Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by SBRK » Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:25 pm

I'm looking for a Max For Live device that could provide me with 8 or more macros, assignable to anything in the set (not just rack macros), with different presets to change the parameters used during the set, and bi-directional, to have the value changing if the program of a synth change for example.
Does such a thing exist ? Everything I tried had some of these features but not all of what I wanted...

The idea would be to have these macros mapped to 8 knobs, so I can play on different values for each track, without having to touch anything, so I can concentrate on other stuff.


SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by SBRK » Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:07 pm

Hmm... I'm not sure I get how it works. I didn't manage to get it to control something else.

EDIT :
No, it's not what I'm looking for. This controls 4 parameters at once, I want to be able to control one of the 4 parameters with each preset. And I can't control the OSC slider with a knob from my APC
Last edited by SBRK on Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by hoffman2k » Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:12 pm

I have a device called "Sixteen Macros" that does this.
An update that allows access to devices inside Racks will be added once Live 8.2.2 is released.

http://maxforlive.com/library/index.php ... mit=Search

SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by SBRK » Sat Feb 12, 2011 10:20 pm

hoffman2k wrote:I have a device called "Sixteen Macros" that does this.
An update that allows access to devices inside Racks will be added once Live 8.2.2 is released.

http://maxforlive.com/library/index.php ... mit=Search
I tried that one. It's not bidirectional and doesn't have presets.

This one would be perfect :
http://www.maxforlive.com/images/screen ... jpg&id=339

But I can only assign rack macros...

EDIT : To be more understandable, here's a schema of what I want :

Code: Select all

Synth 1 parameters :
- LPF cutoff
- HPF cutoff
- EG release

Synth 2 parameters :
- LPF cutoff
- HPF cutoff
- EG release


Master Macro :

If I want to control Synth 1 LPF and HPF cutoffs for one track, I'll have
- Preset 1 :
   * Macro 1 assigned to : Synth 1 LPF Cutoff
   * Macro 2 assigned to : Synth 1 HPF Cutoff
   * etc...
Then on another track I want to control Synth 1 LPF cutoff and Synth 2 LPF cutoff, so on another preset I'll have :
- Preset 2 :
   * Macro 1 assigned to : Synth 1 LPF Cutoff
   * Macro 2 assigned to : Synth 2 LPF Cutoff
   * etc...
Then for each track I'll change the preset and have the parameters mapped to my controller.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:12 am

Well you'll have to wait till 8.2.2. Since it is impossible to access devices inside racks with any earlier versions.

prebentious
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by prebentious » Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:42 pm

hoffman2k wrote:Well you'll have to wait till 8.2.2. Since it is impossible to access devices inside racks with any earlier versions.
Hoffman2k: How does 8.2.2 change the 'no devices in a rack' limitation?

chapelier fou
Posts: 4981
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by chapelier fou » Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:47 pm

i may be wrong be i think i've read somewhere that rack support has been added in the last beta ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:59 pm

prebentious wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:Well you'll have to wait till 8.2.2. Since it is impossible to access devices inside racks with any earlier versions.
Hoffman2k: How does 8.2.2 change the 'no devices in a rack' limitation?
The second beta came with Rack Support. I asked Ableton why its not in the changelog and they replied it'll be noted in the release notes or the next beta along with further improvements. We aren't getting just Rack support apparently.

- Bjorn Vayner

SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by SBRK » Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:22 pm

hoffman2k wrote:Well you'll have to wait till 8.2.2. Since it is impossible to access devices inside racks with any earlier versions.
They're not inside racks.
The sixteen macros thing works just fine with the parameters I want to use, but it doesn't have the features I want. The preset mapper does what I want, except that if I don't map rack macros, the knob can only have value 0 or 1.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by hoffman2k » Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:53 pm

Presets and bi-directional mappings are also part of an upcoming update of Sixteen Macros.
Along with an improved parameter display, easier mapping and probably OSC support.
There will probably be a 32 and 64 knob version too.

Just like Sixteen Macros, Preset Mapper is a device that was made out of parts from my Clip Mapper device (by Negotiator). Whichever device you prefer, they will all receive a nice update when 8.2.2 is out :D

Its stuff I wanted too, but I really needed Rack Access to get the motivation to update them all.

prebentious
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by prebentious » Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:27 pm

hoffman2k wrote:We aren't getting just Rack support apparently.

- Bjorn Vayner
Wow. Yeah, check out the selected_parameter child of live_set view.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by hoffman2k » Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:47 pm

prebentious wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:We aren't getting just Rack support apparently.

- Bjorn Vayner
Wow. Yeah, check out the selected_parameter child of live_set view.
Sneaky buggers :D

I can't wait for the release when we know what changed and maybe get some updated docs.
Ableton and C'74... First you don't hear them for months, then they do something like this. Gotta love 'em.

SBRK
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by SBRK » Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:56 pm

hoffman2k wrote:Presets and bi-directional mappings are also part of an upcoming update of Sixteen Macros.
Along with an improved parameter display, easier mapping and probably OSC support.
There will probably be a 32 and 64 knob version too.

Just like Sixteen Macros, Preset Mapper is a device that was made out of parts from my Clip Mapper device (by Negotiator). Whichever device you prefer, they will all receive a nice update when 8.2.2 is out :D

Its stuff I wanted too, but I really needed Rack Access to get the motivation to update them all.
Ah, thanks ! I can't wait.

I need to get into Max For Live programmation too, but I'm a lazy ass. Any advice on where to begin ?

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Macros with presets, assignable to anything, with feedback ?

Post by hoffman2k » Tue Feb 15, 2011 4:03 pm

The Cycling Max tutorials are a good place to start. Do a few of those and you'll be able to do some real-time MIDI editing while picking up the basics of programming in Max.

Post Reply