Kinda of Automapping for MIDI controllers?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
Gravis
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:47 am

Kinda of Automapping for MIDI controllers?

Post by Gravis » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:54 am

Hi guys, i've had a search, read a bunch of different options but can't find anything obvious for my solution.

I have 12 tracks, each with a beat repeat on it and a MIDI controller that has an endless rotary controller on it.

I would like to be able to have that knob on the controller change the interval on the beat repeat but ONLY for the currently selected track, I do NOT want it to change the value on ALL beat repeats on all channels.

Right now i can only assign it to one beat repeat interval knob, OR, if i assign it to all of them then they all change at the same time

I was wondering if there's an already existing solution or I'll have to make a patch using Max4Live. Seems like I'd do something along the lines of ....

1: Get currently selected track
2: IF track has beat repeat device THEN
get interval parameter and increase by 1 'step'

i haven't actually played around with getting MIDI information from a controller and doing something with it in Max4Live. Is it a LOT of effort or something that is very simple?

Cheers
iMac G5 2.16 | Echo AudioFire12 | Xone 92 | Live 8 + M4L | Trigger Finger | Monome 256 | Kenton Killamix Mini | Truth 3031A

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Kinda of Automapping for MIDI controllers?

Post by julienb » Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:38 pm

Gravis wrote:Hi guys, i've had a search, read a bunch of different options but can't find anything obvious for my solution.

I have 12 tracks, each with a beat repeat on it and a MIDI controller that has an endless rotary controller on it.

I would like to be able to have that knob on the controller change the interval on the beat repeat but ONLY for the currently selected track, I do NOT want it to change the value on ALL beat repeats on all channels.

Right now i can only assign it to one beat repeat interval knob, OR, if i assign it to all of them then they all change at the same time

I was wondering if there's an already existing solution or I'll have to make a patch using Max4Live. Seems like I'd do something along the lines of ....

1: Get currently selected track
2: IF track has beat repeat device THEN
get interval parameter and increase by 1 'step'

i haven't actually played around with getting MIDI information from a controller and doing something with it in Max4Live. Is it a LOT of effort or something that is very simple?

Cheers
it is quiet easy to do.
did you try patching ?
I'm sorry, I cannot do this for you cause of time but I can help a bit via email if you need it

Gravis
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:47 am

Re: Kinda of Automapping for MIDI controllers?

Post by Gravis » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:18 pm

Hi Julien

Ok, so i have what i need kind of to make this all work, however im stumbling on something fundamental to max4live. I've created the path which takes in a MIDI message (using the ctlin object) and works out if its the correct knob on the hardware controller then applies the value (it controls a parameter on a beat repeat, yay).

However, i save the set, close live and come back to it, load the set up then turn the hardware controller knob as before, Live recognises that a MIDI message is being sent, but even when im looking at my patch, nothing changes? im missing something to do with when sets load etc?

What's stranger is that i create a new patch and simply add a ctlin object to it, and that picks up the MIDI messages just fine. So what the hell is wrong with my patch? :(

Cheers

p.s how do i add my patch onto here so i can give it to you to try out? I've seen people do big encrypted dumps of their patches but im not sure how.
iMac G5 2.16 | Echo AudioFire12 | Xone 92 | Live 8 + M4L | Trigger Finger | Monome 256 | Kenton Killamix Mini | Truth 3031A

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Kinda of Automapping for MIDI controllers?

Post by julienb » Thu Apr 22, 2010 8:37 am

Gravis wrote:Hi Julien

Ok, so i have what i need kind of to make this all work, however im stumbling on something fundamental to max4live. I've created the path which takes in a MIDI message (using the ctlin object) and works out if its the correct knob on the hardware controller then applies the value (it controls a parameter on a beat repeat, yay).

However, i save the set, close live and come back to it, load the set up then turn the hardware controller knob as before, Live recognises that a MIDI message is being sent, but even when im looking at my patch, nothing changes? im missing something to do with when sets load etc?

What's stranger is that i create a new patch and simply add a ctlin object to it, and that picks up the MIDI messages just fine. So what the hell is wrong with my patch? :(

Cheers

p.s how do i add my patch onto here so i can give it to you to try out? I've seen people do big encrypted dumps of their patches but im not sure how.

- check about limitations of max in Live (and check about this workaround too)
- select the whole patch you need to copy, go to edit menu & choose copy compressed & paste it here

Gravis
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 4:47 am

Re: Kinda of Automapping for MIDI controllers?

Post by Gravis » Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:26 pm

Where do i find this limitations bit? online, got a link?

and as for my patch ...

