Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Questions and discussion about building and using Max for Live devices
Post Reply
Illiac
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Detroit/ Chicago
Contact:

Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Post by Illiac » Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:59 pm

Does anyone know if it's possible to make an octave shift that transposes even if a long, sustained note is playing? In other words, a way to keep the note(s) on when transposing in real time? I've tried a bunch of different ways, but can only get it to work once a new note on message is sent.

Thanks.

chapelier fou
Posts: 5122
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Post by chapelier fou » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:07 am

im afraid that's how midi works...
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

broc
Posts: 1151
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:37 am

Re: Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Post by broc » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:35 am

Basically you could use a [table] object of size 128 to keep track of playing notes by storing their velocity. And if an octave shift command arrives, stop and retrigger shifted all notes from the table that have velocity > 0.

Illiac
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:32 pm
Location: Detroit/ Chicago
Contact:

Re: Question about patching a MIDI octave transposer

Post by Illiac » Tue Aug 06, 2013 11:06 am

Brilliant! thank you, Broc. Off to patch that up.

Post Reply