How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
deHaan
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Denmark - Århus
Contact:

How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by deHaan » Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:28 pm

Hi there

Probably a very basic question:

How do I get input from other tracks than the track my max for live effect is on? Right now I'm using the "plugin~", which only takes the audio from that track...

Hope you can help me :)

Best regards Nikolaj
Check out my band Silent People's new single here:
http://silentpeople.dk

Image

deHaan
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Denmark - Århus
Contact:

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by deHaan » Sat Oct 15, 2011 2:51 pm

No help from you guys? :)

Or is this impossible to do with M4L? I want to use different audio tracks for controlling different parameters in my Jitter patch...
Check out my band Silent People's new single here:
http://silentpeople.dk

Image

S4racen
Posts: 5495
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by S4racen » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:22 pm

use sends to get the audio to your device sitting on a return track....

Cheers
D

deHaan
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Denmark - Århus
Contact:

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by deHaan » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:28 pm

But then all the audio will be mixed together right? I want the signals as individual inputs in my patch. So that the audio signals can control different parameters on my video effects...
Check out my band Silent People's new single here:
http://silentpeople.dk

Image

pucklermuskau
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by pucklermuskau » Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:26 am

use separate patches, monitor the incoming audio then convert it into a value, then use a send object to route all those values to your main patch.
i drop on the lokeymassive

deHaan
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Denmark - Århus
Contact:

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by deHaan » Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:10 am

Ahaa great, that was what I was looking for :) Thank you!
Check out my band Silent People's new single here:
http://silentpeople.dk

Image

deHaan
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:22 pm
Location: Denmark - Århus
Contact:

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by deHaan » Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:34 pm

Now I've been experimenting a little with patches using the "send"-object. But they tend to increase my CPU-use quite a lot. Any suggestions about how to avoid this? :)
Check out my band Silent People's new single here:
http://silentpeople.dk

Image

broc
Posts: 1151
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by broc » Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:55 pm

I think CPU load depends on the rate at which you are sending values.
Try using a rate as low as possible. Packing multiple values into a list may help too.

Alternatively, you could use udpsend/udpreceive for transmitting data across devices.
It's probably more efficient regarding CPU load.

pucklermuskau
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I receive audio from multiple tracks?

Post by pucklermuskau » Mon Nov 07, 2011 4:55 pm

if you're monitoring an audio input, the snapshot~ object can specify a particular frequency of the sampling, if you don't need the high frequency then this can really cut down on the load. The other thing to do would be to bang the snapshot~ object when you need a sample, instead of having it continually spitting out values...
i drop on the lokeymassive

Post Reply