ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
phattline
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:54 pm

ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by phattline » Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:36 pm

Hi, I have a problem with: ddg.mono

I need it for my analog monosynth... but when I input polyphonic notes in the ddg.mono I get this out:
Image
My synth (spectral audio neptune 2) dont eat this... because sometimes the Synthenvelpe get triggert by this short polyphonic notes.... like U see in the picture, this short polyponic note peaks - send out a not off message...so my my synth envelopes get SHORT!!!

any ideas?
here is the patch.:
<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
1168.3oc0Y97iahCEG+bpT+evJZusSivlP.p5gcWsG1QZama6kpUib.Sh2B1
HvY1oa09+d8OBDRhIPml.zCAP1Xy22G+7yO67kW+pYyWyelTNG7VvGAyl8EY
IyzkoJYVUAylmgeNJEWpew4YjxR7Fx761Wof7rPWg7MDkBRdcMzXc470+yaf
g0kx1kQYoDgt2PUklvYBFNinawuVPwoMa.emnpEvphywhnsT1lGKHQBiIffK
W3bGHXk5pmu5JLXgC3uqZioeDeNmXZv74GpSofR5+oqAhV3nK9+e8qT2k2t6
J.HxFrfaCOHmADOqbUWWtbpgmBhnftwJdfCHdV5LMwSTJAWXkNnAjNP8bK2v
QhNLx+JM4ygSdAkIrF3IvNbfsCGvuwSiagPNWfPg6C3n8ebcOmPGQAma.E1w
xwQexFFVcUo.5BTP6e.cMgf6iahdfyba.QUFMlJkh04SKGLWFnCbgimGJLPh
Ij+BuUHGeWYzG+Qv6QgjRRpTbfegwED.NM0Jetp3InSeIGyMn6Buti4b2geM
brrdafQKkYCldWUXB6BllTiLKw0i4kCHh9Y.zFeB9lWa6kxGD5.ZbQ8vWafA
TJGGqRN.bw7rGL2I+.MnzWC+dR0dfitCGtn6lTkTg3GwH5I7hLrcR3ZmD92n
XOHu.S77IXzGZB3mnPv6dGvAH1RXf0Xl0sh3Obwq0dLn8q94L0lh0VllKGr.
1FmJCX7BmfQfRR2Ut0FibG1E8Q9Z534M8l2kWPxIrXPFOlXkTNCFpLq+uRGb
xerbmRoOQVHvqq0+S3hZy682+62+l2+vGdvZV4ckIoD0kDl.KnbVSy1rsdsC
h9Qe2lVcNMRrqn5LBOT9wb0satd3CHStpOovmHS3oouXS8exXYgjPBRwiDFd
cJ4nJKwOQheDKDEz06DjCOUteXnZbPg5zcDdRU40Uz7KjIGsLGhgJri0WfpU
mi8pqrSjsJoLpP5.2vLr1Gka4Eh1cJNVN73tTbJms4an2tn4kRYeR0WG44cV
Wnlq2lwQYIbsRrJfcRBU1d07hXRQqccLI4B0VlSHwozLsxsacpjtKufxehVR
uz.GQNoYuS9ebO3CxsXq7y+yGLOV6oebadNmyHLwEjElI2stYZc83X6zS748
Jb+KrOJ0gGtlg2ii2rHiyrdl2gW0DE59HoLaXYBbjTQ7rLRiSqrlV+k0c.64
9xBraxeD5oC+hzlMBd51OtRGiERyVTf4qDb92p0f2JQjfiHmUXMpcuEnVEmC
z1RodvWFwMtVlzr7Q12u2UZmkFPGhN7+4b7m56f2m6Za5VYtIry9uB0ZSUwI
iBk7cEQUSm1evDfF5KlTJnrZ48w5PBMeosz3XB6HVDwS4ElV3Tm2R0SGZoL6
6btb5acZKs6A0aKXYer.0dp6vDtEZC0GssZzjleWRCsbTzlxeC1k17GMo04H
5DlZKO9kFHoo1t3O3gYT6iqaSHXTF4C5izNcLnG30Y3v6oAnawFFE71KoAGm
I89SWrACuNS5uIylclvZCNg0FZ5psdEfFMJRaUeVZNbTVZd0vLfpJPd6qKDR
JMB
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>
Last edited by phattline on Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by zalo » Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:10 pm

