MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by hoffman2k » Thu May 12, 2011 8:28 am

Please download the latest update (1.2).
I fixed the issues with Automap and Snapshot Morpher. http://bit.ly/MFLpack

Thanks,

- Bjorn

glamourboy
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Copenhagen

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by glamourboy » Fri May 13, 2011 10:06 am

Brilliant.

Thank you so much.

glitchrock-buddha
Posts: 4357
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 1:29 am
Location: The Ableton Live Forum

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by glitchrock-buddha » Tue Jun 07, 2011 5:49 pm

Thanks for the easy to install one-stop package Hoffman! Great tools.

It is too bad about parameter names not being able to be passed through to the Max Macro devices. I am definitely missing that in touchable, not seeing the names assigned to parameters. And I'm I'm sure you are too. But how is it that the names show up in the device on screen yet can't get through to something touchable or the remote SL screen?

Is this something worth requesting from Ableton or Max? Where's the right place to request this be possible?

cheers
Professional Shark Jumper.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by hoffman2k » Tue Jun 07, 2011 6:09 pm

glitchrock-buddha wrote:Thanks for the easy to install one-stop package Hoffman! Great tools.

It is too bad about parameter names not being able to be passed through to the Max Macro devices. I am definitely missing that in touchable, not seeing the names assigned to parameters. And I'm I'm sure you are too. But how is it that the names show up in the device on screen yet can't get through to something touchable or the remote SL screen?

Is this something worth requesting from Ableton or Max? Where's the right place to request this be possible?

cheers
Its being looked at. If you check a few posts back, you'll see one of the TouchAble guys making the same request. Basically I need a bit of support from them to send the names over OSC. And to have it be transparent so it doesn't need to be set up all the time.
I can add it quickly to the devices, but the TouchAble guys probably have a harder time to add this.

All I can say is: Let them know you want MFL support.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by hoffman2k » Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:16 am

If people are experiencing any issues with the devices, please let me know.
I'm doing a big update for the Sixteen Macros device at the moment.

Currently known issues are:

- Too Much undo history

- Clip Mapper: Mapping a parameter while "Map Clip" is on causes some issues.

Upcoming features are:

- Mapping to a button will now display a button instead of a dial in Sixteen Macros

- Smoothing for parameters (just like Live applies when you control things with a mouse). Possibly with a global Glide feature, still testing that.

- Improved OSC zero-configuration support for 10.6 users and windows users who have Bonjour installed

- New TouchOSC layout

- If I can get it working, Custom Labels for all the parameters.

So any feedback is greatly appreciated. I can't put a time frame on when it will be done, but 50% of what is listed above has already been implemented.

turok2step
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by turok2step » Mon Aug 08, 2011 6:28 am

Awesome gear, thank you! Any ideas why the 'quick load' buttons on Snapshot Morpher act as toggles when mapped to remote pads or even qwerty keys?

Cheers again

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by hoffman2k » Mon Aug 08, 2011 7:27 am

Its a bug in MFL. The buttons are set to button mode, but there is no setting for the behavior with MIDI/Key map.

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by hoffman2k » Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:00 pm

Some more Bugs in MFL I can't work around:

- Undo issues caused by live.object, resulting in "Undo Change" entries flooding the history

- Parameters jumping to other values in some situations. This appears to be a Live bug that also affects Automap: http://forum.ableton.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=167808

Apart from these issues, I expect to have an update in a couple of weeks.

turok2step
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by turok2step » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:28 pm

broc had this to say about the faulty toggle behavior of live.text:
broc wrote:As a workaround I'm using a dummy live.text in toggle mode that bangs the button on each transition.
After mapping to the dummy it can be hidden with 'Hide on Lock' in the inspector.

