All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:48 am
Posts: 55
Hello again, probably a total noob question/query but I just tried version 2.5.6. Problem is when I use octopad effects there is still some uneffected audio coming through, albeit very low its still there. Octopad is on return b set to master, each track is set to master and is sent to return a which has an invert in it then thats sent to octopad on return b. If I make it sends only the same thing occurs, can still hear audio a little, any advice or tips would be great thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:02 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
Yes, the phaze invert method is always going to have an imperfect effect, change to using the device in a return with a return that's empty, change all of your audio tracks to sends only and then select that option for Oktopad within the device indicating which is your clean return track with the menu that appears....


Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Octop4d TWO & Octop4d TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:21 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:20 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
docprosper wrote:
Darren,
Just tried out 2.4.4. Still seem to have issues with the phase inversion settings, even when resetting the mutes but...
The B-return setting works perfectly! It's awesome to be able to control effects feeds on a track by track basic while rocking the fx, big ups for that!!
-Hamish


Darren,
Just jumped from 2.4.4 to 2.5.6 and the Sends Only / B Return settings don't seem to work properly. I'm using Octop4d in a send channel, with "B-return" selected so that the right round buttons toggle each track's "Send A" and "Send B". In 2.5.6, the "Send B" knobs are no longer toggled. I switched back to 2.4.4 and it worked fine.
-Hamish

_________________
Funk N. Furter wrote:
Post properly.

Ableton Live Suite | M4L | Powerbook | Launchpad | APC40 | Faderfox | 2x1200 | ...
---> http://soundcloud.com/kilcraft


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:32 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
You may have to reset the device as whilst it's showing B Send it may not be reading it, use the little round button next to the Returns menu....

Need to build it all into a template, and will do shortly, everything's coming to fruition at the same time so i've got a bit of juggling to do....

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:16 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:20 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
S4racen wrote:
You may have to reset the device as whilst it's showing B Send it may not be reading it, use the little round button next to the Returns menu....

Need to build it all into a template, and will do shortly, everything's coming to fruition at the same time so i've got a bit of juggling to do....

Cheers
D

I tried the regular reset button, it doesn't seem to fix it. I don't see another button by the returns menu, what am I missing?
cheers,
Hamish

_________________
Funk N. Furter wrote:
Post properly.

Ableton Live Suite | M4L | Powerbook | Launchpad | APC40 | Faderfox | 2x1200 | ...
---> http://soundcloud.com/kilcraft


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 7:44 am 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
Sorry forgot i moved it, there two round buttons on the far left hand side, each one is a reset for the relevant menu....

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:45 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:20 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
S4racen wrote:
Sorry forgot i moved it, there two round buttons on the far left hand side, each one is a reset for the relevant menu....

Cheers
D

Darren,
I tried those, for some reason I still can't get the B-Sends to toggle but the A-Sends do. Have you confirmed that this works in 2.5.6? I went back to 2.4.4 and it works for me; If 2.5.6 works for you perhaps I have some weird system problem?
-Hamish

_________________
Funk N. Furter wrote:
Post properly.

Ableton Live Suite | M4L | Powerbook | Launchpad | APC40 | Faderfox | 2x1200 | ...
---> http://soundcloud.com/kilcraft


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:42 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
Definitely works for me, i'm not at my computer though to test it though....

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:23 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:20 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
docprosper wrote:
S4racen wrote:
Sorry forgot i moved it, there two round buttons on the far left hand side, each one is a reset for the relevant menu....

Cheers
D

Darren,
I tried those, for some reason I still can't get the B-Sends to toggle but the A-Sends do. Have you confirmed that this works in 2.5.6? I went back to 2.4.4 and it works for me; If 2.5.6 works for you perhaps I have some weird system problem?
-Hamish


Darren,
I just confirmed the problem I'm having with a new Live set- no other M4L devices, fx, etc. I still get no modulation of the track b-send knobs in Octop4d 2.5.6, but do in 2.4.4. This is with the "sends only, b-return" setting and multiple attempts with the reset button.

BTW, I'm running:
Live 8.2.2
Max 5.1.8
MacBook Pro, 10.6.6, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

I looked under the hood of each, it appears that your Redbox patch acts a little differently between the two versions - in 2.5.6 it sets messages for "track return 9", in 2.4.4 it sets messages for "track return 1", which are then used to set a live object. I haven't dug into where these return numbers come from (outside of Redbox) but I expect that you're polling the API somehow for pointers to the track returns. It's hard to dig through your devices with the wires going every which way but I'm trying my best ;)

Any ideas as to what I might be doing wrong?
- hamish

_________________
Funk N. Furter wrote:
Post properly.

Ableton Live Suite | M4L | Powerbook | Launchpad | APC40 | Faderfox | 2x1200 | ...
---> http://soundcloud.com/kilcraft


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 5:51 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
I'll have to get to it later mate, sorry it's not working for you, have to rollback for now... Bit busy trying to finish of Isotonik then i can return to this, only so many hours in the day....

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:45 pm 

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:20 am
Posts: 1163
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
No worries, I just wish you could see the same issue on your end ( I'd hate to get left behind at 2.4.4). BTW, I swapped your redbox patch from 2.4.4 into 2.5.6 and now it works, so my issue is definitely inside that patch somewhere. I suspect I've screwed up other things by using redbox from an earlier version but thought I'd give it a go for debug's sake.
-hamish

_________________
Funk N. Furter wrote:
Post properly.

Ableton Live Suite | M4L | Powerbook | Launchpad | APC40 | Faderfox | 2x1200 | ...
---> http://soundcloud.com/kilcraft


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:59 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
No that's cool, i'll have a look at doing that myself, maybe something has got stuck in it?

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:59 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
Just returned to working on Oktopad, added a new scene allowing you to map the entire clip launch grid to parameters in ABleton, set the values reached with the buttons pressed and released, the time taken to go between each and the colours of the pads...

All of which is completely customisable by the user for creating mega mappings....

We'll be building in a set of default mappings with the LivePack Ready file, so that everything loads directly into your Live library...

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:30 am 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
Just building the final Live Pack for the next release...

Sugarsync users who wish to move over to the direct download method (and therefore remove sugarsync as an application from there computers) simply need to send an email of their receipt from Paypal and the address they wish the new download link to be sent to....

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Oktopad TWO & Oktopad TWO Lite (FREE) (Novation Launchpad)
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:06 pm 

Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Posts: 3064
Location: Dunstable
Now uploaded for subscribers....

Oktopad is now a full LIVEREADY Pack in that upon opening it directly installs into your library preconfigured out of the box....

With many scenes completed we're gonna take a quick break over the weekend to start the full separate manual that complements the user guide within the device itself....

As the device now sits within it's own template all you really need do is add your own audio and get playing!

Hamish, let me know that the new setup works on your system ;-)

Cheers
D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 136 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group