populate live.menu

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
kooldoktor
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:05 pm

populate live.menu

Post by kooldoktor » Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:07 pm

Hello
I have a question that seemed simple to me but have turned out to be really difficult.
How do i populate a live.menu dropdown object in runtime?
The thing is I want to have the values showing up on my midi controller and the only way to do that, as far as I know, is with the live.* objects.
I did get the feeling that I should use the pattr object, but is it possible (and how) to get that object to populate the live.menu?

pid
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:51 am

Re: populate live.menu

Post by pid » Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:06 pm

this is a hack.

untested, but i remember doing something like this in the past and it being fine.

is it what you want?

<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
3020.3oc6b80iqZiE+4Y9T3MpR26UJSVaCDfsWUosRq51W2ceqs5JFvIwc.L
Bbl4lVc+tuGaCDHARHAR14gctUIAav97e+6bro+4iOL6YwWYEyP+Mzufd3g+
7wGdP2jpgGJu9gYIAeMLNnPeayRYuId92mM2zkj8Uot4LTAONd2SqCjrmhEq
4gU2hXqLlIk6xXloYFOUNaNZ1LzuUdGqDoxB9en6mfWfKaNcaBOEdT87RKaj
GomNfDdx1YViAHMHQO.y9647fXzOJhip5NKPFtgmt9K4rPogHrvdv7fnVT0W
d9K777g+liHP60DFPAFpuEInGNVdoLpTHADAOl8JKufKR0Lx7x1CxxZz7CMd
Dkj82E5AxYdcS7TSSj5lxYuxqddeSie6wpgeOOQ7cULisgyv95u782yOfpcc
rH7ElVFhqZLhs5hFDQFKc+CnzWs+n8cxSyxYErTYfrjEZNwAaikeok9mtny9
WEDx58gaq6mUcKqy4QhTEQz5IUMWMc.C6nHa0m6oa8cjFj0wCKEh3mCxUJjm
iYsTzfeSPJOAb.jbC8Pw0OGOIKWY32brXoAvXroHLWDG2ZnL87ZG8DA1Bgr2
3QxM5wZuzpkmbSqrldzsZ+Td1G3cyyXfqItYmG4WW6PeBm5dcrOx4t0bcZG7
9bxoDspkpskcHKbvfKtWae7N7yIUc7sGer5GymdYpJRIhfH2OYpky3koDhsV
n5ZoEp1Kre2HPkfzrPJxPbzoMTKW.RcupuKuT6cdMRaRORax3k1lvvd5Pxd1
Kb7GjAr8DJu0r4EXh1Rxf6w2lLH1lpYapS0mmxBqQOghjDlIR6rY2UIwQVPC
RXPOmGms+6PogY5lcg9D1VmgY803wn1tKbFHyhe+xr1mSyZ4bK4183Yh4o8A
MPSVp96VLTH1lGVYeWYthZSgQrBIOsFd2urewFHfbyabCOJpMbJCf2nLA35T
TgGySIMHZff5q7cgndKKaB8aCRudwrEYnr0w23fXKGsNdo1Ud+uuUbC9RTRW
A2Xg05HGeC.Kq5qtQLTGzY2Ljxm6ZXnRdfBqr5p3Ea68Wdq3IkkDcH7j0UxS
XxBpE7mBtliguflbpt7VxWCRWgGiqDgrTY7UZIpt3VxOjaH+35uvZI7m+8lo
rtgQHTNT3J3pVlP5kwITW0IaU1XUsMlUD7JK5K.U.qX9k.oLm+7VoYgrVEdo
qxCbqpovI55bkyXcr34f3xpGUOFydbuTP+oQ8NlRwkyxXoQnhZHKm.z9fJ9F
43huQVNhhu4ZPztTuD+R2Efs+Q40zUNjWn7IgUTDrlcj.JLlEjeghFp8hkXL
wstHfMJpUS7qZ+W.zxRpOwi.bG7SfyrrZyYmrvlVVWur0yVmXtuy4nfiyWX1
gEpiLc1j+QLJmsteY9TTOXp60K1bJS4zXRZigHxmudvSm3gexhkOZAyHrmbJ
yQwjXFbgG0A7Clbe0sPpLaqniWC1GerUGQ7hPQro93pROaaQrbsl24uHMnud
2ChgX2EjmKdq0z53Rcr8US1RhyRuk5e434QsaU.bySBqJ+RiUYlwkrDCO+YV