i was just trying something like this the other day, ddg.mono is a bad external, i can break it very quickly in tests

we need to figure out a way to do this without that external, i have been searching and testing, i will report back with my findings soon

Gregory Taylor
Posts: 268
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by Gregory Taylor » Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:20 pm

Um... as the name of the object pretty clearly indicates, it's created to handle monophonic synths. Why would you expect it to work with polyphony? It's a completely different case.

phattline
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by phattline » Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:07 pm

no its a monophonic synth:
Image

stringtapper
Posts: 6272
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by stringtapper » Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:22 pm

phattline wrote:I need it for my analog monosynth... but when I input polyphonic notes in the ddg.mono I get this out:
So… don't "input polyphonic notes"…? :?
Unsound Designer

phattline
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by phattline » Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:23 pm

this is a workaround... but I am not happy with it....
it can take the real LO-notes...but not the HI-notes...for Hi-notes it alwasy takes the next higher note to the lowest.... so when you play 6x polyphonic it dont takes the higest note... this is maybe ok for basslines... but it would be nice if there where a external out there that handle that operations in better timing and with REAL HI-Notes.

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
1745.3oc6btriaaCEFd8Df7NPXzc0wfj5dABPaQWz.zjrqaRKBjkn8vFYJCI
5Iyzf9tWRpKVRV1ldLchkhQvXIPZQdNje7mWNx4Ku7E2MYd5ij7IfeB7Avc2
8EQJ2oRSlxcUIb2jUgOFkDlq9hSXjOmN+elLsLON4QtJcNXNfVmLcIKMiDkP
i9jLWXU5KRYbV3Jh5Q9kLZXB3WSSh29bwpbD0vqvA0odOMNlvZUPx5MJMIMq
v5gyfSkefBbg9p677ssPSAnYPveW8PrMqnrDBW4InpTWmQxILdHmlx9nvn4s
KxsersflurUcG.C7g1S68ttFP5FdkEfa1prHLhrSSUN8eUIhjlPk4FxitmxV
1vTQt9RSDCsjWrvybD0qeyJtoO1pVJLG9SqIEE0j4grkSlBlPYhBeqCGF8ok
YoaXwsd5VsBNdXG6.ou6hbb8cU2436iqZETOz+8xWHuJtL8rYNyxa9WVdC+M
m2Pll2r8OedaHvYwjjvm.NPihad2vsSD2vtxKNJ68rj2tV3sUj77vkjcANeH
.0.PVlEFSILdKarrSBWYl1Pq.LVZb1ByEptq7lVcRlfcQCF18ncdWX1MvtfV
wMPW2mG5ter03BdKC4DSJ1gtI1cphcd3yet0q+Evs.7CTD30uF.A76IL.BPR
xI.iNSKxcruQBSCeHej5BJ3blp8pm93fDPhIIsa6XUWPyuXlPajAD4lN.PsM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.emhniLWm1fEoE86kYVNE71aL4Z+x+L
UnAAvFcmFW3WBDqQ2NMfERoH6QcTUkaqMmjHbdvOKj4HfvDiFFBj8XeGt9lM
JqEm1KBYc1ggn7uFAAq2KW6D57MwwOArLITZM10BsLKS5UbBvm0qxYMRdsya
BCRHChL7zuX3XWGzvLW0qyDB+cA0IegS.P4+L6p9BtsruSB6B7MfT2UOrICb
qqYAM7X+DlsMKn4nz07Qm6ALuyZ5Rn4CjnoklsJjazekNW3E14M51jawYZhf
vwd7zj.GkYTIO3sX2dZ6hn7EF36.RSX3FUWqGRCMlHMnIk0bbvABO2x0cliK
F5YInNuSf5tDXUQ0pd8359K3W4EUg9oArkmtIKpB7q9YYAZ3.wjbNkUa+eX6
A8BvGL1mmdH.owqSEi8pCr59Gzns2H+OLfi6M3N97Uq2nUei7Gs9Pvaj+Frz
vaBFH8MR6DoUeCZ.3M9ZoBLPF23pSWSWb7Z0YziyPiMmYHLnAo8flAf23LlV
GPf1Ny.nmQcL+G2cFHSb5niDv.Qatnm4ndiy.wazSB.eZdSfz5sKdIBgA988
xjcwbFjVR.CftF8Vd1PgyvZsQfAx9.rtDCZ9l00n0RZ55yWs8MZInMT19rsd
qoYvPZZoBXMj7FjNdCZn3MXc7lAvdAzSfFMPV9rkdKqIXXPZV5vYEdy.fzPZ
sOstB4Wup.5sK5t6N8pdBTOiu8FWaOn6d+cxbLGQlf3x+CvtnmZE
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

