All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Round robin simulator via velocity for triggering samples?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:31 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Upper Manhattan, NY
I'm doing some drum sequencing using a Quneo and despite my best efforts to get a good velocity curve and using drums with many levels, I'm still getting awful repeats. I was thinking it would be cool to have a device that receives the note and velocity, but ensures that the same velocity doesn't go out twice in a row. Is this a reasonable thing to do in max for live?

The closest thing I found was this device which does the same thing but for notes, i.e., if you send C2, it will output a series of notes in round robin fashion until it exhausts the range you've defined. Seems like it would be easier to start from scratch than try to adapt it. This is what it looks like for reference:

Image

Any clues on how to approach this would be much appreciated.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Round robin simulator via velocity for triggering samples?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 10:22 am 

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Posts: 259
Well your post pushed me to finally write a blogpost on programming Round Robin with Sampler ;)

_________________
blog | m4l

Windows 7 64bit - Live 9.1 - M4L 6.1.6


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Round robin simulator via velocity for triggering samples?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 3:44 pm 

Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 1265
Location: France
Using the [change] object on velocity could be enough. Or compare each velocity with the previous note's one and add/substract a fix or relative amount.

_________________
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2,3 ghz I7 4Go RAM OS 10.8.5 X-station/iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR+BCF2000/ Livid Code
RME FF UC Live 9.0.6 / 9.1.1 + MFL + Max 6.16 Yeepee !
Madlab sound unit :/: sounds FX, objects, guitar and electronics :/: end_of_transmission


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Round robin simulator via velocity for triggering samples?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2013 2:02 am 

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 6:27 pm
Posts: 1764
Location: Here and There
Looks easy enough to switch that patch over to velocity.

Personally, I try to stay away from mfl as much as possible. For me, Really adds alot of weight to sets. Why dont you just use the random device? set random control to like 5-10 or something.

MIke

_________________
Some Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Round robin simulator via velocity for triggering samples?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:44 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 6:37 pm
Posts: 193
Location: Upper Manhattan, NY
mike@TrackTeam Audio wrote:
Looks easy enough to switch that patch over to velocity.

Personally, I try to stay away from mfl as much as possible. For me, Really adds alot of weight to sets. Why dont you just use the random device? set random control to like 5-10 or something.

MIke


Thanks Mike, you're probably right. I just get obsessed with something and end up stalking her- I mean.. working on it for days and days even if it don't make sense.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Round robin simulator via velocity for triggering samples?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 3:01 pm 

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:58 am
Posts: 658
exaltron wrote:
I'm doing some drum sequencing using a Quneo and despite my best efforts to get a good velocity curve and using drums with many levels, I'm still getting awful repeats. I was thinking it would be cool to have a device that receives the note and velocity, but ensures that the same velocity doesn't go out twice in a row. Is this a reasonable thing to do in max for live?
If you send the velocity through a "zl change" object, the right output will send either a value of 0 or 1 depending on whether the input message has changed or not. If 1, it means the velocity is different and you should be okay. If 0, it means the same velocity has been sent and you can maybe trigger something within your patch to change it - could be as simple as adding 1 to the velocity. Note that you should strip the noteoff values before the "zl change" object first or this won't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Round robin simulator via velocity for triggering samples?
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:59 pm 

Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 3:36 pm
Posts: 67
Location: Los Angeles
I just got a Quneo myself. I didn't like the factory "sensitivity" either. It was terrible. However, the manual shows you how to change the sensitivity of the controls in the Quneo Editor. Try messing around with the settings. There is a suggestion in the manual that gives you settings for "light," "medium," or "heavy," tapping. I set mine to light and it did the trick. Download the Quneo manual and "search" "playing sytle"... it should pop up around page 30 or so.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmCU7svjXg4

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/infinitesinewave
http://www.youtube.com/infinitesinewave
http://www.facebook.com/infinitesinewave


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group