Rlb2OTaMHVe8yRyYnmXSd5HCDLt4WdGNPqxKk7Cckf5cg441juO12CqI0t9E
tkT+D1jZh5JGZkBuDORcacYiicMxBZeRFsP4pTNs8Lr5KRaY64hsoQkaOyzE
cQh3p+ctMjqi5f1BaEYjHF75OJTUO70oBPuDyCeo0BScoyVpyPCSUeY6djJ6
.A+TCe.vvE9Rwbj9akKM561WK+yAp3ZjncDWm3eKjnTcpuDay9hs7tfH6Wmk
rCsNmEHQPS4A+5raC7LpFdFwuFbD03reQvyHiY4TGC.C6yQA2H3YmzldNJHS
m4vGC2HDELTB6S0s84BVVPdfTj+C0ssgEGKpupPjvjJ9EwhKX0M+c.SBoh.I
QVsqL55QFBg5jMkviLGktTTjApnt.mDmlqQP8vKHVXL1wTe9IzSocn7l.hR1
0DQz9r9TIHiZ2Y23rmOAo+4c8t.1NFbHV5MRz0cgqBps6oCeeYUDfmxkpXfU
GPg8UBWYBCVor7uX1h88aO4AUcndvOwz7ZP7VlX0wGqi8yhB7mR7zdeBZbCI
hH3+ZUFhlcySWILkIniN2BrYQu8JxiLGRktF2H1JVdezTQFiEEySz8unaxpi
C.QqgPxxJ5axCRSEkgl2WFjNtO1WyDok6vQ2zgVBH2URGccGIfWkoPLtK5te
dZ6CRQa9rGCol2Tk+Eo+Ano0VWRqMhbY2N3GYrbZ1IVjtdfCTMe+Xy5vcUEh
Jl+JaQeIvo5T0Wz1jjcmMxzpXQPO3OqSugGJ2leLv9dx5QCPrpv2kX6c5a49
tvs5N4qhrjpgZQpnsNIpKHsgNip8+Cmccgyn2rvYfRsu0gemE2qxwjNnPZ3y
FRqqX.iIx1fFuIL.W0VseHnqOiXKVu.8DRJP6DayQsN4qWI1JK7HxuvE2nbc
FY4o.VgeuKLn9iPX3srQQcuyBC85.JQArfVzYDB8ksZ4QBQuaI91cQ8m1Phd
8xNWGR4A7q2493ikxjjh54kns1+lKSjRVpYkkdWqH095Eo9Dy4QE67tQllkK
dkGoRYGbX0Yo+g5XnH0B4HST9nOfBfT4yYwARldmEkpGJTjqXu3cyQPh+EHU
HYza73XTP7aA6JPOyPZ7Gn+JhICQ7TSfAygXVOjp47G5rt.NiLJ5X1fRasxw
q7ngqCopLbtKAQ0qogpgTCwSKdiCjnxx+CMMFzJnOnZtfwP.Bls.mAxysYnO
BOwFiNAj4OGD9xZcok+TmRZqQVX2QrdkaYE47JOWJZODaxjJp0hRXXT2UG4m
TvhAxQYk+j5lX4M0Isp4u40af3uD6o+kqmsEoc496LulNxooVLauealBk.gd
s6zQNu0y4UuoDd1tXG8FU34sjpNDPMet9RZRe.T7MGaCrs4cAo4NEoo0Cmzg
tmHOqwx25Qot1NZQoU0Pb79nbZiv5sgpMsQKi6aTdVdXKe5wupJm5TJ3WcJE
NTHbvTbs6ID8LI2Y3mhX9gxLeaerlWbUSlduOs5vz3cYxgz2kIGhwmO8P76j
pccxj95gQFVRe3IJoOSf0IHau9hP++hL9RE4IvxZv8ZP6XpEM5iYhrs.3HEQ
9Ijd0WyBxE.Tn3xUvAbPvh0x7fzBftgQ2.wpBFDzmZKSBxUqYuJGVknGjQzQ
td8HvvRIljnbMmSeO+pDTtCPi9O+ye9ei.DMxMLjY4bzaLCbSE.n21vRQAEu
n.lpVxWIOS.vsftJaO7zuGwkpAYaVjFJq4oL5R813B8EtQ.QhmqULw7WXuwK
fQKmudMK2L8FftpGMTjpdG8fQ5UdfY9D4l4OXqTjXBm2kVzdj3aGQhwFfsvh
g5uLok3PuKJQClTvq.0.VlwgQ4nnVfCRPX+5PUdFM7Z9di1bs.5MPp0Guxx2
Y9Pg0U4+nFkvMApesBsdKuzQs313RY4NVkA00ynLtmdTvBSr+hxgXSPgRHCo
q8i+7O8S+i+E5iffCVrAUIO9DHlCR0x5NxOQnbDCg9U9glvYpH1pQdE3Mn8J
.GEI3of9nRMK2jC2YS0xF.IBL+JOJPIuZab7NTPNnzWyhlqTnPL9jBkxTGY7
IsdVMUruB.jPYhBkiFHY027QoIMWQj.KHQloGredSj+BXdkHDxMvj81FdbgT
8v0AMLI.axaUwu2jzTGsWr4cztzvYfYopuk1uVPF6nCOG4kVSGc9w8Zdl364
ni25jie7oF+vSLt4zeejk8PoHmAPQpSH5cljvmgjTmJpSRRGmAJ0AqOrz5Eh
antmVh2dHTuysh3sHkuSblvgjxW9wlWUhAwgX1KM25WNrwwxmyFRcv2uDaHK
OuEV9XLQyNNJZU0T0Uijjsrl.szzZ3nNUZSMI4XduXn195S6muKXGczkSuAA
YHg4Nvp477hkYKZnVZptk8gtsofnomKRn06zvNGDOrGeP+qy7gpqxXyqFK0t
bHT6c1+aHAtsucQtMA2rL+OeCZIHkVWoLy0PVLw3oVi2QcHgAIj6qdfbiCMC
W7sG+ufhcMED
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>
3dot... wrote: in short.. we live in disappointing times..

