How to authorise M4L 6 for Live 9? (apologies for newbie)

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
fimpson
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:44 am

How to authorise M4L 6 for Live 9? (apologies for newbie)

Post by fimpson » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:03 pm

totally new customer to Max here - didn't even realise it was included in the Suite 9 upgrade but now that I've got it I really want to start making stuff in it. It seems to run m4l devices in live perfectly fine, but if I want to open the application itself, I'm asked to authorise it...
Tried authorising online, where I was linked to the authorise page on the Max website. Pasted in the authorisation code from the account page on ableton.com and it said it's invalid. Also tried offline but it gave me a strange "challenge and response" window of some kind. Put the code there as well - didn't work either.

Is it even meant to be authorised? If so, where do I get the code from? Thanks!

kinkajou
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:24 am

Re: How to authorise M4L 6 for Live 9? (apologies for newbie)

Post by kinkajou » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:21 pm

in the end, when the authorization server is online again you will have to authorize your Live 9 with a single click and all is fine ;)

fimpson
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:44 am

Re: How to authorise M4L 6 for Live 9? (apologies for newbie)

Post by fimpson » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:28 pm

I successfully authorised Live 9 about 2 hours ago... was that meant to authorise Max at the same time???

kinkajou
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:24 am

Re: How to authorise M4L 6 for Live 9? (apologies for newbie)

Post by kinkajou » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:53 pm

don't mix up Max 6 and Max for Live!
Max for Live is based on Max 6.1 but you just have a license for Max for Live - these are two separate programs.

if you want to use Max as standalone version you will have to buy a license of Max 6 from Cycling74 of course.

Max 6 is installed because Live needs the runtime and the Max editor to execute and build the M4L patches.

fimpson
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:44 am

Re: How to authorise M4L 6 for Live 9? (apologies for newbie)

Post by fimpson » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:50 pm

ahhhhh I see. Thanks for the help man! so basically I can't use max as a standalone program, nor do I really need to.

jace_(nz)
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:03 pm
Location: Manchester Uk

Re: How to authorise M4L 6 for Live 9? (apologies for newbie)

Post by jace_(nz) » Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:17 am

help please,iam stuck,okay so i dont touch the max shortcuts on my desktop as i first tried to do, as mentioned these are only needed in the background to run max for live, so i wondered why i kept getting this serial is invalid.so where do i enter my serial for max for live,as i have installed all including the pluggo stuff etc, but nothing shows up' or do i know where to enter the serial for max for live ?, also where it mentions about directing the location to the max for live, i have tried sending this too all folders i can find related to max, and still i cant use any max devices, where am i going wrong, help much apprecaited.

Thanks

also where does max install to by defualt, apart from in my docs i can find a folder for max,i looked everywhere else including hidden roaming and data and commen folders, nothing, i cant find the actual program.

Okay i have sorted it seems like despite i chose the 64bit installer, somewhere down the line i ended up installing 32bit still.

Post Reply