do not take advantage of the situation you are in now and get the whole caboodle.
3dot... wrote: in short.. we live in disappointing times..

LOFA

Post by LOFA » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:08 pm

ShelLuser wrote:Funny how people who are quick to label themselves as "knowing better" usually never bother to elaborate on their opinion thus resulting in a post like "yes, because I say so"...