Imposing functions on tracks by track name

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
abbey1
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:44 pm

Imposing functions on tracks by track name

Post by abbey1 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:13 am

This may sound more complicated than it is. I am using dummy clips on my drum group. For my delay dummy clip, I would like Max to automatically find the track titled "Kik" and stop that track when the Delay dummy clip is selected. As a result, I will just be delaying the upper frequency percussion. This would be easy to do if I were to know that my Kik track will always be in the same position in my session. But if I move my Kik track for some reason, then it will be muting the track ID that the kick drum used to be on. I will have to go adjust each path in the Max patch before it will work properly again.

So basically what I'm asking is: Can you find out what a track ID is based on the name of the track? Can I query a list of all track names and find out which track ID is called "Kik", and then have max act out its duties accordingly on that track? I am just thinking about saving myself a lot of time down the road in this session, as well as when I want to start a new session. I may want to have a different layout but still use the same features of my patch.

Surreal
Posts: 560
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 1:18 am

Re: Imposing functions on tracks by track name

Post by Surreal » Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:07 pm

yes you can. track has a name property.
http://www.cycling74.com/docs/max5/refp ... model.html

Iterate through all of the tracks and stop anyone with the appropriate name.

the thing you will fight is QUICKLY doing this. it won't be terrible, but scaling is an issue I always worry about.

abbey1
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:44 pm

Re: Imposing functions on tracks by track name

Post by abbey1 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:31 am

Thanks a lot. This is what I came up with to find what track the Kik is on. Seems to work fine when I move the track around. Any other ideas of how to do this or anyone pointing out bugs would be cool. The pack object I am not too sure about because I will have to delace it again to get the ID number. There's probably an easier way to do this.


<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
769.3ocyXtsbaBCDF9Z7SgFldoiGzQfdW6s8QnSlLXipsZ3fGin00Yx6dQqv
0MIELjnP4FXPfQ+6m1+cE9gEd9qKOJq7QeD8Ujm2CK77fgLC30dsmedxwMYI
Uvi4mKqpR1J8WZumVdTCiePVUm+mg+VYgtRcRZtElrJnc3h5bUQlTCuJR6f6
Sza1oJ1d2A4FsUJ333leChRDlSbr4HNZU.511eiJElzx0e+FZ3eOoEI4vj5+
oCpjL+KyaYs97DiaG0Nj9W6k1Y02Gcq4NOtXg4vx2HQ1mTW4JfPXVfPolSLZ
u.Q7eFHExe1niWxiCpB8X3AtOd.HHhS.rvLGIAcvC9X4QfCC5jM26JSQD3FB
i4PLK5MlYyybfSYnTYVxF2Un.xCDg.S3Q8wDxn8EjNYxRGykJYVSLg9h5dWY
PnfyHzVvPP5ELbmAl0IEacNbtAgcUYTLTFkEHrsWVw6gJtyBYp64zVK3.W4e
Z6qDPt.jt5qPnyyZJ0mTtJ8HvRCgsKauUXwwikFzqYZNe14oKMg5NTl5Gx6p
jZj9PSOoJzG92lpfwmCY2kFKD5BiwgvIQGMl5lZnOWlkNIIRqq05xB+QVREG
XSKX7y4EcmcvFYb.K8tzTjUljZymF9ZbewNwV3jAqwbde6+j61kX2ilFivpl
aXBNG4.Z2ER6mqD2GcDyACPWEJ11Td.zji3RPfEH1rFVeEFBmCboiLFMZMJy
QNIBAagA65cbidULYZ2bF3lLMXbVkFn3BKN75e5e7qhOzd2U+K3CLwMgYwy+
eR.waF+oPqpr9vlyux1VdnKxOUVoUEIZUSCnKOS7SdlcpzTIb6yzKWkturYe
AsRniEvgpH1.TDcRUDe1oHyJB9JJJZRUTz.XT3jpnvAnHwjyH7.TDdxTDYH1
e7z5+IyuB..AHWQROS2u2ZRL.JQl17ahX.I3D9zpoAU7djbhvvlcFEJhr+Au
vtkd5UT6WqS3QlmDt5MFITwLzqNH5NsFC5fpevmg0zXyuZ+zosmMM78NGu4h
GW7aK8jdQB
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

Post Reply