olivierseb
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2005 8:52 pm
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: populate live.menu

Post by olivierseb » Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:30 pm

pid wrote:this is a hack.

untested, but i remember doing something like this in the past and it being fine.
Very nice hack pid !

Though I really hope [live.guiobjects] will get the same features regular max GUI objects offer and vice versa.

olivier
Image

MacBookPro17", mac OS 10.6.2/RME FF400 & FF800
http://www.olivierseb.com

Max for Live training sessions in Paris @
http://www.apaxxdesigns.com/

Max for Live training sessions in Rennes @
http://www.intouchmedia.fr

kooldoktor
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:05 pm

Re: populate live.menu

Post by kooldoktor » Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:51 pm

yeah nice hack indeed, but unfortunately the values only show up as numbers on my controller, so still not what i was looking for.
I have a feeling that what I want to do (populate a .live object in runtime) is not possible at all, so I guess I have to figure out an alternative way to do this. Thanks for your help anyway :)

hoffman2k
Posts: 14689
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: populate live.menu

Post by hoffman2k » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:15 am

Its not possible for a reason.
The live.GUI objects are parameters. Once a parameter is loaded, it can not dynamically be changed.
You can't change a single attribute that is fixed in Live. This means you can't change the name, the range and parameter modes on the fly.
There's an automation lane with the range set in the object for example, that can only be changed by editing the device.

I've put in a request for a MIDI Learn object. Basically an invisible layer you can put on top of anything.
Meaning you would be able to MIDI map things like the rslider by putting 2 (or 3) of the objects on top of the rslider...
But we'll have to hope that one gets accepted.

Post Reply