Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:10 pm

It's more a max/Launchpad question rather than m4l.

is it possible to select the user1 or 2 modes when the LPs are not selected as a control surface ?
(i just hate the launchpads.....totally unprogrammable and i have to find crazy solutions to do what i want......gonna end making my own hardware i am afraid....)
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

amounra93
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:16 pm
Location: Arcata, CA
Contact:

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by amounra93 » Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:08 pm

Nope. Its a conversion layer built into the Python script.

Monomodular makes Launchpad programming a lot easier in m4l....of course, you'd have to be using Live. There's a custom script that gives easy access to 8 monome-style patches from within m4l.

a
http://www.aumhaa.com for Monomod and other m4l goodies.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:14 pm

Monomodular...well, thank you. i don't fully understand what it is capable of. Can it handle several LPs? What i wanna do is very specific.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

amounra93
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:16 pm
Location: Arcata, CA
Contact:

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by amounra93 » Mon Oct 24, 2011 9:23 pm

It can handle up to five @ once. Each one can be operating on its own patch, or they can all operate on the same one, or whatever combo in between.

What are you trying?

a
http://www.aumhaa.com for Monomod and other m4l goodies.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:30 pm

well it's late now...i'll explain it tomorrow if you don't mind !
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by 11olsen » Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:00 pm

chapelier fou wrote:totally unprogrammable
???

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:33 pm

11olsen wrote:
chapelier fou wrote:totally unprogrammable
???
Yeah, could you please explain me how to assign a note, a velocity, or anything to a pad ? Or how the leds react ?
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:41 pm

amounra93 wrote: What are you trying?
Well, my setup currently is :

2 LPs to have 16 tracks. 7 scenes and stop buttons on the bottom.
The first has been rotated 90° so i don't have the gap mad by the scene launch buttons.
1st on user1, 2nd on user2.
Then all the midi info is going in max then going back in the LPs, to have the colors i want (i use 4 colors one for tracks 1 5 9 13, 2 6 10 14, etc, because it's MUCH clearer and reflects my screen colors).

you can have a glimpse of the setup here: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xd0hjz ... -fou_music

Anyway, i want to avoid having to press user1 and user2 each time i load a set. And when in session mode, i got a strange hum, linked with the fact it's control surface enabled.

Thanks.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

amounra93
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:16 pm
Location: Arcata, CA
Contact:

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by amounra93 » Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:05 pm

Sounds like you have things pretty well under control.

Any setup w/launchpads is going to require Automap to configure the buttons if you're using it outside of Live. It's fairly well documented how to change settings within automap, I'm not going to add to it.

If you're using it in Live w/the Remote script, you won't have access to Automap AFAIK. You'd have to do that sort of thing using m4l.

As far as initializing each launchpad into the proper User mode, point a [live.object] @ path control_surfaces 0 components 0, then send it a 'call set_mode 1' to change to User1, or 'call set_mode 2' for user 2. You can also observer the mode_index property of that component in order to find out what mode you are in, and be notified when it changes.

a
http://www.aumhaa.com for Monomod and other m4l goodies.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:20 pm

That's what i thought, and thanks for the initializing tip !
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

11olsen
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: germany

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by 11olsen » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:53 pm

maybe i'm missunderstanding, but i think max can do almost everything automap does. at least it's easy to create pages and remap pads/buttons and manage led feedback.
and on mac with lh_midi even m4l can do it.
true is that without control script you cannot access the api and m4l won't see it as a surface.

O.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:44 am

Having two LPs leads to several problems for led feedback since they both react to same channels and notes, and live remote output is not device-specific.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

chapelier fou
Posts: 4928
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by chapelier fou » Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:47 am

i may make a mistake in my routing logic but i doubt someone will have the patience to look into it.
Anyway, just ordered my midibox parts, i am going to make my own controller again, and that will be more efficient i hope !
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

amounra93
Posts: 431
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 8:16 pm
Location: Arcata, CA
Contact:

Re: Launchpad into user1/2 without selecting as a control surfac

Post by amounra93 » Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:22 am

A lot of your issues (routing, addressing, etc) would be dealt with by using Mod, but I'm afraid you'd still have to select the which patch you wanted to control when you first started Live, and every time you loaded a new project.

On the other hand, you could do the same thing with Mod as you could with the regular launchpad script as far as initializing (i.e. write a simple m4l patch that sent the controller a 'channel' message to autochoose the patch when you loaded a song).
http://www.aumhaa.com for Monomod and other m4l goodies.

Post Reply