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
562.3oc6V0ziZCCD8b3WQjOSQj.U61811+FHDxAO.t0YbjsCksq1+601wIXP
wHZ21ScOjulwdl277LOkWmjQpjm.MI+o7U4YYuNIKyaxYHK7cFoldZqfp8Ki
fvOjUeiLsykANY7lM4U81v1ZYqQ.F+FJBV6LYdoA5xFohh6I4qCt2IQil+Su
yh4ylGL2PMaOvw8aTvVS2F+xiVu4EOrv8nzeuvZZHRblGPVP9oEQPhiWiHWJ
QZsOkjmUbpH+qRAi3791jItaSuSRQvOBy7bQH1GopgPO3bUw5w4nxH1Thc3g
jh2HSsWCUaiBz.ZnFtDiHoRGEl+YO6rz+tyx4ckjVWVjZKQIJlEin6RxP3U1
h2.pM.RqDP75G8nPSOBrMTiQwqZMv42zAROv5NhUzBxc8l6sGmyZaBb9G5ht
vaOSVNhONxM11fHTOVDzGjJysNcuDMRlsUwWrkOLJhDRb+uU3tU4I332cASm
B8t.HYIKNNtS5AxXIu0xO5jdkJFnREWFrKsScC.LAu1yRiVVZCzjrj.aOUX3
v1dT3FPrOKGFRtbwmZjnsQNct33QtleiF.OMXdIzWO1JnHJCyjCmridZ12ZL
admSutS+i+IhP2VA58n17XYBoiq52Rq9TNe4et5Sw+0pO+Mkd9P24CcG6MeY
X6Jvq+AQ+7qy9khQZYqZautQ3+AxOOBy.sgiCSvqF9Esn0bfyX.FqUTyYMRN
ZBPHe8nBi2KhVbGHp3cfH6GuM4W.7oY2.A
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>
...which works well enough but could be a headache for implementing in a release.
Looking forward to the update. cheers

p8guitar
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by p8guitar » Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:40 pm

Is the mfl toggle bug fixed with max 6?

Will the "parameters don't show up in control surfaces" problem be solved soon? It is too bad that the 16 parameters just show up as "dial 1", "dial 2" etc. on my Novation SL keyboard.

Peter
Live 9.0.6; Push; Mac OS 10.8.5; MacBook Pro 2.4GHz/8GB Intel Core i7

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by hoffman2k » Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:14 pm

Can't fix that. You can't dynamically change parameter names of a device that is already loaded.
The workaround would be to send Sysex to the SL, but that would only work on OSX.

Toggle Bug?

p8guitar
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 7:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by p8guitar » Sat Dec 17, 2011 8:25 pm

hoffman2k wrote:Can't fix that. You can't dynamically change parameter names of a device that is already loaded.
The workaround would be to send Sysex to the SL, but that would only work on OSX.

Toggle Bug?
the 'quick load' buttons on Snapshot Morpher act as toggles when mapped to a any midi controller.

stringtapper
Posts: 6272
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by stringtapper » Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:20 pm

p8guitar wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:Can't fix that. You can't dynamically change parameter names of a device that is already loaded.
The workaround would be to send Sysex to the SL, but that would only work on OSX.

Toggle Bug?
the 'quick load' buttons on Snapshot Morpher act as toggles when mapped to a any midi controller.
If I'm remembering correctly that's an issue with how Live handles incoming MIDI, thus not something that M4L or Max 6 (7, 8, 9, 10, etc.) can fix.
Unsound Designer

broc
Posts: 1148
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by broc » Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:47 am

stringtapper wrote:
p8guitar wrote:
hoffman2k wrote:Can't fix that. You can't dynamically change parameter names of a device that is already loaded.
The workaround would be to send Sysex to the SL, but that would only work on OSX.

Toggle Bug?
the 'quick load' buttons on Snapshot Morpher act as toggles when mapped to a any midi controller.
If I'm remembering correctly that's an issue with how Live handles incoming MIDI, thus not something that M4L or Max 6 (7, 8, 9, 10, etc.) can fix.
Yes, it's an issue with Live's MIDI mapping which supports toggle mode only.

Nicken
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Contact:

Re: MFL Collection by The Covert Operators

Post by Nicken » Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:32 pm

hoffman2k wrote:Can't fix that. You can't dynamically change parameter names of a device that is already loaded.
The workaround would be to send Sysex to the SL, but that would only work on OSX.

Toggle Bug?
i would love it to run on osx :) i am pretty new to max but want to badly get this going ... any hints on how to approach that work-around?
thanks!

Post Reply