8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by filter_7 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 2:17 pm

I just need a rack with 8 mappable macro knobs to control 8 different macros in my set.

Is there already a device like this?
Otherwise, would you build it? :)

(i don't wanna use cliphx or 16 macros devices)

vitalispopoff
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL
Contact:

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by vitalispopoff » Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:44 pm

check maxforlive.com

ASAIK there should have been some devices from 8 up to 32 knobs.
MBP/ M-Audio FW 410/ OSX 8/AL 9 Suite/ UC33e + Drehbank

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by filter_7 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:14 pm

Just checked. There are no devices using max 6.

CODERS NEEDED

Who wants to build it and share it?

chapelier fou
Posts: 4927
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by chapelier fou » Mon Jun 10, 2013 6:35 pm

anything running in max 5 should run in max 6.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

TYLRbass
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:51 pm

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by TYLRbass » Mon Jun 10, 2013 7:53 pm

I use Clyphx for this but it's not a crucial part of my live setup.. it is very handy for setting up one rack that controls DJ EQ across multiple tracks though.

If there is a M4L solution I would definitely like to know about it
Image

S4racen
Posts: 5202
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by S4racen » Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:27 am

You could start here...

http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... master-8x8

But truly this is the best idea for a first patch, the work involved is minimal and you'd learn a lot from doing so...

Cheers
D

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by filter_7 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:05 am

I'm not a coder so would be nice to hear from someone the desire to build that device.

I spoke about Max 6 thinking about to use new Max possibilities like Multimap but with 8 knobs instead of one.

The device should be Push friendly with mapped names on display.

S4racen
Posts: 5202
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by S4racen » Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:10 am

Ha, now you're talking about a big job!

If i had a Push i'd be happy to build something along those lines, haven't got one yet though, it's exactly what i do with Isotonik for the APC40 in having multiple banks of controls that are switchable and configurable...

Cheers
D

PHY6
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:42 pm

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by PHY6 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 1:02 pm

What about this one ? I know it's 16 but can still be usefull.
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/index ... q=16+macro

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by filter_7 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:43 pm

@PHY6: seems nice, but the coder spoken about the 'remote' object, that is cpu intensive, so it can't be used.

@S4racen: oops, I thought it was easy... but if someone build it for free the entire Ableton world would say a big thanks for such big job! :)

An idea of mine was already done and build it by Because789:
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... ues-mapper

I think it should be used in a regular knob style fashion too, because every value box is a kind of knob. Will check it better.

vitalispopoff
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL
Contact:

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by vitalispopoff » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:11 pm

filter_7 wrote:I'm not a coder so would be nice to hear from someone the desire to build that device.

I spoke about Max 6 thinking about to use new Max possibilities like Multimap but with 8 knobs instead of one.

The device should be Push friendly with mapped names on display.

neither was I, and I've been working on some nice device since January - there's a lots of fun with it, You should deffinitely try.
MBP/ M-Audio FW 410/ OSX 8/AL 9 Suite/ UC33e + Drehbank

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by filter_7 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:16 pm

@vitalispopoff: thanks for the advice, but the best that i built are my 'CCs only' devices....lol
I would like to do more, but i don't have a coder mind.

vitalispopoff
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:18 pm
Location: Warsaw, PL
Contact:

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by vitalispopoff » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:43 pm

if You get this one: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Incred ... e_(series), You'll MaxGeek in two weeks.
MBP/ M-Audio FW 410/ OSX 8/AL 9 Suite/ UC33e + Drehbank

mothergarage
Posts: 454
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:41 am
Contact:

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by mothergarage » Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:07 am

home | sound | twitter | m4l
Windows 10 64bit - Live 10.0.1 - M4L 8 - RME Babyface/iConnectAUDIO4+

filter_7
Posts: 370
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: 8 MACROS needed (to control 8 everywhere macros)

Post by filter_7 » Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:57 am

mothergarage wrote:maybe this is what you want https://www.dropbox.com/s/x8qbvw6a2e1ni ... apper.amxd
Thank you! I tried the device in Live 9.0.4 but it's not working. Maybe you forgot to freeze it before to export?

Let me know

Post Reply