The idea is that this will control the 'interval' on a beat repeat on track 0

Let me know what u think and why i might be having problems :)

Cheers mate

Code: Select all

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
958.3ocyXlraaCCDF9r8SAgN6ZPRsWfbnMEEHG5SPQPfhDiMajnLjnSbZP5y
d4hk2hrVroUxEKSJJp+4SyLbHec7Hq6yWQJs.eE7avnQuNdzHUWxNFst8Hqr
nUwoQkpgYwHOme+erlnuEmrhq5NMOJ49H1rparHhGOmxlcWAIlqmeOuovI.a
HTdw0U9KJXJDb65G4gbFmEkQTy22JnQofummlTMirkYTVJgqjAZcmzD0nEJ5
K11V6LQkz+plHj7ssYBxWxObFzcweYAQqRKkU.tUd22FOV9yjKNZbTnA4itP
nA+Qil37rLBi+N17SZQIGTjyiJdAjy.ORSSixnqZfUH+.EebzXBaKufgMRqN
CJTsfBM0MzEE3WKsfmhmxxr6IEMXjgRixQYn1XCZfA829vGyafJ+ddVwKsQA
+otS.AJ6210fT.47oBC0m1HlmRYM.GbniN.P4p3YP7D1e5X2Bc14xkwUQmS.
4ZdekOUgLGKO5ut4G2.tddDiQRaZcFUxRGU1k.jAoDdfRbdL6+ZwasHOE7TT
5RRS.vW6mnBW7CMIAB+TPfTRAn0fE8RmA57GPit.JbXnvrxmoByB2T9Q8xmn
P0WYOclAucrRUxnsVwdlFtlOv9V8KXWFoazUDt5J.pAC1FtagQ1Nm5m05r8S
HIHpojfmDVxHkkQyHuiKhAA7a.LtpfdLVswCak6.x6DqttN3.MS00FFJTF.1
TYzPMTTqBX6aZnfB+HgxCo4h4u8hmvthPFGHDFJVMPWm8tLPLmzLw7HdD+MB
+L2KlasbwaZHN.5zyxIDlYztETTIaJqR1BdavMxRehLsfjkyI+qwRwbkdTtS
cgdPGrfrdlLUTs7CeD+JnAinDl5bfjA2UR3.dQT7ik.HHg7DMlH+2hnBgIwI
Ek.b6mCBNPAHDV5Fh5vV96Jgb5EgLbjWStNR.1NWDrnhKtlrPdb+7brabY82
sztRfByjc3oooLTY+6Csx7kEwUS457BfslYBojSYQbZNamwf2aLyoIID0sga
B7SVjKVdsrpf.aYnHNDW4cstwQ9x1Uo5zEo1SsdlR5fW2wwGZ3jj+dut5kj6
vRIXGnTOkjHpU5io2YYkGmr0YpUYADlVqnvKiVkkG2t2meOidQpi+BEnSB5t
s0YpV6tDqb.9aUshT0RXB0GJa3lFCgVOvsteZcs+qIzpcGzpyfFvG1U+RzfJ
o1xJhb5enxlyyY6+G.3gBNokjQHzZoV0X.nJNXv88vsHo9ROanDXNpsthzGy
acMBpF0AknM9sw+GqO4mfA
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>
iMac G5 2.16 | Echo AudioFire12 | Xone 92 | Live 8 + M4L | Trigger Finger | Monome 256 | Kenton Killamix Mini | Truth 3031A

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Kinda of Automapping for MIDI controllers?

Post by julienb » Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:57 pm

Gravis wrote:Where do i find this limitations bit? online, got a link?

and as for my patch ...

The idea is that this will control the 'interval' on a beat repeat on track 0

Let me know what u think and why i might be having problems :)

