is this possible?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

is this possible?

Post by peeddrroo » Wed May 05, 2010 4:45 pm

i don't have m4l yet. can someone confirm that this is achievable:
i'd like to have a clip playing a bass pattern, and have it "bypassed" as soon as i play a note on my keyboard.
for instance i could have the midi instrument on track 1 with monitor set to "In" and the clip playing on track 2 with its output to track 1, and as soon as any midi note is received from my keyboard, track 2 is muted.
i guess this is fairly easy to do. confirmed?

if anyone has any idea on a way to do this without m4l, i'll take it too!

thanks for your help.

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: is this possible?

Post by julienb » Wed May 05, 2010 5:00 pm

peeddrroo wrote:i don't have m4l yet. can someone confirm that this is achievable:
i'd like to have a clip playing a bass pattern, and have it "bypassed" as soon as i play a note on my keyboard.
for instance i could have the midi instrument on track 1 with monitor set to "In" and the clip playing on track 2 with its output to track 1, and as soon as any midi note is received from my keyboard, track 2 is muted.
i guess this is fairly easy to do. confirmed?

if anyone has any idea on a way to do this without m4l, i'll take it too!

thanks for your help.
there are many ways to do that with m4L.

hyaahyaa
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:35 am

Re: is this possible?

Post by hyaahyaa » Thu May 06, 2010 6:16 am

this is pretty easy to do with M4L, and I don't know of any way to do it without M4L.

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: is this possible?

Post by julienb » Thu May 06, 2010 6:37 am

I didnt precise it but it could be done with only one track..
m4L is the tool to have always in your bag :-)

zlatko
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:34 pm

Re: is this possible?

Post by zlatko » Thu May 06, 2010 2:50 pm

you can do this with a sidechained gate as well...
Who else has been sick of 4/4 for the last 10 years ??

www.zlatko.hu

julienb
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 1:15 pm
Contact:

Re: is this possible?

Post by julienb » Thu May 06, 2010 2:57 pm

zlatko wrote:you can do this with a sidechained gate as well...
+1

it is a full audio way and it works fine (right?)
the other ways are more about data interface etc.

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Re: is this possible?

Post by peeddrroo » Thu May 06, 2010 3:57 pm

julienb wrote:
zlatko wrote:you can do this with a sidechained gate as well...
+1

it is a full audio way and it works fine (right?)
the other ways are more about data interface etc.

thanks guys for the input.
i didn't think of the sidechained gate, that's a good idea!

hoffman2k
Posts: 14691
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: is this possible?

Post by hoffman2k » Thu May 06, 2010 4:28 pm

There's a MIDI solution too, though it would require the free Max runtime to run.
Basically it would be a patch that listen for midi input and if any notes are playing its sets Monitor to "In" on the MIDI track.

Post Reply