phattline
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by phattline » Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:33 pm

stringtapper wrote:
phattline wrote:I need it for my analog monosynth... but when I input polyphonic notes in the ddg.mono I get this out:
So… don't "input polyphonic notes"…? :?
I dont have monophonic notes... I only have polyphonic notes.
If I had monophonic notes, I wouldnt need a external like ddg.mono :wink:

I have a polyphonic sequencer, that I programm in Realtime, because of Performance tasks (Live-Jam) - I dont have the time to programm EXTRA for the bassline a own sequencer...its not possible - and its nonsens... so the bassliner, should get the lowest or higest notes only - and all is ok! (e.g. clavia nord rack III has this feature built in...)

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by zalo » Mon Nov 01, 2010 7:44 pm

phattline wrote:this is a workaround...
there is a better way, i know it, i just cant get it to work yet

also for future reference

[if $i1 == 0 then 1 else 0] is the same thing as [== 0], read the help file on ==, very helpful

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by zalo » Mon Nov 01, 2010 8:03 pm

think i figured it out, you test it out and see if it works for you


----------begin_max5_patcher----------
1283.3ocyY00iahCE84L+JPQ8sMMx1XyGqTeXq1G1QZame.UUiHfSh2Rri.m
Ym1p9eew1PFBAHNax3IODBX7GGe78dtWa94cSltP7Lsbp2u68EuIS94cSlnK
RUvj5mmLcSxyo4Ik5pMkS+Wwh+Y5Lyqjzmk5hyEIYankkdvlWw2sgwyoRcyf
uTnXmraoKEbIOYCU2S+QAKI26ih7rldZahLcMiu5wBZpzfUHDMGLyCFntFPz
2GMG3805lvxz8UEReeneS+XFY422RMcxzo6quBAkreneADLGnJ8W2cm5xLKI
F0rOYE8HlYiHi58t9oEzqDs.vp+HvFNpWdA4FdY.CleyyoTRDPc0GMmzwRYw
pTQtnvTYv7XPbD.Oq26f8SjQCxiLt7EpTMyOXn.p9F.iC.Q56Biv9vCGkCpO
IDQvwppF.IAQA56HQQnNP6JrlkydhNWlrnYl8TRwdV+S2+m2+9O8vmeXOoWP
KobYhjI3sH9.8LDq8MIZ6wP+VnrW4gjTY0H2YIw148VVpbWQiZV6Apkgj+Is
TvFbqUV7ai3FvI3GZw.CCvgZ6DbL.oWJIl6fCamY+hY5txEhhLZw4Z7zdcoM
I2xzMHbXMfYleKqT1aYEuMonxPPRKdjxSVjSa2wCXgWe4.x33IDJDSfpp52P
L3tDXGhOZOwEgCADcahhBPgjCaXYxSzrGSjxB1hcR5K2UV6AT6BnLyy2QEKa
Jto71y5cblrT9cyDGL63JroxQRSJnv48+dld0.z6aaV.P87NV0PWI30h36qG
JWKJjC5r1oCehUxFoupBcchYSBmKp872Ol8MT4B9J6.kZLGigxY7uo5o15FG
0AUgbGZNw3KECBSsY4PsTuzOXSK2RoY4rMCAqRIca4PcMsRjp1u6ut26yBIU
4582OXtswR9vl77VAmx0ZWPiHesLeyeWm3z+H2ilxxKOqv0n+2gqQXStblDX
PikXW.dbwKGjDibckF6ZGkISM0TGWMdLpgD71lyKvMo1ghzjfePqb6FHaWBz
MLhNyopfKxpXt8j7TOu9L1mTebPrwGw7GBzbsON.GaAGLV.9WuHovQCkdCDH
83EtahPom.VmUvTvsYvTvEDLUrboJTfJ+WmDC8p5YWqtYkm8v6AcQBeU0r+5
