All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:44 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3238
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
I'm using OSX 10.7.2 on a 15" MBP spring 2011 model.
Live 8.2.7
Max 5.1.9

In the set I am currently working on, if I drop in a max midi effect, and try to open/edit it, countless windows of that device open up.

What the hell is happening?

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:05 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 9:42 am
Posts: 118
Location: Berlin
you or the one who created the device saved it with subwindows open.
solution: open the device, close all subwindows ( there is a max menu entry for that ) and save the device.

if still windows open when loading the device, the device might contain abstractions that were saved with their subwindows open too, then you need to repeat the procedure for those abstractions too. if the abstraction is part of a poly~ object with several instances then each instance will open the subwindows and you'll end up with lots of them. the title of these windows will contain an instance number: "blabla[12]".

hope this helps

Robert


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:08 pm 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3884
Yep. Windows and their positions in the screen are saved with the patch.

_________________
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.10.1, L9.1.6, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:12 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3238
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
I am talking about with any device, even the default 'Max Midi Device'

Even if I open an empty patch, it keeps opening identical windows, one on top of the other.


If I open a 'new' live set, the Max4Live devices dont do this.

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Last edited by JuanSOLO on Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:19 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 9:42 am
Posts: 118
Location: Berlin
wow. this sounds.... different.
can you post a screenshot ?
what are the titles of the windows?

r.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:31 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3238
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
You can tell by how dark the windows shadows are getting. They just keep opening one on top of the other, No controllers hooked up, no other max devices in this live set.

Image

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:06 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am
Posts: 285
yeah, that's been happening to me for years. I tried to get c74 to deal with it but they were stumped.
For me it happens when the live set is using up almost all available memory.
So I have to delete all samples and memory hogging vsts before opening the patch.

It's been going on so long that it's pretty much just a fact of my existence at this point.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:13 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3238
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
Yikes. Yeah I have a bunch of samples in my drumRack and FM8, plus an external instrument rack going to a slimPhatty, yet my Set runs about 30-35% CPU.

This sucks. :(

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:19 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:07 am
Posts: 285
it does suck! I don't know how many hours I've lost because of this.
PS I don't think the cpu meter matters; for me it's always memory. I have a set with a few samplers holding thousands of samples, and I need to delete all the samples before opening an m4l device


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:59 am 

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm
Posts: 3884
weird, weird, weird.
Sorry to hear that. Hope you bug report.

_________________
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.10.1, L9.1.6, M4L.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:19 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3238
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
I do bug report, problem is this is not generating a report.

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:17 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:26 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Los Angeles
Ok please you guys send us these sets and full instructions for reproduction.

C74 support or direct to me is fine

Thanks

-A

_________________
andrew@cycling74.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:07 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3238
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
I will try, but I am sure the set is a large file due to the amount of samples in my drumRack.

Maybe I will try via DropBox.

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:53 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 3238
Location: Shreveport LA, sometimes Dallas/Ft Worth TX
OK, I sent support@cycling74.com, an invite to a DropBox folder containing a stripped down version of my set that will cause the issue above, along with the simple instructions.

Thanks!

_________________
soundcloud
vimeo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hundreds of windows open when trying to edit a patch?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:21 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:26 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Los Angeles
I can reproduce this.

We're having a look at it.

Thanks very much for the report.

Cheers


Andrew

_________________
andrew@cycling74.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group