Page 1 of 1

record Note velocity as automation

Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 7:06 pm
by doubleUG
hi,

i wanna record note velocity as autmation. If you record the automation of this testpatch the result are ramps to every Note on/off. Why is the
automation not recordet as rectangle ? is there a solution to
record the automation probley ?





<pre><code>
----------begin_max5_patcher----------
683.3ocyV1saZCCEG+ZpTeGrx0YH6DBgtq1l1MHs8DTUgLIFvcN1HaGFcU6c
e9iXRnMPY.qZWD6jiO43S94+4X+7s2LHZtXKQEA9H3dvfAOarLvYyZYPvvfn
J71BFV4bLhQ2PFxqqrtE23vFrjiqHGb70XoYXMQNivwyYNGQgAM9R4LhV8Rq
hZcvbRvLszMIh4O9ADpM9Rhhv0XMUvmIIEZ+mTR1vrX.5tgvXP5XaKJaHD7P
307Sf9o0Du+QQwfnELA179Ozl65hUT9xNwMEkaCblI9GHxcSn89rT3MjxYXs
VRmWqIs2oZXd.5VnxpIhEA66FnKNYB9xiQ98btlS0J8Sd7C6yi.J5cP0JgT2
6j037uu8F+cgaZ5Mcwmr7hS9oYwc2Jqlr0A8nZ9ZbwO.P.b2XKD7174yRJlA
9hfUFcwBq1o3UJDJWaEI1t1Uaahnn+xKqgCgGQ5jjOxJcFMI2JZFm3jNSrRm
ylXUDkBuj7ZjkketvJoeXg5AVSNLqNSBgPVnjAg9NGgFeQD5PZpJZIUQXloF
7ItPS.XF6pptlzCvRiNZ4mvUGgVucmGaSRs3bDxSUTpq93kI+JDUUDad8R59
8oecJPK.eyTo3snJXpFynE+UvE1CbyamH4x49OZ3vzXayHaqoA0sPsMaKDLg
7D7cOPiNJnQotMcFM1A5bG0s6C8ORDanxUU21GZShNCAWfCodcW9Unb2w3.k
eUwPe06PGeugy52RzcSbGjHyscvH3AojO5l8d4u5TatvZG3ErSIpkEgLro9C
nintjnzT9tCpb+tp5.TqSqnkkD9dJCSkS6I4bfAd3EyqaZY2YtqWuC4kaJQu
Yhgd+SrSAXo+elVIWTZ07W.d85MDopIx9LxTp3Qes7ww9mob+y9HGIIangWI
yXwEUSye.z.ovKO
-----------end_max5_patcher-----------
</code></pre>

Re: record Note velocity as automation

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:57 pm
by ShelLuser
doubleUG wrote:i wanna record note velocity as autmation. If you record the automation of this testpatch the result are ramps to every Note on/off. Why is the
automation not recordet as rectangle ? is there a solution to
record the automation probley ?
What exactly do you mean with 'rectangle'? Are you referring to the automation lane which is deemed 'ramp' or are you referring to the actual values?

Assuming values here; that's quite logical. When you don't hit a key then the value is 0. But the moment you strike a key then the velocity value gets a value, and it will remain that value until you release the key again (note off).

As such the automation gets recorded as blocks.

Hope this sheds some light on all this.

Re: record Note velocity as automation

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 2:53 pm
by doubleUG
the recorded Automation lane look like ramps which is wrong. It should look like blocks.
please try it by youself, put the patcher in Live and record some Note on/off and look
at the automation line.

I donĀ“t know why the automation dont record proberly.

I just tryed it without Max. Simply map a Key form your Midikeyboard to any Parameter you want, and
record the automation. The recorded Value should "jump" between 0 an the "on" Velocity.
When i playback the automation i get Values between 0 and "on" Veloctity as Ramp.
But this is not what i have recorded.

Image

Re: record Note velocity as automation

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 9:44 pm
by ShelLuser
Well, I tried the patch obviously. Otherwise I wouldn't have commented ;)

This is what it looks like on my end:

Image.

I'd double check what kind of midi signal is being sent by your midi instrument / controller.

Re: record Note velocity as automation

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 10:57 pm
by amounra93
Try changing "Takeover Mode" in Lives Preferences>MIDI Sync. Set it to absolute instead of relative or takeover.

Re: record Note velocity as automation

Posted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 11:20 pm
by ShelLuser
amounra93 wrote:Try changing "Takeover Mode" in Lives Preferences>MIDI Sync. Set it to absolute instead of relative or takeover.
Take over mode only affects control surfaces.

Also; there are no 'relative', 'takeover' etc. settings. Just 'None', 'Pickup' and 'Value scaling'.

My setting isn't "absolute"; I use value scaling, and still got the results shown above. He should look into his midi source.

Re: record Note velocity as automation

Posted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 6:45 am
by doubleUG
so it seems to be a problem on my system only. I use a Akai MPK mini, but this should not
be the Problem. The takover mode ist set to "none". This is strange. :(
thanks for "testing" ShelLuser