Cheers mate

Code: Select all

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
958.3ocyXlraaCCDF9r8SAgN6ZPRsWfbnMEEHG5SPQPfhDiMajnLjnSbZP5y
d4hk2hrVroUxEKSJJp+4SyLbHec7Hq6yWQJs.eE7avnQuNdzHUWxNFst8Hqr
nUwoQkpgYwHOme+erlnuEmrhq5NMOJ49H1rparHhGOmxlcWAIlqmeOuovI.a
HTdw0U9KJXJDb65G4gbFmEkQTy22JnQofummlTMirkYTVJgqjAZcmzD0nEJ5
K11V6LQkz+plHj7ssYBxWxObFzcweYAQqRKkU.tUd22FOV9yjKNZbTnA4itP
nA+Qil37rLBi+N17SZQIGTjyiJdAjy.ORSSixnqZfUH+.EebzXBaKufgMRqN
CJTsfBM0MzEE3WKsfmhmxxr6IEMXjgRixQYn1XCZfA829vGyafJ+ddVwKsQA
+otS.AJ6210fT.47oBC0m1HlmRYM.GbniN.P4p3YP7D1e5X2Bc14xkwUQmS.
4ZdekOUgLGKO5ut4G2.tddDiQRaZcFUxRGU1k.jAoDdfRbdL6+ZwasHOE7TT
5RRS.vW6mnBW7CMIAB+TPfTRAn0fE8RmA57GPit.JbXnvrxmoByB2T9Q8xmn
P0WYOclAucrRUxnsVwdlFtlOv9V8KXWFoazUDt5J.pAC1FtagQ1Nm5m05r8S
HIHpojfmDVxHkkQyHuiKhAA7a.LtpfdLVswCak6.x6DqttN3.MS00FFJTF.1
TYzPMTTqBX6aZnfB+HgxCo4h4u8hmvthPFGHDFJVMPWm8tLPLmzLw7HdD+MB
+L2KlasbwaZHN.5zyxIDlYztETTIaJqR1BdavMxRehLsfjkyI+qwRwbkdTtS
cgdPGrfrdlLUTs7CeD+JnAinDl5bfjA2UR3.dQT7ik.HHg7DMlH+2hnBgIwI
Ek.b6mCBNPAHDV5Fh5vV96Jgb5EgLbjWStNR.1NWDrnhKtlrPdb+7brabY82
sztRfByjc3oooLTY+6Csx7kEwUS457BfslYBojSYQbZNamwf2aLyoIID0sga
B7SVjKVdsrpf.aYnHNDW4cstwQ9x1Uo5zEo1SsdlR5fW2wwGZ3jj+dut5kj6
vRIXGnTOkjHpU5io2YYkGmr0YpUYADlVqnvKiVkkG2t2meOidQpi+BEnSB5t
s0YpV6tDqb.9aUshT0RXB0GJa3lFCgVOvsteZcs+qIzpcGzpyfFvG1U+RzfJ
o1xJhb5enxlyyY6+G.3gBNokjQHzZoV0X.nJNXv88vsHo9ROanDXNpsthzGy
acMBpF0AknM9sw+GqO4mfA
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

I'd more make that:

Code: Select all

----------begin_max5_patcher----------
813.3ocwWttaaBCFF92TodOXwuyhrMmmZk1VuLllhb.2FuA1QfSa5p1t1mO.
IzLfQxf1JUbvGe8ies8Gub8UNtqE6oUtfOB9Jvw4EUNNl7z43zjgiaAYeZNo
xTQ2TQQAkKcWTWnjtWZJ3latATQyooRffm+Lnfkw.2cGnfVUQdfVAdhI2.z4
v2UrlVd6s.zgdImwoohcbSWgaxUUQFOmJMiLpI26EbImTPMi5mKYjb2VMPrS
1zBXS1rLScEq+9G7ica2OUreZ5GDZYPR.JNpovsDY5FF+gUkpIjkPHXDbIbA
vKJQmfgdl2TOAeyzpec8U5TUxhQiSN8Ikr9aZtiukj9C.D.cOWZ.9hHOqGjf
6BIQGprslxm2RsSYWldk1l.9VmfSij9YVRLRCIeTnNIDqehhmEho8aL9jRKT
WzJbXZcYXJv23kBLFLe3Lio5soeJUl2ZO3TPr3tHVP+DSatZ9ukWqyj+KxZ2
yhPdKClMzlKHYqI7GlcOHxqehZDvEgpXKipQUPvDXBqO6uCWHYOHpaNgmNN4
kLfy6xrSZfb37LOqoJblXDi22o+SHi7gSMip8QMLJZBXz84B0L4fPUjfUndW
eG+QoLa2Oh5mPJgQLGPMz1tvkI3Xn+gXKTSsF4GMHIQPr4zK+.UPF9PHLYAH
xbGJNbdNAi8HcYIsPHo+9rcdmSTX3tiBCOrwJITe5cf9PbXHzGqnQnMTLMMZ
ZYE4QZ1J0vnZ3JhTVxVuSZCy04HPTwbRpjLdFcu0Sa9yVVMRmdzplTa.lG5W
WUQk.YoJNuJUfdYzGYoT8u1RJUfURKq.X2IJVXutVE7GwEy83owi4VW+3DyJ
ERsR4ASNtTcBcsig4i.N8qQLcttfSXdkXWYZiXahhEfNp1Lpd0kHYBd6Zo1K
CZ4U1vxxn7WYSUAHsUnh2nVICsKa7hSEBD.+OEWz6i3Be8v1i3BdeDm+nDG9
0K9uUhCMZwcVjCA8Lwo5Ga9RfDXnc2Db3C8Gst0wEMBce16URvQFY6YBR5vr
vKdhzsNVk4P2wwwypt0wqOBcCuPc6kXNZs8augx9Tyz3wMz5tqMMvtuY35qT
I+ggzfRH
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------

I don't know if it solves the problem, cause I didn't understand it..

Post Reply