Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
tw1nstates
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Post by tw1nstates » Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:12 am

Would it be possible to change the noise file to one of my own?

I was thinking that other sound files might be cool.

Sort of a wavetable modulating another wavetable kind of thing...

Thoughts?

(I just got M4L so am a total newb here. I basically upgraded as I thought it sounded pretty cool and wanted some of the extra features M4L gives you.

Thanks!
Last edited by tw1nstates on Fri Apr 08, 2011 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
I slipped into a daze, whilst I was there I heard the most startling music, it was at once familiar and alien, reassuring and unsettling.
https://soundcloud.com/fearoftherave

rutgermuller
Posts: 290
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 11:27 pm

Re: Another Granulator question:

Post by rutgermuller » Fri Apr 08, 2011 10:21 am

please use a clear topic title

tw1nstates
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Post by tw1nstates » Fri Apr 08, 2011 11:46 am

Changed it...

Out of interest, do yo have any suggestions to add to my question?
I slipped into a daze, whilst I was there I heard the most startling music, it was at once familiar and alien, reassuring and unsettling.
https://soundcloud.com/fearoftherave

pukunui
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Post by pukunui » Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:30 pm

It looks like peek~ is feeding into a 512 sample buffer~ object from a table in the Window subpatch just above the main poly~.

-A

tw1nstates
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Post by tw1nstates » Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:51 pm

hi pukunul,

I am about at the bottom of a new learning curve here so please forgive my total ignorance.

The bit I understood there was sample buffer of 512 samples.

So, that would be enough for 2 waveforms from my piston honda. But it's only using a single waveform therefore it's got twice the resolution of the wavetable on the Honda (stop me please if this is nonsense).

Therefore would it be possible to build an ad on to select different wavetables (I am thinking making my own noise sources from noise swash / woggle bug perhaps processed by the geiger counter..

Or, could you hack it so that it would use another sample for the buffer?

Apologies for my complete ignorance here.I am not an ableton newbie by any stretch however I am totally new to max...

Thanks for the reply!
I slipped into a daze, whilst I was there I heard the most startling music, it was at once familiar and alien, reassuring and unsettling.
https://soundcloud.com/fearoftherave

pukunui
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Post by pukunui » Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:59 pm

Yeah that will work fine.

Just sample your waveforms into 512 sample files, and load them into that buffer as needed.

Cheers

-A

tw1nstates
Posts: 1127
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 1:00 pm

Re: Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Post by tw1nstates » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:16 pm

Excellent,

Thanks for the reply.

Out of interest would it be possible to add this functionality - longer buffer size and the ability to select snap shots / morph from place to place in the buffer (scrub with some sort of smoothing for fast modulation).

That would add some Piston Honda like functionality to Granulator.

I don't know if this is possible with Max, if it is that might be a fun little project for me to get stuck into...
I slipped into a daze, whilst I was there I heard the most startling music, it was at once familiar and alien, reassuring and unsettling.
https://soundcloud.com/fearoftherave

henke
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:36 am

Re: Granulator Would it be possible to change......

Post by henke » Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:06 pm

it would all be possible. you should experiment a bit with cycle~ and buffer~ and also look at wave~ . once you feel fine with those folks, you can start altering the Granulator and will have a lot of fun...

robert

Post Reply