All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:50 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:43 am
Posts: 17
Location: Los Angeles
I just purchased Ableton Live Suite 8 and I don't see the Max for Live plugins in Ableton?! Any help would be much appreciated!

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/patrickreza


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:19 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am
Posts: 516
m4l isnt in live 8 suite integrated. in live 9 suite it is.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/timbeaux


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:27 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:43 am
Posts: 17
Location: Los Angeles
so how do i get it to work in suite 8? i downloaded the max 5 demo and I only have two options.

Run

Ableton Suite 8
or
Ableton Suite 8 + Max For Live (without Authorization) ??

WHY CANT I USED MAX FOR LIVE WITH AUTHORIZATION? I have a fully authorized copy of ableton and yet I don't get the option to use the max for live content...? :(

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/patrickreza


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 12:50 pm 

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am
Posts: 516
sorry i got no idea, never tried max4live. i use vsynth modular.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/timbeaux


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:05 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 6:04 pm
Posts: 2403
After installing Max you need a license to use it - You need a Max license to run it stand alone or a Max for Live license to run it inside Live.

For Live 8 you need to purchase a Max for Live license as a separate item. In Live 9 it is included in the suite price.

If you bought Live 8 suite since Live 9 was announced you will get a free upgrade to 9 suite when it comes out AFAIK

_________________
I am one who delights in all manifestations of the Terpsichorean muse.

(Allow me to plug my guitar scale visualiser thingy - www.fretlearner.com)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 1:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 537
Location: The Antipodes
PatrickReza wrote:
I just purchased Ableton Live Suite 8 and I don't see the Max for Live plugins in Ableton?! Any help would be much appreciated!


You just purchased Ableton Live Suite 8? But not Max for Live (which uses Max but is different from Max)? Am I reading that correctly?

As I said Max is not Max for Live - read here: http://cycling74.com/faq-maxforlive/

Max for Live is not included in Live Suite in version 8. It is included in Live 9 Suite when it is released. If you just bought Suite 8 then you will have an automatic free upgrade to Live 9 Suite with included Max for Live.

I don't know if there is a trial version of Max for Live... Perhaps that is the 'without authorisation' option, but don't worry, your suite authorisation is still valid. When Live 9 is released you will be ble to download and use Max for Live, fully authorised.

_________________

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:25 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 5:43 am
Posts: 17
Location: Los Angeles
I'm running 8.3.4 if that helps with the newest demo of Max5 (which includes max for live which I installed.)

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/patrickreza


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 4:33 pm 

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am
Posts: 731
Try to sign in to the Live 9 beta and you will be able to use Live suite with m4l !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:23 pm 

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 11
I use the demo and in live options ->file folder you can press the link to get max version. It show on a Max version 5 with max for live. and as far i understand the FAQ max 5 for live is free. i donwload it and it work.

http://cycling74.com/downloads/maxforlive/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Max For Live?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 12:29 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:24 am
Posts: 113
PatrickReza wrote:
Ableton Suite 8 + Max For Live (without Authorization) ??


THIS!

PatrickReza wrote:
WHY CANT I USED MAX FOR LIVE WITH AUTHORIZATION? I have a fully authorized copy of ableton and yet I don't get the option to use the max for live content...? :(


you have a fully authorized copy of Ableton LIVE not Max4Live - you have to buy it ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group