Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
samtastic
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:03 pm

Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by samtastic » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:36 pm

hi all,
so I came across Grain Freeze 1.0 on maxforlive.com, but the comments mentioned said that version didn't work, and that the version (2.0) on the monolake website was the one that worked.

Here's the one on maxforlive.com : http://www.maxforlive.com/library/device.php?id=240

and here's the one on the Monolake site: http://www.monolake.de/technology/m4l.html


however, I can't get either to work at all.

When I press on 'freeze', nothing happens. No audio.


I understand that it's meant to be a granular-freeze audio effect. So it should work over an audio track or over a midi track (with an instrument loaded).

I've tried both, but had no luck.

Does it work for other users?

I'm running Live 8.2.2. And i've tried it on a Mac Pro running OS X 10.6.4 and on a Macbook running OS X 10.5.8

No luck on either. Such a bummer because it looks like amazing fun : )

It's the only M4L patch i haven't got to work (trialling M4L at the moment).

Regards,
Sam

33tetragammon
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:34 pm
Location: The Universe
Contact:

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by 33tetragammon » Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:02 pm

yes, same here. version 1.0 works, version 2.0 does nothing when the "freeze" button is pressed.

Friedrich
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:13 pm

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by Friedrich » Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:21 pm

Same here, max window:

poly~: no patcher ml.poly.grainfreeze
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
poly~: jpatchline_new: index out of range
jpatchline_plugin: box missing outlet number 2
poly~: jpatchline_new: index out of range
jpatchline_plugin: box missing outlet number 1
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
signal outlet (+~) connected to nonsignal inlet (poly~)
poly~: no patcher ml.poly.grainfreeze
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
poly~: jpatchline_new: index out of range
jpatchline_plugin: box missing outlet number 2
poly~: jpatchline_new: index out of range
jpatchline_plugin: box missing outlet number 1
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
jpatchline_completeconnection: index out of range.
signal outlet (+~) connected to nonsignal inlet (poly~)

samtastic
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:03 pm

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by samtastic » Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:01 am

33tetragammon wrote:yes, same here. version 1.0 works, version 2.0 does nothing when the "freeze" button is pressed.
Version 1 works for you? I can't get either to make any sound at all. Bummer.

ShelLuser
Posts: 3826
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by ShelLuser » Wed Apr 13, 2011 12:57 am

I haven't tried all of this myself, but when looking at the Monolake website I did notice that the last update for Grain Freeze v2 was yesterday. See here (link).

Maybe an update due to a fixed bug ?
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

pid
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:51 am

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by pid » Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:55 am

it is just a simple case that he has forgotten to freeze the devices (ironically the old one AND the new one), so the 'poly~' file is not included and thus the device does not work. at least this is the case for me. hopefully he will realise soon and update. or maybe someone wants to fire a polite email his way?... nothing to be done other than that as the required file will be sitting on his hard drive and nowhere else.
3dot... wrote: in short.. we live in disappointing times..

henke
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:36 am

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by henke » Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:59 am

now it should work... and there is new stuff ...

samtastic
Posts: 195
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:03 pm

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by samtastic » Wed Apr 13, 2011 2:55 pm

henke wrote:now it should work... and there is new stuff ...

wow. cool : )

you're a legend.

will check them out Friday (off to bed now. Uni/work tomorrow).


Thanks : )

33tetragammon
Posts: 903
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 8:34 pm
Location: The Universe
Contact:

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by 33tetragammon » Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:21 pm

henke wrote:now it should work... and there is new stuff ...
confirmed, it works over here as well now.

thanks Robert!

Friedrich
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:13 pm

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by Friedrich » Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:24 pm

Thanks for the outstanding devices Robert.

I noticed the link of latest app: LFO-zero actually downloads the modulator, just mentioning ;-)

Sureno
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: west london somewhere
Contact:

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by Sureno » Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:42 pm

doesnt work here???

henke
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:36 am

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by henke » Thu Apr 14, 2011 1:03 am

Friedrich wrote:Thanks for the outstanding devices Robert.

I noticed the link of latest app: LFO-zero actually downloads the modulator, just mentioning ;-)

fixed.

henke
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:36 am

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by henke » Thu Apr 14, 2011 1:03 am

Sureno wrote:doesnt work here???
can you be more specific ?

Homebelly
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:52 pm
Location: Aotearoa New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by Homebelly » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:20 am

Friedrich wrote:Thanks for the outstanding devices Robert.

I noticed the link of latest app: LFO-zero actually downloads the modulator, just mentioning ;-)
what is this modulator you speak of?
15" 2.4 MBP/Live/Sampler/Operator/ Home made Dumble clone/Two Strats/One Jazz Bass.
Come and visit any time= Soundcloud

Sureno
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 9:56 pm
Location: west london somewhere
Contact:

Re: Robert Henke's Grain Freeze - no audio??

Post by Sureno » Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:47 am

henke wrote:
Sureno wrote:doesnt work here???
can you be more specific ?
Well pretty much identical to the OP, mbp on latest 10.6 and live 8.2.2.
The same symptoms etc, when I install the file the effect looks different to when I create a new file too, one has a freeze button the other is smaller and has a grab button respectively. Either way, neither let audio through when the freeze button is initiated and constantly for the other smaller G.U.I

Post Reply