Installing Max4live devices in 9

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
chymera
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:23 pm
Contact:

Installing Max4live devices in 9

Post by chymera » Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:49 pm

Apologies if this is a really stupid question, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to do it. In 8 I could drag a max4 live device from my finder and either drop it into the live set or drag it straight to the max browser in live and it would install and then show up in the max browser for future use. Now In live 9 I am unable to drag into the Max browser at all. I can drag a device into the set but it will not show up in the browser for the next session.. what am I doing wrong???

wasoota
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: Installing Max4live devices in 9

Post by wasoota » Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:30 am

Don't you have to drag it to the user library or 'places' or something? I don't have access to Live 9 anymore, but IIRC the top part of the browser is hard coded and only takes factory content.

chymera
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Installing Max4live devices in 9

Post by chymera » Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:02 pm

ok that works. a bit annoying as I would like have all my max devices in one place.. but ok, I can get used to it.. thanks!

wasoota
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: Installing Max4live devices in 9

Post by wasoota » Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:49 pm

Many would probably agree. :mrgreen: The thing is you're supposed to stick with factory content and stock presets now. Problem Solved.

One day you too will understand that all that all your fiddling and preset making is only keeping you from making music. Real musicians need neither device presets nor application preferences. ;)

ShelLuser
Posts: 4030
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Installing Max4live devices in 9

Post by ShelLuser » Mon Apr 08, 2013 8:04 pm

chymera wrote:a bit annoying as I would like have all my max devices in one place..
Keep in mind that all your M4l devices which you add to your user library will eventually also show up in the M4l category section.

So basically you still have 1 place from which you can access the lot of them. Though one could argue its not as easy as it used to be because its been turned into one huge list.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

Post Reply