M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
vanhaze
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 2:31 pm

M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by vanhaze » Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:31 pm

Hi !

In Cubase you have a chordplayer plugin.
You can drop midi clips which contain 1 midi chord each, on that plugin.
So with this plugin you can trigger those midi chords with ony key each.
So handy for making chord progressions easily !

Now i was wondering if sucha concept (device) could be build in M4L.

The Idea is that it will be some kind of Drumrack device in Live, but instead of dropping samples on the Drumrack, you drop midi clips on the (midi) rack device,
Each midi clip contains a selfmade midi chord.
So, a minimum of 7 slots per rack in which you can drop the 7 basic midi chords of a scale.

i can imagine that such a M4L can be expanded with arpeggio/sequence capabilities of the midichords that are placed in the device.

Anyone ?

I love to pay generously for someone who can build me such a M4L device (if is possible anyway).
Or does it exist already ? :D


Hope to hear from you !

Best,
Rob van Hees
Macbook Pro 15", 8 Gig Ram, Mavericks 10.9, Novation Impulse, Maschine MKII, Live 9.1 (latest beta 64bit), Logic Pro X 10.04, Protools 11.02, just too many plugins.

madlab
Posts: 1381
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 6:38 am
Location: France

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by madlab » Sat Jun 01, 2013 3:16 pm

You can have a look at those which don't do exactly what you ask for but work with chords, and PM me if it doesn't fit your needs :
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... -generator
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... warzonator
Aboard from V. 1
MBP 2.5 Ghz I7 16 Go SSD OSX 10.12
MBP 2.3 ghz I7 16 Go SSD + HD 10.8.5 iPad2+Mira+Lemur/PadKontrol/BCR2000/ Livid Code+DS1
RME FF UC Live 9.7.7 MFL Max 8 + Max 7.3.5
Madlab sound unit / objects, guitar, electronics / end_of_transmission

vanhaze
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 2:31 pm

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by vanhaze » Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:18 pm

Hi,

Schwarzonator i know and i'm not a fan of it.
The second one i will try out, looks promising.

Thank you !!
Rob van Hees
Macbook Pro 15", 8 Gig Ram, Mavericks 10.9, Novation Impulse, Maschine MKII, Live 9.1 (latest beta 64bit), Logic Pro X 10.04, Protools 11.02, just too many plugins.

vanhaze
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 2:31 pm

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by vanhaze » Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:12 am

Fiddled around with Chordgenerator but not satisfied with it:
Seems that you only can make 1 type of chord, which you can play across the keyboard.
Thats not what i had in mind.
Rob van Hees
Macbook Pro 15", 8 Gig Ram, Mavericks 10.9, Novation Impulse, Maschine MKII, Live 9.1 (latest beta 64bit), Logic Pro X 10.04, Protools 11.02, just too many plugins.

pepezabala
Posts: 3498
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: In Berlin, finally

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by pepezabala » Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:42 am

you can do that with racks and the chord plugin without max4live, but it might not be as easy to use as chordgenerator. basically you make a midi-rack, one chain for each note and throw in the desired chord plug.

vanhaze
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 2:31 pm

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by vanhaze » Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:12 pm

Many thanx for the tip !
Rob van Hees
Macbook Pro 15", 8 Gig Ram, Mavericks 10.9, Novation Impulse, Maschine MKII, Live 9.1 (latest beta 64bit), Logic Pro X 10.04, Protools 11.02, just too many plugins.

f.poce@tiscali.nl
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:14 pm

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by f.poce@tiscali.nl » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:00 pm

Have a look to this free toolset:
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... otools-j74
One of the devices (HarmoScale2Chord J74.amxd) can be used as a rack of chords.

Cheers
Fabrizio

vanhaze
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 2:31 pm

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by vanhaze » Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:35 am

Hi Fabrizio !

Thx for the tip.
I already knew of your device but i work with live 64 bit and you stated that your device will not work 100 % in 64 bit.

Maybe i step over to live 32 bit and try your device :D

Best,
Rob van Hees
Macbook Pro 15", 8 Gig Ram, Mavericks 10.9, Novation Impulse, Maschine MKII, Live 9.1 (latest beta 64bit), Logic Pro X 10.04, Protools 11.02, just too many plugins.

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by Timbeaux » Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:31 am

#interesting

f.poce@tiscali.nl
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2010 4:14 pm

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by f.poce@tiscali.nl » Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:53 am

Right.

Actually I have spent some minimal time testing myself the 64 bit. And as far as I could see, it did actually worked on my specific test environment.....
On the other hand I got multiple detailed reports of issues on the 64 bit version.
So the statement on 64 bit not being supported/reliable still generally applies.

In other words, if you have some time, have a go and see if it does work for your 64bit setup.
This would help making the reports on the 64bit version more generic.

Cheers
Fabrizio

vanhaze
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 2:31 pm

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by vanhaze » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:16 am

Hi Fabrizio !

Thank you for your response.
I will check out your device this evening and will report back to you.
In any way, thank you for making it ! :D

Best,
Rob van Hees
Macbook Pro 15", 8 Gig Ram, Mavericks 10.9, Novation Impulse, Maschine MKII, Live 9.1 (latest beta 64bit), Logic Pro X 10.04, Protools 11.02, just too many plugins.

re8
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 11:17 pm
Location: Earth>USA>CO>Denver
Contact:

Re: M4L Power users: Can this be made in M4L ?

Post by re8 » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:22 am


Post Reply