Ey6CevyQx60RaAQCr081DPfcaB+0KUfz0UDM8LV58u33dFhwrS0AIFxnIIoH
mYNiiVluqbsSRiLPmqDxWaA4iGkgviZ53N1oR9mx3NwBhXrYpOviwMff1POt
ik1vxXUH4LnIvEZE4aNMUb3Xzj+dqnW2o9RQwlj9m8gWY82ZeHyImBAfwl9H
xas961jzu4AbTnoZpw3FQFkYBdSOk8rrUy2H3BmH5VqpX1NFYzMn5ein4pbo
Xbm7IqLriwaBOpIC7h8kz0oZyA7teaOMtTkeHUUJ1Uj1LHMezLuW.WFsTx36
OI4u7xoG2pRqYYYTdaE2J1cqnBy6OR9dW3rFSHKvjuSgjJ33sHjfV.Inyfju
EHRkE14.IHfn2OPLV8WTz9GtBX8TKnpbpc3JpUzWfygzoXIhagTjEPpiBxqM
j5nO1OlhNAjN2u520cJzYQbf3.X2RqXa0SbnpqM7j57WcIlhswKEddXBAfJo
VDBZ1fc7wOAQ04AFt+oK0JDd6oJiswJLvowY6XyOLjbHKYirrq8UI1foHmhI
jMXx2s7jUNcP2J8aAjPWhNP0C+5t+CDRCdlD
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------

phattline
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by phattline » Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:12 pm

yes for me your patch works... no clicks anymore, and also the HI/LO function works correct...

Thankz! I think i will use your modification (thresh object...) also for other midi efx....
I have a patch that collect the played notes, and when I press a button it holds them and retrigger them by each new note (without changing the notes/chords) --- a very sinfull tool for Jamin.... this patch also makes clicks.....maybe thresh is the way to go...

also thankz for the tip for the IF function... a year ago I dont even know that a IF function exist :arrow: haha max oh my god...

phattline
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by phattline » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:43 pm

@ Zalo
I have uploaded your Edit here
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/device.php?id=437

hope this is ok!?

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by zalo » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:25 am

thats cool, remember that they need to have that external installed, unless you froze it or packaged it or whatever it is you do to include the used externals you will need to give a link to the website to download it

phattline
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by phattline » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:39 pm

ddg.mono is includet with max since max 5.1 or so... so everone how use MAX4LIVE have that... i guess...

zalo
Posts: 999
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:10 pm

Re: ddg.mono - put out polyphonic note "peaks"

Post by zalo » Wed Nov 03, 2010 3:42 pm

i had to download it to use it, but then after i did it said i had multiple copies of it, wierd

good to know

Post Reply